07/22/17 Squallie AMPS 111, +2.45/53, +4/66, +8/75, PMPS 84, +3/78, +6/87

Status
Not open for further replies.

Squalliesmom

Member Since 2015
Yesterday

Really not happy with all these blue numbers he's getting lately. I don't know what's going on, he doesn't appear to be having any issues - I thought his arthritis was acting up but it seems okay now. So I dunno...:(

Prayers and healing vines to all who need them.
 
Those low blues are still in the normal range, but I know what you mean about wanting lower numbers. Is it hot where you are? Maybe that is bothering him. I'm sure he'll be back in the lagoon in no time. :bighug::bighug:
 
Those low blues are still in the normal range, but I know what you mean about wanting lower numbers. Is it hot where you are? Maybe that is bothering him. I'm sure he'll be back in the lagoon in no time. :bighug::bighug:
Thanks, Carla, for the encouragement. It's nice to know others understand! :bighug::bighug:

It is hot here. None of my kitties are eating properly because of the heat, it's making me a little nuts - I get overly-worried when they don't eat well (Helicopter mom? Who, me? Nah, not me...) I still have that knee-jerk response to his numbers rising that I did when he was on Vetsulin; once they started to rise back then it took FOREVER and several dosecreases to get them to start coming down again. I'm so afraid of that horrible cycle of chasing his numbers coming back to haunt us!:nailbiting::banghead:
 
+2.45/53 Trying to steer him with some 6% food.
I don't get why he drops so dramatically so early in the cycle, and has high numbers at both ends. Is this a sort of mini-bounce? Should I reduce his dose? He pretty much followed this same pattern when he was on the "skinny" of his current dose. It just seems to me like he's going too quickly from one extreme to the other. I just tested his other ear and it gave me a 49. So which ear do I go with - the one that says 53 or the one that says 49?! I know that they are basically the same number but it makes a difference in terms of number of drops toward a reduction.:confused::banghead::confused::arghh:
 
  • Like
Reactions: MJW
Yum does the same 50 point drop as Squallie (her numbers are shifted because they are AT2). Her morning number is just outside the normal range of 71-159. She is SO STUCK at 2.75 units. We could reduce our doses if we switched from TR to SLGS. Tempting.
 
That is weird. It seems like you haven't changed anything and they just pop up. I really realized recently how our relion meters read differently than the vet. My lows are mediums for the vet. The blues are still cool, I I am like you and want NO blues. Technically the 100-110 are still cool though. I am new so I cannot speak to this. As far as the 53 and 49 at the same time try averaging it out 53 +49 = 102 /2 = 51 and go with 51. THIS IS nowhere in the rules I know. Just what I would do if I, and I do, got stuck obsessing over a few points.
 
BTW Ferg was not eating at all when it was hot. The vet wants us to give him only like 150 calories a day. (she may have said 115 but I cannot rationalize that)
 
Yum does the same 50 point drop as Squallie (her numbers are shifted because they are AT2). Her morning number is just outside the normal range of 71-159. She is SO STUCK at 2.75 units. We could reduce our doses if we switched from TR to SLGS. Tempting.
I see she stays higher at night like he does, too. Is she very carb-sensitive? Squallie is super-sensitive when it comes to carbs. His daily diet only ranges from 0-3%; anything higher raises his BG.
 
  • Like
Reactions: MJW
That is weird. It seems like you haven't changed anything and they just pop up. I really realized recently how our relion meters read differently than the vet. My lows are mediums for the vet. The blues are still cool, I I am like you and want NO blues. Technically the 100-110 are still cool though. I am new so I cannot speak to this. As far as the 53 and 49 at the same time try averaging it out 53 +49 = 102 /2 = 51 and go with 51. THIS IS nowhere in the rules I know. Just what I would do if I, and I do, got stuck obsessing over a few points.
Lol, that's exactly how I figured it, too.

The vet wants us to give him only like 150 calories a day. (she may have said 115 but I cannot rationalize that)
That seems awfully low. Is he very overweight?
 
Squallie, I know your mombean wanted green but you didn't have to be so dramatic about it. He could be bouncing just a little bit and then the lower greens are bounce recovery days. You could try reducing the full 0.25 units since you just did a skinny dose change and see what he does. You'd just have to watch and go back up if his numbers start creeping up.

Come up a little and surf safely Squallie.
 
Yes, they both have different AM/PM curves with the high preshots. And they are both at 2.75u.

I think Yum is carb sensitive, but I haven't quantified it. She went OTJ in December after 5 days of Lantus and a big diet change from high carb to low carb. Then she relapsed the end of February. Her main food now is Fancy Feast classic pates, 2%-3% carbs. She gets canned salmon on the side, 0%.

High morning numbers can be explained by the dawn phenomenon (at least in people, where BG surges prior to the beginning of the day), or short "duration" (Lantus "runs out" due to too low a dose or too many carbs). I suppose if she gets too hungry overnight BG could rise from stress too, although a single 3 AM feeding test once did not help. The recommendation is to not feed after +6, until they are close to remission and regular small meals stimulate the pancreas to produce insulin. Yum free feeds, but her FF runs out usually before +6. I then give her 0% salmon when she begs for more food.

You don't use a feeder, do you? I might try giving Yum a teaspoon of FF at regular intervals during the day. I might buy a feeder. I might experiment with a slightly higher carb food late AM. Like you I wonder if a small bounce is involved. Should we work at flattening out their curves more (have you seen Noah's SS) instead of just lowering the pre shots? I just don't know.

It is so frustrating. Of course, I'm also very very grateful she is regulated.
 
Yes, they both have different AM/PM curves with the high preshots. And they are both at 2.75u.

I think Yum is carb sensitive, but I haven't quantified it. She went OTJ in December after 5 days of Lantus and a big diet change from high carb to low carb. Then she relapsed the end of February. Her main food now is Fancy Feast classic pates, 2%-3% carbs. She gets canned salmon on the side, 0%.

High morning numbers can be explained by the dawn phenomenon (at least in people, where BG surges prior to the beginning of the day), or short "duration" (Lantus "runs out" due to too low a dose or too many carbs). I suppose if she gets too hungry overnight BG could rise from stress too, although a single 3 AM feeding test once did not help. The recommendation is to not feed after +6, until they are close to remission and regular small meals stimulate the pancreas to produce insulin. Yum free feeds, but her FF runs out usually before +6. I then give her 0% salmon when she begs for more food.

You don't use a feeder, do you? I might try giving Yum a teaspoon of FF at regular intervals during the day. I might buy a feeder. I might experiment with a slightly higher carb food late AM. Like you I wonder if a small bounce is involved. Should we work at flattening out their curves more (have you seen Noah's SS) instead of just lowering the pre shots? I just don't know.

It is so frustrating. Of course, I'm also very very grateful she is regulated.
Yes, it's very frustrating! Dawn phenomenon has become my arch-enemy! I'm glad Squallie is regulated, too, and pretty well-regulated at that. For a while he had a pretty flat curve, and I was tickled to death. Now this. I guess I stress too much over small points, but...I just want the best for him. And those greens get addictive, lol.

I don't use a feeder because I have 4 kitties who eat slightly different meals (one has IBD) and one is very timid and would starve to death because the piggies would eat all his food! I feed 3X daily, and usually only give nighttime feedings if someone has a problem and needs it. So far it has worked well for us.
 
  • Like
Reactions: MJW
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top