05/30 Cheekyface AMPS 173, +2~142, +6~76, +8~205, PMPS 394

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Lesley & Cheekyface, May 29, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Lesley & Cheekyface

    Lesley & Cheekyface Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    +12 ~ 144

    Shot due at 8am (10 minutes)

    Should I stall?

    Still a newbie

    Lesley
     
  2. Ronnie & Luna

    Ronnie & Luna Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 05/30 Cheekyface AMPS 8.0 - should I shoot?

    hi Lesley,

    the 8.0 converted to U.S numbers is an AMPS 144

    are you home to monitor this cycle?
    no food yet if you want to stall...
     
  3. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 05/30 Cheekyface AMPS 8.0 - should I shoot?

    If you can afford (timewise) to stall for 30 min., I would suggest you stall.

    Here's info on handling low preshots so you have it.
     
  4. Lesley & Cheekyface

    Lesley & Cheekyface Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Re: 05/30 Cheekyface AMPS 144 - should I shoot?

    Sienne, I can stall

    and my vet is back on board today - I'll call her now.
     
  5. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Re: 05/30 Cheekyface AMPS 144 - should I shoot?

    what's cheekyface's BG now?
     
  6. Ronnie & Luna

    Ronnie & Luna Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 05/30 Cheekyface AMPS 144 - should I shoot?

    update?
    I hope you have a retest number by now, remember you want to try to catch the rise in numbers as soon as possible and try not to stall for too long, keeping in mind too, you have to make up that time for the next preshot.
    if you're home to monitor, even better.
     
  7. Lesley & Cheekyface

    Lesley & Cheekyface Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Re: 05/30 Cheekyface AMPS 144 - should I shoot?

    173

    retest 50 mins later
    Couldn't do it faster cos I was on the phone to the vet--this practice partner has experience with FDs which has just lifted the weight off my shoulders. Shot 1.0 on vet advice and will monitor during the day.

    I'll just have to make the time up later.
     
  8. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 05/30 Cheekyface AMPS 144 - should I shoot?

    Sounds like a plan. We refer to this as a BCS (Big Chicken Sh*t) dose. It means a temporary reduction because you're nervous with shooting lower numbers for whatever the reason may be. In this case, it's likely you would have been fine shooting the full dose because Cheeky's numbers are rising. You'll have a good opportunity to collect data for the next time this happens.

    Will you be able to get a +1 and a +2?

    Oh. Your AMPS should be the number you actually shot -- the 173.
     
  9. Lesley & Cheekyface

    Lesley & Cheekyface Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Re: 05/30 Cheekyface AMPS 144 - should I shoot?

    Will try. Her ears look very sore.
     
  10. Lesley & Cheekyface

    Lesley & Cheekyface Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Re: 05/30 Cheekyface AMPS 144 - should I shoot?

    +2 ~ 142

    She didn't eat all her breakfast. Given snack.

    Vet said don't be so anal, let her graze and just watch the phosphate levels for Bodie's sake.

    I'll do carb calculations on the tinned food in the cupboard, some of that may well be okay for her, plus I laid in a stock of FFs yesterday.

    Gonna make catsickles :lol:
     
  11. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Re: 05/30 Cheekyface AMPS 144 - should I shoot?

    hahaha on the vet. wonder what part of it he thought was being anal?

    since you're the one giving the shots and doing the tests, i think you get to choose what you want to do! :D

    have fun making catsickles! i haven't tried that yet but plan to.
     
  12. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Re: 05/30 Cheekyface AMPS 144 - should I shoot?

    Hope Cheekyface is doing well....nice shooting!!! Can you get neosporin pain relief ointment? That really helps alot and also will cause the blood to bead up.

    Good luck today!!
     
  13. Lesley & Cheekyface

    Lesley & Cheekyface Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Re: 05/30 Cheekyface AMPS 144 - should I shoot?

    Hi Marjorie,

    Thanks :smile: we're doin' fine now I've stopped panicking so much. Cheeky has been an angel putting up with this and if you knew her, you'd realise just how lucky I am to even get near enough to prick her ears!!

    We don't get Neosporin here in Aus but I have some 5% xylocaine ointment, I've been smearing a tiny spot on pre-test and then betadine (which is antibacterial ointment similar to neosporin) afterward. Looking at her in normal daylight, her ears look fine--it's only when they're under the light they look red.

