? 04/11 Chanel AMPS 340 PMPS 391 High Eosinophils...Allergy?

Laura & Chanel

Member Since 2019
Long time no see. Chanel was doing fine and dealing with her blues until last Saturday when she started to increase like crazy. Since Sunday she is in the PINKS...I mean OMG! We rushed to the vet and we got a treatment for worms, revolution and the vet did a blood work and pancreatitis test on her. She also prescribed Augmentin like 125 mg BID which seems a little too much since she has a sensitive tummy.
Before this, like two weeks ago, another vet came home and said that she might have a food allergy by the way she is scratching and over-grooming herself. With the virus situation in place, it was difficult to find the right food...the rabbit comes tomorrow and hopefully it would help.
The pancreatitis test was negative but the blood work showed the eosinophils through the roof. I also assume it is an allergy (or at least wish for one) but no idea if it is the food or something else.
Meanwhile I switched her to tuna only, it was the only food in the house that did not have chicken (and if she is allergic to chicken it will take a while to come back to normal).
Sorry for not posting, this virus thing got me a little down morally. It is nice to work from home although I put many hours in, including weekends. Seeing people with gloves and masks make me think of a science fiction movie, unfortunately not the case. My husband had two positive cases but they are still require of him to go to work every day and makes me wonder when I will get it. Oh well, such is life.
 
Hi Laura. Sorry to hear Chanel is backsliding. Could the Omega 3 be the cause? Is it from fish? I had 3 non diabetic cats allergic to fish in their food. They scratched something awful. Two of them got raised bumps around their ears. Once I got rid of food that was high in fish it stopped.
 
Fish is definitely a common allergy too. Can you get something with lamb, venison, duck, pork or other protein?

With no testing at night, plus some too large increases in dose recently, it's also hard to tell if the issue is dose related.
 
Hi Laura. Sorry to hear Chanel is backsliding. Could the Omega 3 be the cause? Is it from fish? I had 3 non diabetic cats allergic to fish in their food. They scratched something awful. Two of them got raised bumps around their ears. Once I got rid of food that was high in fish it stopped.
@Olive & Paula Hi Paula, I hope you are safe and healthy and the baby Olive does not give you too much trouble these days. As for Chanel, I am not sure what is happening. I actually stopped giving her Moxxor (green mussels lip) when she was on blues but I mistakenly posted there (she never liked those pills so if she had 5 of them in Feb-Mar period, that would be all of it). The vet who came home said it looks like a food allergy but with my luck, I just changed shampoos and henna type so again no cosmetics for me...I look like Yoda and my skin hurts of dryness.
Anyway, the thing is that when she started having those high numbers I switched her to chicken only and then I realized that I have tuna only and switched her again to it. I know it is not ideal to do it that fast but if she was allergic to the protein part, I was happy to replace it completely. I gave her Zyrtec these days, not that it helped. However, I do not see her gagging anymore since she is on the tuna diet. All three of the foods are from Fancy Feast, so if there is a food allergy...maybe it is something that is in all of them?
Her fur looks great, the doctor recommended Revolution and I used it since I saw your previous experience being successful. However, something is going on with her because she would lick her tummy until she gets her nipples to bleed. Same situation with scratching the ears until blood.
The issues started while she was on Chicken & Beef, the tuna I found it kind of lost behind all that food that is chicken or chicken combinations.
Tomorrow the Ziwi rabbit and lamb is finally coming from Chewy.
Probably this is a stupid question but is there anything like too much insulin to show like it is not enough? She was doing best actually on 1.6-1.75 and I increased the dose because I was hoping to see her in more greens at the shot time. I never seen or heard of such thing but it bothers me that after I increased the dose, this happened. She is pissed and upset and just laying there with no energy. What are your thoughts?
 
I'm so glad you posted! I was just wondering yesterday if you'd posted and saw that you hadn't for a while.

I'm sorry the COVID-19 is getting you down - I understand exactly how you feel! Working from home has it's ups and downs...and right now it feels like that's all I do...and it's depressing.

I'm sorry to hear that Chanel is having issues as well that add to your worries. I hope that will be something you can get some solutions to and that she will be feeling better soon.

I hope we are all feeling better soon too! This is a difficult time but I hope we can all get through it unscathed.

Have a good evening Laura!
 
Fish is definitely a common allergy too. Can you get something with lamb, venison, duck, pork or other protein?

