05/18 Boomer AMPS 88 +3 59 +6 94 PMPS 119 +3 133

Status
Not open for further replies.

Judy and Boomer

Member Since 2014
Yesterday
Good morning!
AMPS 88 shooting 1.75u

Boomer ate all of his overnight fuds except for the +6. He had a sizeable (although not as big as the other night) drop to +3 last night so instead of giving him his extra food at +3 I stayed up until +4 and gave it to him then and it was higher carb food. But given his AMPS I'm concerned that he still went too low last night.

Allen was fasted last night, has received his alendronate, and can eat in about 1.5 hours. We just took his BG and it's very low again (34) which we suspected as it had been gradually dropping and we both noticed Allen shaking his head last night which we haven't seen him doing since he was first diagnosed. I will be contacting Dr Larry this morning.

So far my backyard birds aren't liking either of the new seeds...the one that is hulled (so there's no mess all over my deck) nor the safflower. The good news is that the squirrels don't like the safflower either. So I've purchased a bag of the mixed seed that I used to use and am mixing it with the safflower hoping that the birds will get used to it gradually. My mourning doves have come back and I did see the male cardinal this morning although I didn't see whether he ate or not. On the upside, I did see a Yellow Finch at the feeder yesterday and so far he and his partner have only visited to have a drink from our pond.
 
I have noticed with our birds I need to mix the hulled seeds with the un-hulled seed. It is like they don't see the white colour but see the darkness of the hull.

I wanted to switch over so there was less mess in the yard.
 
I have noticed with our birds I need to mix the hulled seeds with the un-hulled seed. It is like they don't see the white colour but see the darkness of the hull.

I wanted to switch over so there was less mess in the yard.
In the winter I move the feeder up closer to the house. But it means a mess all over our deck. So I wanted to switch to the hulled seed.
 
Good luck with Allen and what the vet says.........It is so hard to fast one animal with other animals in the house.

DH doesn't want me giving seeds to the birds in the spring and summer. He says they need to eat the insects and I should only feed in the winter. Ever hear of that? He said he heard a report about in on Public radio.........
 
Good luck with Allen and what the vet says.........It is so hard to fast one animal with other animals in the house.

DH doesn't want me giving seeds to the birds in the spring and summer. He says they need to eat the insects and I should only feed in the winter. Ever hear of that? He said he heard a report about in on Public radio.........
I actually have heard of that....some believe that it's not good to give seeds at all because the birds need to forage for their foods.
 
ok so after a couple of text messages back and forth with Dr Larry and a personal conversation since I had to go there to get fluids and food, we've decided to increase the dose of the diazoxide. He indicates we're at the low end of the dosing scale. It did help Allen when we first started it. So starting tonight we will double the dose. Allen won't be thrilled; he hates being pilled and he has a very sensitive gag reflex. But it is what it is.

I also picked up some fortiflora for Allen since we're having some minor issues getting him to eat the kidney foods. He prefers Purrfect Bistro which is what we feed both Allen and Boomer when DH and I are going to be away over one of their mealtimes.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top