05/26 Jerry AMBG 137 +3 91 PMPS 337 +2 356 +4 318

Jerry dutchboy

Member Since 2019
yesterday

So day 7 has started however Jerry's numbers are still hanging in the blues and high greens.

@Marje and Gracie you advised that you think this is a failed trial and to be honest I was of a similar mindset when I saw that yellow but was hoping for better results as the trial went further. I only have FF pates in house so will need to go and get some 10% as you advised in order to start up the drop dose again. Marje, I appreciate you chiming in and for your input. I want Jerry to have the best possible outcome and as you state you think holding his dose a while longer may give him the possibility of a stronger remission somewhere down the line. You also noted that I could give one dose daily, will the depot fill with only one dose? and if I go this route would I give the dose AM ?

Pity he couldn't get there by himself but at lease I know he can hold blues without getting too high which is reassuring so this trial was not a complete waste of time.
 
I hate to say it, but I completely agree with Marje. I think this is a failed trial. Lou failed his first (and only) trial on the last day, so I can feel your pain. On the positive side, Jerry is holding his own really well without the insulin, but he could still use some additional help to get into better numbers. I see you are following SLGS, which has a higher reduction point. Can you tell me why you're following SLGS instead of TR? You certainly test enough for TR. With TR, you'd reduce once Jerry goes under 50, so he could spend more time in those healing greens. If it were my kitty, I'd start the drop of insulin back up on the PM cycle today. I would go back to twice a day dosing and getting some higher LC food to feed curves is definitely a good idea. I've started doing that myself with Lou when needed.
 
I was hoping Jerry would be able to bring his numbers down on his own. Sorry about the failed trial, but it does look like he needs to be on insulin a little longer.
 
I agree with Marje and Amanda. I’d try guiding the curve with food , lowering the reduction number and shooting a drop twice a day. I think he will get there. Hope so. :bighug:
 
Thank you all, really appreciate the kind words. I could see it myself but stuck my head in the sand so to speak. I don't know if I can get to the store today for the higher carb LC food today so I may just start him up again tomorrow. At the moment I think he may have some constipation as well. Got some more miralax and pumpkin into him earlier and hope that that does the trick. If not, I guess I'll have to talk to the vet to see what else I can do. I refuse to go back on his high fiber dry so I'll have to find some other way to help him have a BM.

I started on the SLSG due to Jerry having dry food in his diet and just stuck with it. There is no real reason why I can't go TR, when I get a chance I'll read up on the method. Do any of you have any recommendations on a 10% food. I did look at the food list and made some notes for when I go shopping but any recommendations would be helpful. Thanks again for all of your help.
 
Deirdre

I’m glad we are on the same page :) For Jerry, I would start with one drop twice a day. That’s the usual starting point for a cat that is close to remission but not quite there. If that’s too much for him, then we can lower it. But...see below.

I didn’t ask about SLGS vs TR because usually, at this stage if the game, it’s ingrained in the CG and I don’t like to second guess reasons. But if he’s totally off dry, there’s no reason to not do TR; it would allow more flexibility in holding the dose longer so he can stay in green numbers longer. The dose reduction is below 50 on a human meter. We can even do three drops below 40-50 if need be. Of course, reduction is also earned by a week in normal numbers mostly below 100.

However, if you switch to TR, I’d like to see you stay with it, if possible (unless he starts eating dry again) so if he needs more insulin, we can increase the dose faster so you don’t lose ground.
 
Thanks Marje, I don't know if I'll be able to do TR and commit to it. I will be away Mid June for 5 days and my DH has not been involved in testing and shots, He will of course try to learn before I leave however he is not as hands on as I am so it would be too much to ask him to test as much as I do. Perhaps after I'm back I could try it.

One other thing and I know its a ways away but do you think Jerry would be okay if we just didn't give him insulin for the time that I'm away? I think that this failed trial has shown me that his numbers are not terrible without.

I just had to give him some of his High Fiber dry as he is having a problem having a BM, he keeps trying but nothing is happening. Hate to do it but past experience has told me that he gets backed up and blocked if I wait. I'm actually hoping that I haven't left it too long already.:banghead::nailbiting:
 
The constipation may be contributing to the higher numbers.

My two cents for what it’s worth is if TR won’t work for you? don’t change. He might be off insulin by the time you leave. (Anti.jinx)

There are ff foods around 10%. Check out the food chart.
 
Thanks Marje, I don't know if I'll be able to do TR and commit to it. I will be away Mid June for 5 days and my DH has not been involved in testing and shots, He will of course try to learn before I leave however he is not as hands on as I am so it would be too much to ask him to test as much as I do. Perhaps after I'm back I could try it.

One other thing and I know its a ways away but do you think Jerry would be okay if we just didn't give him insulin for the time that I'm away? I think that this failed trial has shown me that his numbers are not terrible without.

I just had to give him some of his High Fiber dry as he is having a problem having a BM, he keeps trying but nothing is happening. Hate to do it but past experience has told me that he gets backed up and blocked if I wait. I'm actually hoping that I haven't left it too long already.:banghead::nailbiting:
Marje, looking at the food list I see that there are FF foods at around 12 % is this too high??? There are not a lot of foods at exactly 10% so should I be going lower?
 
Marje, looking at the food list I see that there are FF foods at around 12 % is this too high??? There are not a lot of foods at exactly 10% so should I be going lower?
I haven't found any at 10% yet (that are easily accessible and inexpensive), but I got some of the Friskies pates with cheese. The turkey one is 8% carbs and the beef one is 9%. They've been working well enough for Lou and worth a try for Jerry.
 
I haven't found any at 10% yet (that are easily accessible and inexpensive), but I got some of the Friskies pates with cheese. The turkey one is 8% carbs and the beef one is 9%. They've been working well enough for Lou and worth a try for Jerry.
thank you Amanda, I saw those and they are on my list.
 
Well as expected Jerry's number is 337... awful dry food but I'm worried about his inability to poop and had no other option. Still nothing but hopefully he will soon or tomorrow its a visit to the vet. I can't have him blocked like the last time it was awful for the poor little guy. Starting a drop dose tonight.:(
 
Ugh, hate putting these numbers on his SS. So awful to see that pink after he had been doing so well. Anyway after the PMPS number of 337 I started on the drop dose again. He still hasn't had a BM but seems comfortable in himself, though it worries me. If I don't see any movement tomorrow morning then I will call the vet to discuss options. I REALLY don't want to get back onto that dry food stuff.
Night all, hope all the kitties out there are having a good night.:bighug:
 
Back
Top