@Wendy&Neko With no testing at night, plus some too large increases in dose recently, it's also hard to tell if the issue is dose related.
I did test at night I think on the 5th and 6th. Then I stopped because every time I touch her, she is anxious to groom herself. I timed her last night and she did that for half an hour. No wonder she has no hair around her nipples and her ears looked bald (behind her ears actually) and scratched.
The rabbit (Hound & Gatos; hope I get a good batch because I saw many complains about the quality) and the rabbit and lamb (Ziwi) come tomorrow. Chewy is doing what they can but with the COVID situation, the world is a little upside down and I ordered the day she started having those high BG values (April 5th). The tuna, although I was not very happy to give her, she received well in the sense that she would eat without fussing (before when tried, she would just move her little nose to the side or walk away). I was afraid that the Fancy Feast Chicken & Beef might have been a bad batch and I ordered like 3 more batches, but they look and smell the same. The eosinophils are high, they were never before.
I have a Wellness Core Turkey that has no chicken in it, one can. Maybe I should give her some before the Chewy order comes? Or I should not because turkey is a bird too?

upload_2020-4-11_19-50-32.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2020-4-11_19-50-32.png
    upload_2020-4-11_19-50-32.png
    153.1 KB · Views: 139
robably this is a stupid question but is there anything like too much insulin to show like it is not enough?
Not if you are home testing to see how low the dose is taking the cat, and following the dosing method in terms of increasing by safe amounts.

You could try the turkey. I have one cat who can eat turkey, but not chicken. When you are doing food protein experiments, you need to try if for longer than just a day. FYI - beef is another common allergen.
 
I'm so glad you posted! I was just wondering yesterday if you'd posted and saw that you hadn't for a while.

I'm sorry the COVID-19 is getting you down - I understand exactly how you feel! Working from home has it's ups and downs...and right now it feels like that's all I do...and it's depressing.

I'm sorry to hear that Chanel is having issues as well that add to your worries. I hope that will be something you can get some solutions to and that she will be feeling better soon.

I hope we are all feeling better soon too! This is a difficult time but I hope we can all get through it unscathed.

Have a good evening Laura!
@Sue and Luci I hope the baby is cast-less and running the house up and down. I like working from home, it is just this scary thing that you never know if you will get the virus and my dear husband had a case in his team so that was really scary. Unfortunately, he has to go every day so I just hope he does not bring anything home, especially that my brother sent me an article about a woman in Brussels infecting her cat with COVID, that really freaked me out. Otherwise, trying to understand what is going on with Chanel and avoiding the news as much as I can since it breaks my heart to see how people are dying. Meanwhile, I cook and gain weight like there is no tomorrow. I made some cookies and now every 2 hours I am circling the plate and asking the existential question: to eat or not to eat....and I eat.
 
Common reasons for high eosinophils are internal or external parasites, allergies, allergic dermatitis, asthma.

Don't eat, go for a walk instead.
 
Not if you are home testing to see how low the dose is taking the cat, and following the dosing method in terms of increasing by safe amounts.

You could try the turkey. I have one cat who can eat turkey, but not chicken. When you are doing food protein experiments, you need to try if for longer than just a day. FYI - beef is another common allergen.
@Wendy&Neko yes, that is why I tried first to see how she is on chicken only and using the same company because the composition was similar. She did some gagging, runny nose and the numbers simply stayed the same. She is not scratching as much today although this morning around 4 am she was all over herself with the scratching and grooming. I think I understand her because I had a bad reaction to a wool sweater once but I was covered in small red dots like I had chickenpox. It was unbearable, itchy and painful to scratch in the same time and everywhere except my face and my palms.
Any suggestions when to test her at night besides bedtime? Thanks.
 
Meanwhile, I cook and gain weight like there is no tomorrow. I made some cookies and now every 2 hours I am circling the plate and asking the existential question: to eat or not to eat....and I eat.

OMG! ME TOO! Baking is my passion and I find it comforting to bake and bake and bake some more...but then there's no one to share all this stuff with...finally last week my sis in law came by to pick up some masks that I'd sewn for them (they couldn't find any and I have a sewing machine, so I took a couple of hours and made masks!)...and sent off a the remainder of a lemon pie and chocolate chip cookies (she pulled up and I put the packages in the back of her car) I'm going to be as big as a cow before long... :facepalm::(:arghh::arghh: I haven't baked this much in years because although I love to bake, the baking doesn't love me and essentially have had to give it up as it's hazardous to my health.

Right now we're all so stressed out...I'm just trying to accept things for what they are and get from one day to the next. I hope your DH is doing what he can to protect himself and gets showered and into fresh clothing before interfacing with you and Chanel. It's so difficult to have someone working outside of the home and then coming home. I work in healthcare and many of the frontline workers aren't going home at all...in order to protect their families. We all can only do the best we can do.

Try to hang in there...and enjoy your cookies! Let's hope by this Summer we'll all be able to get out and get back to normal life - and less baking:bighug:
 
Common reasons for high eosinophils are internal or external parasites, allergies, allergic dermatitis, asthma.

