07/04 Jerry AMPS 128 +2 118 +4 82 +6 98 +10 103 PMPS 117 +2 119 +4 137

Jerry dutchboy

Member Since 2019
yesterday

Yesterday evening I was shocked at +3 to see that Jerry had dropped from 149 to 49 in the space of 3 hours. Its the first time I've seen him a bit wobbly with a low and he was definitely not comfortable. I'm sure the heat also played a role in how he was feeling. Luckily for me he had an appetite.

Hopefully today he will have a gentle curve and stay in the safe numbers.

Have a wonderful 4th of July to all my American friends. Hope you have a lovely day doing whatever makes you happy and to all of the kitties stay away from the sharkies..:):bighug:
 
Really ? That scares me.:nailbiting:
It’s part of the protocol for cats that don’t hold reductions or, in this case, where we want to see if he can churn out some more green since the 0.1u dose wasn’t really working for him.

Sometimes, we see a bit lower number just because of better absorption on a specific cycle. The reduction point normally for a newly dx cat is one drop below 50 and Jerry just got to 49 and then came up pretty fast and stayed above 50.

Insofar as the wobbliness, I’m not sure what was at play. I never want to discount if someone sees their cat being wobbly but we “typically” don’t see hypo symptoms at 49.

I hope he has a better day today! Happy fourth.
 
yesterday

Yesterday evening I was shocked at +3 to see that Jerry had dropped from 149 to 49 in the space of 3 hours. Its the first time I've seen him a bit wobbly with a low and he was definitely not comfortable. I'm sure the heat also played a role in how he was feeling. Luckily for me he had an appetite.

Hopefully today he will have a gentle curve and stay in the safe numbers.

Have a wonderful 4th of July to all my American friends. Hope you have a lovely day doing whatever makes you happy and to all of the kitties stay away from the sharkies..:):bighug:
He looks like a 'diver' - a lot like my Luci - take a look and you'll see how many times she's pulled that low low number out of her hat - just trying to keep me on my toes..she's famous for her big dives...best to test often to be ever watchful on these cats...little divers... :rolleyes:
 
It’s part of the protocol for cats that don’t hold reductions or, in this case, where we want to see if he can churn out some more green since the 0.1u dose wasn’t really working for him.

Sometimes, we see a bit lower number just because of better absorption on a specific cycle. The reduction point normally for a newly dx cat is one drop below 50 and Jerry just got to 49 and then came up pretty fast and stayed above 50.

Insofar as the wobbliness, I’m not sure what was at play. I never want to discount if someone sees their cat being wobbly but we “typically” don’t see hypo symptoms at 49.

I hope he has a better day today! Happy fourth.
Thanks for the clarification. I was better this morning so he got his regular dose. Adrenalin was flowing last night, I know he wasn't in a hypo but still shocking to see that drop. He's been lower than that and had no symptons so I was surprised to see the head ticks and a bit of wobbliness. As soon as he got the gravy into him and came up into the 50's he was fine. It was probably heat related as well or me seeing things which is a possibility.

Happy 4th to you, hope you have a great day.
 
He looks like a 'diver' - a lot like my Luci - take a look and you'll see how many times she's pulled that low low number out of her hat - just trying to keep me on my toes..she's famous for her big dives...best to test often to be ever watchful on these cats...little divers... :rolleyes:
You're right, little daredevils. I probably got a little complacent as he's been steady for quite a while now. I do test often so that I can catch these things as he likes to surprise me at times and I'm a worry wort. All good today so far. Have a lovely day Sue.
 
Thanks for the clarification. I was better this morning so he got his regular dose. Adrenalin was flowing last night, I know he wasn't in a hypo but still shocking to see that drop. He's been lower than that and had no symptons so I was surprised to see the head ticks and a bit of wobbliness. As soon as he got the gravy into him and came up into the 50's he was fine. It was probably heat related as well or me seeing things which is a possibility.

Happy 4th to you, hope you have a great day.
:):):):):)

You're right, little daredevils. I probably got a little complacent as he's been steady for quite a while now. I do test often so that I can catch these things as he likes to surprise me at times and I'm a worry wort. All good today so far. Have a lovely day Sue.
His activity is the very reason I really urge Lantus users to always grab a +2 test if you are home. When our kitties’ BG gets more predictable, we often think they will not pull any “fast ones” on us. But not all things are created equal all the time; sometimes we give just a tiny bit more insulin than we thought (especially if you aren’t using calipers). Sometimes the weather effects the BG; sometimes it is absorption. By always getting the +2, you can at least catch the drop at the very beginning when it onsets and try to head off the lower numbers.
 
:):):):):)


His activity is the very reason I really urge Lantus users to always grab a +2 test if you are home. When our kitties’ BG gets more predictable, we often think they will not pull any “fast ones” on us. But not all things are created equal all the time; sometimes we give just a tiny bit more insulin than we thought (especially if you aren’t using calipers). Sometimes the weather effects the BG; sometimes it is absorption. By always getting the +2, you can at least catch the drop at the very beginning when it onsets and try to head off the lower numbers.
I know you are absolutely right, time got away from me and it was closer to +3 than +2 so I waited. Not be doing that again..... lesson learned.:bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top