06/03 Spaz AMBG 119/PMBG 139/+1 121/+2 110/+3 95

Status
Not open for further replies.

Angela

Member Since 2015
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/31-05-spaz-ambg-83-7-110-10-160-pmbg-113-2-113.138776/

Spaz is now 4.5 days OTJ and has been cruising in the blues. He's had a few days where I was sure I'd see his BG over 200, but so far so good.
Because I tend to leave enough food for him to graze throughout the day while I'm at work, I do wonder if some of the higher readings are from food spikes.
This morning I know for sure that he didn't have food for a couple of hours before his test and he was 119. Sunday he'll get a fructosamine test done and I'm interested in seeing what his average BG is.
 
Looking pretty good, but I think he probably is going to still need a little more support in the way of insulin. We like to see our OTJ kitties in green numbers more than blue...but hey....maybe he's going to surprise all of us!!!

GO SPAZ GO!!
 
I'd really encourage you to restart the insulin. Almost all of those tests since he hasn't had insulin are out of the normal range and definitely in diabetic numbers. Everything under 120 is normal, although most cats that are OTJ are in the 50-80 range, and some even run in the 30's. A cat that is OTJ shouldn't be having spikes after eating.

From the Tight Regulation Protocol page:
Remission:
  • From Tilly's Diabetes Homepage:
    Phase 5: Remission

    "14 days without insulin and normal blood glucose values. Most remission cats are able to stay in the normal range all of the time (50 to 80 mg/dl), although there are a few cases of sporadic higher and lower BGs. Don't stop feeding low-carb and try to avoid cortisone if possible. Test the cat's BGs once per month.

    Approximately 25% cats that achieved remission using this protocol relapsed and required insulin again (frequent causes are hyperthyroidism or bouts of pancreatitis). Therefore, it is important to keep your diabetes kit up-to-date. Then you can react immediately by giving insulin and home testing. Importantly, the sooner you react to a relapse (i.e. preventing hyperglycemia and initiating other necessary veterinary treatment), the more likely a second remission will become.

    The longer a cat has had diabetes, the less likely it will go into remission. Many long-term diabetics get stuck in Phase 3 or 4. Yet there is a benefit of using this method for such a cat as well: keeping the cat's BG levels as normal as possible is much healthier for it long term. Insulin requirements will often decrease to very low levels too."
  • Glycemic Status and Predictors of Relapse for Diabetic Cats in Remission
The fructosamine is going to measure the blood sugar average over the past 2-3 weeks. I'm not sure how the past 4 days will figure in there - it may be unhelpful data since it's a mixture of on insulin with BG tests under 100, and off of insulin with BG tests over 100. If you're not going to restart the insulin, I think I'd wait on the fructosamine until you've had 2-3 weeks off of insulin.

One of the reasons I'm encouraging you to go ahead and restart is because if Spaz's body stays in blue numbers, it may "forget" that green numbers are normal and then when you do restart insulin, you may end up with a lot of bouncing. That's not the end of the world, but it annoys a lot of people, LOL.

In the meantime, are you feeding him small frequent meals around the clock? well, you can sleep of course, but while you're awake, it might help bring down his BGs if his meals are small and often. One trick we use in a cat that is close to OTJ, but with higher amps/pmps is to have the cat eat a teaspoon or so of food at +9. Often that little bite will stimulate the pancreas enough that it will put out a little insulin, resulting in the BGs testing lower about 3 hrs after that bite. Perhaps that will help.
 
Gosh, Spaz is looking pretty good, but looks to me like he was only able to keep his numbers down for 24 hours or so without insulin.

Reducing the dose too quickly usually doesn't work. Kitties may be able to maintain good numbers for a couple of days, but then you'll see higher numbers begin to creep in. Try to gradually reduce his dose in increments of 0.25u until you get to a dose of 0.25u. Then try to go from 0.25u to a drop of insulin before stopping insulin altogether. This method allows the beta cells to have plenty of time to recover before attempting a nice, strong OTJ trial.

A cat that is OTJ shouldn't be having spikes after eating.
Not necessarily. Many cats experience food spikes whether they're on or off insulin... diabetic or not. ECID.
 
I'd definitely rather see him in the green but I'm also happy to see that his levels are not jumping up to really high levels.
I leave enough food for him and Panda to graze throughout the day. I'm away from the house for work from 5:30am to 5:45pm Monday to Friday so feeding him at +9 isn't possible. Spaz will generally gorge himself a bit when I first feed him in the morning and evening and then nibble throughout the day.
I'm going to test his BG in an hour to see if he had a spike from his food. I'll talk to my vet about whether or not a fructosamine test will actually be accurate seeing as he was in the green while on insulin. He wants me to bring my SS in so he can see Spaz's numbers throughout the week.
I do understand what you are saying about putting him back on insulin but I do want to wait until he sees the vet as I don't want to skew the results-at least if he stays in the blue with slightly elevated levels (but doesn't venture into dangerous waters with his BG) the vet can see that there is still a need for insulin.
 
121 at +1 so it doesn't look like his BG is spiking after food, it's actually going lower. Will test again in another hour and if I can manage to stay up to +4 I will check it again at that time.
 
Need to go to bed as I get up at 4:30am, but tested at +3 and he is now back in the green at 95. It will be interesting to see if this trend continues in the morning...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top