Steve & Merlin
Member Since 2019
After the illicit snacking on high carbs incident, I compounded it the next day by giving him another fur shot. It was over 5 years ago that I gave him a fur shot, and then in the last week I have given him two. He used to be a big meaty cat (not overweight) that was easy to give injections to. But now he has lost so much weight he is skin and bones. It really makes it difficult to get the injection into the right place. In this case the needle came out the other side when he leaned into me as I was shooting. I think a bit did go in.
His morning greens has made him ravenous. He has eaten more in the last 3 hours than he would eat in a whole day. It would be great if this started his appetite returning, but I think it is just low the blood sugar. But he at least is hungry and perky now. I gave him some HC food to pull him up from the 30s. He ate it happily and sure doesn't act like he's in the 30s.
Going so low so fast was a red flag for sure. I was not expecting this at all. I do +3 hours as his +2 is not very indicative of how the new dose is acting. But I will do it earlier if his AMPS is low. Being on the early side of the nadir this morning only meant it would want to go lower. I gave him some HC food at 42 and that brought him up to 53, but it obviously was not enough to compensate for the increasing insulin effectiveness. I am getting good low BG treatment data though. I'm seeing how quickly and how long specific amounts of HC foods affect his low BG number. I don't want to give him too much so that it combined with what his panicky liver spews out is too much and sends him into a fast bounce into the red and/or black. Been there and done that.
By TR rules, a BG in the 30s deserves a reduction. I find it hard to believe his dose is now <1u. I dropped his dose not that long ago.
Previous Post: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/3-28-merlin-amps-237-6-63-pmps-352.212511/#post-2354990
His morning greens has made him ravenous. He has eaten more in the last 3 hours than he would eat in a whole day. It would be great if this started his appetite returning, but I think it is just low the blood sugar. But he at least is hungry and perky now. I gave him some HC food to pull him up from the 30s. He ate it happily and sure doesn't act like he's in the 30s.
Going so low so fast was a red flag for sure. I was not expecting this at all. I do +3 hours as his +2 is not very indicative of how the new dose is acting. But I will do it earlier if his AMPS is low. Being on the early side of the nadir this morning only meant it would want to go lower. I gave him some HC food at 42 and that brought him up to 53, but it obviously was not enough to compensate for the increasing insulin effectiveness. I am getting good low BG treatment data though. I'm seeing how quickly and how long specific amounts of HC foods affect his low BG number. I don't want to give him too much so that it combined with what his panicky liver spews out is too much and sends him into a fast bounce into the red and/or black. Been there and done that.
By TR rules, a BG in the 30s deserves a reduction. I find it hard to believe his dose is now <1u. I dropped his dose not that long ago.
Previous Post: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/3-28-merlin-amps-237-6-63-pmps-352.212511/#post-2354990