05/26 Jerry AM 156 +3 118 +6 70 PM 99 OTJ Trial day 6

Jerry dutchboy

Member Since 2019
Yesterday

Wasn't too impressed yesterday at PM time. Jerry tested at 210 however +4 he had come back down to 104. I have no idea why he got so high, nothing was changed.

Anyway this morning +3 number is back to where is has been for a while now. I will continue to monitor his numbers.

Have a great day everyone:)
 
I really don’t want to be a Debbie Downer but, even with the green today, and the other sporadic greens, I’d call this a failed trial.

Jerry was in the trial by a couple days when it was brought to my attention one was started. While I have felt all along that his SS did not look like a cat ready for remission and i wouldn’t have recommended a trial be started, there was not alot of harm in just seeing if he could bring himself down to almost all green numbers. I have occasionally seen that happen. But he should have done it by now. A cat on a trial shouldn’t see yellow numbers unless he got into contraband; there are no notes on his SS but you said he hadn’t gotten into anything in today’s condo.

When a kitty is on a very low dose and the next reduction would typically mean “no insulin” but the SS just doesn’t look like he’s ready for a trial, there are other things to try before stopping insulin. Some of these include:

  • feeding a higher LC food such as 10% to allow the CG to continue to get that small dose of insulin safely into the kitty
  • shooting the small dose once a day
  • and in some cases, shooting a small dose only when necessary; while there haven’t been many we’ve done this way, there have been a few but they’ve been closer to looking like a cat close to remission than Jerry does.
If he were mine, I’d try putting him back on a drop of insulin, feed him a higher LC food, manage the curve with food (if you aren’t), and make sure you are testing enough to catch the lows. As an example, on the day he earned a reduction from 0.1u to a drop, 5/13, when I got the 81 at +2, down from 174, I’d have been feeding that curve to prevent him from dropping any further. Yes, he was already below 90 and would have earned a reduction (he actually did earn one on 5/11) anyway but it would have kept him from going so low.

If you do the above and he still drops below 90, then we should try shooting a drop once a day and also try feeding him a small +9 meal to see if he can bring his PS down on his own.

That’s just my opinion; of course, you are free to complete the trial but we already know that even when kitties go into remission with a SS that is pretty much all green, there is still a chance of returning from the Falls. The goal here is to have him well regulated and in green so he can have a strong remission. Even for a cat on SLGS, once insulin is stopped, the goal is for the kitty’s BG to be between 50-90.
 
Last edited:
One other thing: if you don’t shoot, in the subject line, please show the BG for what is regularly AMPS as AMBG instead of AM and for PMPS as PMBG instead of PM. Thank you!
 
Back
Top