I never thought we'd get to the point where he spent almost all his time in green numbers! And his dose has been reduced quite a bit, too! He's a happy, playful cat again, and I am so happy for him.I haven't looked at your ss in quite a while. Look at all that green!


Oh, I'm on the trail of it now! And the gravy food, lol. My son just texted it's location to me!Come on up Squallie! You don't need to make your human find the karo.

lucky Squallie!And the gravy food, lol. My son just texted it's location to me!![]()
Back down to 43. But this time he got a dollop of Karo syrup, which he just adores, lol. Slurped it right up! Will test again in 20-30.Is there a new test result?
He's certainly making a statement today, lol!WOW look at those numbers!![]()

Loud and clear he does!He's certainly making a statement today
When is his nadir? You may need to boost him up again.+3.40/ 50!
I didn't give him any more food or Karo, I'll test again in 20-30 to see if he's staying up on his own. Fingers and paws crossed!
His nadir is usually pretty early so I'm hoping he'll stay up on his own. But I've got plenty of HC and Karo if we need it!When is his nadir? You may need to boost him up again.

Tanya, you have come so far and learned so much in such a short period of time (think back to your first, panicked post!), you should be very proud of yourself!I wish I could give sound advice but I am such a reducie grabber that I better bump your post up and let others speak![]()
This a a great forum for learning, I think we probably all learn a little bit more every day!unless your kitty is long time diabetic. Ducia by the rules of TR should be getting down there 3 times before getting reducie. I could never managed to that so far.With TR, it is only one time under 50 to get a reduction.
I couldn't agree more!This a a great forum for learning, I think we probably all learn a little bit more every day
Apologies for bragging but beating down the fear/panic is my greatest achievement so far.(think back to your first, panicked post!)

Actually, with SLGS, it's one drop under 90 for a reduction.If you were SLGS, you would need 3 drops under 90 to earn a reduction. With TR, it is only one time under 50 to get a reduction.

Actually, that isn't what TR says. It's one drop under 40 for a long time diabetic. We recommend the three under 50 for cats that have a history of failing reductions.Ducia by the rules of TR should be getting down there 3 times before getting reducie.
I think that may be exactly backwards. In the past I have always waited for three drops below 50, on the advice of others and also using Tilly's TR Lantus protocol: "... if the nadir glucose concentration is 40 - <50 mg/dl at least three times on separate days, try lowering the dose. If the cat drops below 40 mg/dl once, reduce the dose immediately!"You are doing TR so you do take the reducie. If you were SLGS, you would need 3 drops under 90 to earn a reduction. With TR, it is only one time under 50 to get a reduction.
Actually, with SLGS, it's one drop under 90 for a reduction.
Sorry to be a party-pooper, but Squallie is a long-term diabetic, so he needs to drop below 40 to earn another reduction. Something tells me it won't be long before he does, though! He's certainly looking good!
You're doing great!unless your kitty is long time diabetic. Ducia by the rules of TR should be getting down there 3 times before getting reducie. I could never managed to that so far.To be completely frank - I doubted my decisions to take reducie prematurely every time I've done so.
I couldn't agree more!
Apologies for bragging but beating down the fear/panic is my greatest achievement so far.![]()



Squallie used to not hold reductions, but his handling of insulin has seemed to change greatly since the first of the year.Hey Lucy, just look at Squallie! So glad that you shot last night or Squallie might not have earned that reduction today.
The 3 drops below I thought were for kitties that didn't hold reductions well and I noticed that you did that with the 3 unit dose. Does Sqaullie usually not hold reductions well? A long term diabetic like Squallie would take the reduction under 40. And a new diabetic would take it at 50. At least that is how I interrupt the TR protocol.
ETA: Actually, I just realized that you held the dose with 3 units because he had not dropped below 40.
I don't think he will, either, lol!If the three drops under 50 works best for you, Lucy, then by all means go for it! Again, I don't think Squallie will make you wait long for it.![]()

This is his first drop below 50 at this dose so I should not reduce his dose yet, correct?
unless your kitty is long time diabetic. Ducia by the rules of TR should be getting down there 3 times before getting reducie. I could never managed to that so far.![]()
You are doing TR so you do take the reducie. If you were SLGS, you would need 3 drops under 90 to earn a reduction. With TR, it is only one time under 50 to get a reduction.
The 3 drops below I thought were for kitties that didn't hold reductions well and I noticed that you did that with the 3 unit dose. Does Sqaullie usually not hold reductions well? A long term diabetic like Squallie would take the reduction under 40. And a new diabetic would take it at 50. At least that is how I interrupt the TR protocol.
The correct info regarding reductions can be found in the first part of this post:Sorry to be a party-pooper, but Squallie is a long-term diabetic, so he needs to drop below 40 to earn another reduction. Something tells me it won't be long before he does, though! He's certainly looking good!
That's okay, no apologies needed! Like I said to Tanya, we all keep learning, every day, here at FDMB!Apologies everyone!! I should have added the warning.. "I am not a pro" like I have done on some other condos. Now I know better!!![]()
Thanks, Jill!!!
The correct info regarding reductions can be found in the first part of this post:
Reminder: *earning* reductions and starting OTJ trials

I'm really glad you did, thank you!You're welcome!
There was so much confusion, I thought it best to just link the reminder post.
No problem.I'm really glad you did, thank you!![]()
I'm glad you had a good day.Look at Squallie go. He's looking good. I think I posted in your condo yesterday and it disappeared. I did have a good Mother's Day.
Does he act hungry?Right now I'm stalling but what do I do if he doesn't come up appreciably?
He's always hungry, lol. I can usually get him to eat, especially when it's "Forbidden Foods" and Karo!Does he act hungry?
Is it reasonable to expect him to eat well when you need it - or is he stuffed with Karo meals from earlier?
Well, he came up to 76 so I went ahead and shot a skinny 2.5. Could be a long night...or he could do what he did last night and cruise all night in the 70-80s! Keep your fingers crossed for me!That's a tough call. Can you monitor tonight if need be. This AM he came up right away and it looked like his nadir is quite early. Hey, this could be the 2nd drop.......