Don't eat, go for a walk instead.
@Wendy&Neko I gave her the Revolution treatment but does not show improvement. It is a little unsettling because she is sleeping and then suddenly she jumps up and start licking her paws incessantly. She does that several times a day. Zyrtec does not seem to help. The doctor gave us Panacor but not sure if it is safe to use it or not in her case (the doctor was not very knowledgeable of diabetes and she recommended some 23% carb food as well...I refused politely). She does snore but she does not struggle to breath and the snoring is mostly because she likes to twist her head while sleeping belly up. She does not deliver too much of a stool taking into account that now she eats double than she ate before. Otherwise, the stool is normal and soft. She had diarrhea but it stopped after the tuna started, however I think that may be a coincidence.
I wish I would go for a walk, but it breaks my heart to let her by herself. Before when she was in the blues she did not even care that I was going to the gym every night, she was just playing with her balls and when coming back she would be like...ok, so what. Now, she is clingy and needy and worse than everything, if we eat something she comes to beg, and she never did that before.
 
+3? Seems she's onset by then. Do you agree?
@Wendy&Neko sure, I can do that. Is it possible to find out that the insulin dose is too much? I am upset thinking she was doing so much better at lower dose and somehow I spoiled that for her. On the other hand, it might be possible to have a food allergy because of the chicken and beef she ate for the past 3 years. Not sure about allergic dermatitis how that can be diagnosed. Any advice?
 
OMG! ME TOO! Baking is my passion and I find it comforting to bake and bake and bake some more...but then there's no one to share all this stuff with...finally last week my sis in law came by to pick up some masks that I'd sewn for them (they couldn't find any and I have a sewing machine, so I took a couple of hours and made masks!)...and sent off a the remainder of a lemon pie and chocolate chip cookies (she pulled up and I put the packages in the back of her car) I'm going to be as big as a cow before long... :facepalm::(:arghh::arghh: I haven't baked this much in years because although I love to bake, the baking doesn't love me and essentially have had to give it up as it's hazardous to my health.

Right now we're all so stressed out...I'm just trying to accept things for what they are and get from one day to the next. I hope your DH is doing what he can to protect himself and gets showered and into fresh clothing before interfacing with you and Chanel. It's so difficult to have someone working outside of the home and then coming home. I work in healthcare and many of the frontline workers aren't going home at all...in order to protect their families. We all can only do the best we can do.

Try to hang in there...and enjoy your cookies! Let's hope by this Summer we'll all be able to get out and get back to normal life - and less baking:bighug:
@Sue and Luci I know what you are saying. I do not bake because I am trying to eat less. Everything I eat gets on my thighs and my butt. Now with the self isolation, I am a mammoth and growing and growing. I need to get out but I have work to do and Chanel. Every time I cough or wake up with a sore throat I am thinking THIS IS IT. Then again I am allergic to dust (found it the hard way when I went back to Europe and coughed for 6 months day and night) so combined with the isolation in AC environment, oh well. Chanel is trying to be a trooper and kisses me when she has a little more energy but otherwise she is spent day and night. I hope she will shake it off soon.
 
By testing and seeing if she drops low. For what it's worth, I don't think her dose is too high. Inflammation or irritation/allergy can contribute to higher numbers.
@Wendy&Neko That is what I hope, that this is an allergy to one of the ingredients in the food. I was comparing the ingredients and except the protein that was not the same in all three, the common components are sunflower seed oil, calcium lactate. tricalcium phosphate, guar gum, xantham gum and of course the vitamins and minerals. For me this is not looking like a dose bouncing, this is something else because the dose bouncing would not reflect in the eosinophils.
Should I give her the Panacor? Is it safe? Her tummy gets upset easy.
 
@Wendy&Neko +3 391 same BG as PMPS. I will take another one at midnight, that would be a +6. I tested the glucometer with the control solution, everything looks just fine, nothing wrong with it. Chanel is keeping her eyes half closed and not happy still.
 
Food allergies in cats typically exhibit with facial rashs, not generalized body rashes. More common than food allergies are environmental allergies, with the highest incidence of allergies to storage mites and dust mites, both which are microscopic. Here are some links to information on both:
https://dermvetolympia.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/08/storage_mite.pdf

https://dermvetolympia.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/08/house_dust_mite.pdf

Also eosinophils can be high because of dental disease.
@Teri (Disco NoFurNo) I am brushing her teeth every day. Her gums are now swollen because of the high BG, diabetes being a suppressant of the immunity, it impedes the body healing process. She had clean gums before last Saturday.
Thank you for the links, hopefully I will find something useful in there.
 
Back
Top