    Panic merchant, me :oops:
     
  14. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 05/30 Cheekyface AMPS 144 - should I shoot?

    Lesley:

    It's very helpful if you can change your subject line to reflect your actual AMPS and any subsequent tests. It's a way for us to spot if we think you may need some additional eyes looking at Cheeky's SS.

    To change the subject line, you need to go to your first post in the thread. Click on the "edit" button. Make whatever changes you need to make and then click on "submit."
     
  15. Lesley & Cheekyface

    Lesley & Cheekyface Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Re: 05/30 Cheekyface AMPS 173, +2~142

    oops sorry - fixed
     
  16. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 05/30 Cheekyface AMPS 173, +2 ~142

    Thanks.

    Generally, when looking at numbers, your +1 is usually higher than your pre-shot test. The +1 reflects a food spike. The +2 is around the same as your pre-shot. If you see a +2 that's lower than your pre-shot, it may signal an active cycle. You might want to get a +3.

    A "perfect" curve looks like this:

    +0 - PreShot number.
    +1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
    +2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
    +3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
    +4 - Lower.
    +5 - Lower.
    +6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
    +7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
    +8 - Slight rise.
    +9 - Slight rise.
    +10 - Rising.
    +11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
    +12 - PreShot number.
     
  17. Lesley & Cheekyface

    Lesley & Cheekyface Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Re: 05/30 Cheekyface AMPS 173, +2 ~142, +6~76

    My first green number. Not panicking. Gave snack.
     
  18. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Re: 05/30 Cheekyface AMPS 173, +2 ~142

    that's great! you have the link on how to handle low numbers? it's in my signature line if you need it. 76 is a nice, healthy number and at +6 she likely won't go too much lower, but you'll want to check in maybe 30 minutes to make sure. everything above 50 is just fine and doesn't need intervention, unless it's early in the cycle.

    do you feel comfy or feel like you need some help tonight?
     
  19. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Re: 05/30 Cheekyface AMPS 173, +2 ~142

    hi lesley,
    it's almost midnight here and i was just getting ready to head for bed, but i see you & I are the only members left on - i'll wait to hear if you're ok before i head out. i know i was nervous at the beginning and don't want to leave you alone if you want help. just let me know.
     
  20. Lesley & Cheekyface

    Lesley & Cheekyface Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Re: 05/30 Cheekyface AMPS 173, +2 ~142

    Hi Juile and thanks,

    I was just replying to your last post. I think I'll be fine thank you, I'm actually popping to the vet at +8 and we'll do a comparison test to see how close my readings are to theirs, which will make me feel more secure.

    Cheekyface is doing fine. I'm not going to panic this time :D

    Have a good sleep.

    xox
     
  21. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Re: 05/30 Cheekyface AMPS 173, +2~142, +6~76

    actually, 76 at this point is just about perfect! i'd be so happy if punkin got there! enjoy it!

    ok great, i think she's fine but i'd probably check here every 1/2-1 hrs til she's had 2 rising numbers in a row. then you can probably feel pretty comfy that she's passed the nadir and her numbers will rise from then til her next shot.

    you're doing great! have a wonderful day - i'm off to bed! :D

    oh wait, you get to have mr green today! :mrgreen: he likes to come and visit when the kitters drop below 100!
     
  22. jan and Hep and sara (GA)

    jan and Hep and sara (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 05/30 Cheekyface AMPS 173, +2~142, +6~76, +8~205, PMPS 3

    Hi Lesley,

    You did great! Sometimes Sara sleeps through her test/shoot. So I realize it can't hurt her that much. Make sure you hold her ear for a few seconds after you get a test. That will help with the bruising.

    Have a nice day.
     
  23. Lesley & Cheekyface

    Lesley & Cheekyface Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Re: 05/30 Cheekyface AMPS 173, +2~142, +6~76, +8~205, PMPS 3

    Thanks Jan :D

    Yep I swumbled her up off her cushy (nasty mummy) and held onto her ear for 30secs and tickled her under the chin and told her what a good girl she was. She's had the rest of her dinner and is washing her face in the courtyard :) cats are amazing.

    Looking forward to a good sleep tonight and being at work without freaking that she'll get into trouble.

    xox
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page