08/07/18 Squallie AMPS 62/57/55, +6/80, PMPS 89

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Squalliesmom, Aug 7, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Yesterday

    Squallie is still not eating well. He'll take a couple of bites of his food and walk away. I can't even lure him with most of his favorite toppings. :( If I sprinkle Fortiflora on it, I can get him to eat another couple of bites, but that's all. He will nibble at the dry food, he's eating more of that than the wet, but probably not enough to get the calories he needs.

    No shot this morning. His numbers kept dropping and, since I can't rely on him eating anything to bring his BG up if it should drop too low, I decided it was best just to skip the shot today.
     
    Shoeskitty-GA likes this.
  2. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    I hope you can get Squallie to eat more. Good idea on skipping the shot. Sending prayers. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    Squalliesmom likes this.
  3. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Thanks, Carla. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
  4. Mandy & Rex (GA)

    Mandy & Rex (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    I think that was smart to skip. You have been in my thoughts with Squallie. :bighug::bighug:
     
    Squalliesmom likes this.
  5. Jill & Jade

    Jill & Jade Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    Sending you and Squallie love.......:bighug:
     
    Squalliesmom likes this.
  6. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Thank you, Mandy. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
  7. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Thanks, Jill. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
  8. Beck and Philly

    Beck and Philly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2018
    Hugs! You guys have been in my thoughts and prayers. When is Squallie's US?

    Today's winning combo is Halo canned with Go dry topper. Just mentioning in case Squallie may like them too.
     
    Squalliesmom likes this.
  9. Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

    Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    More vines and prayers for Deputy Squallie.

    Eat yer fuds, Deputy Squallie!
     
    Squalliesmom likes this.
  10. Carol & Murphy (GA)

    Carol & Murphy (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015
  11. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Thanks! His US is on Thursday.
    I'm familiar with Halo (don't know which ones are low-carb, though) but not the Go topper. What is it? Squallie always seems to like -or did like- toppers.
     
  12. Amanda and a Loudogg

    Amanda and a Loudogg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2017
    Poor Squallie. I hope his appy perks up for you. I'm glad you went ahead and skipped the shot today. I am sending you both vines for appetite and a good US on Thursday!
     
    Squalliesmom likes this.
  13. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Hoping he perks up some. Vines for upcoming ultrasound. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    Squalliesmom likes this.
  14. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Hope he eats more for you:bighug::bighug::bighug: nice numbers!
     
    Squalliesmom likes this.
  15. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug: Holding you and Squallie in heart and prayers . Will be glad for you both when the US is behind you and eliminates that concern. It’s just going to take some time for him to get fully back to his old IM chasing self ❤️
     
    Squalliesmom likes this.
  16. Shoeskitty-GA

    Shoeskitty-GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2016
    Someone on here tried scrambled eggs when their cat wouldn't eat. I wonder if that would appeal to Squallie?
     
    Squalliesmom likes this.
  17. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Thanks, Amanda. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
  18. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Thanks, Paula. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
  19. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Thanks, Bellasmom (I don't know your name!:eek::rolleyes::facepalm: How embarrassing!) :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
  20. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Thank you, Beth, I SO hope you are right! :bighug:❤️:bighug:
     
  21. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Thanks, Sandi, I had forgotten that! I will try it! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    Shoeskitty-GA likes this.
  22. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Thanks, Ella. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
  23. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Thanks, Carol. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
  24. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
  25. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    I have not.
     
  26. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Jamie:)
     
    Squalliesmom likes this.
  27. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    I have not, but it looks interesting
     
  28. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    I saw THIS product mentioned awhile back and was going to try it, but never got the chance, so I don’t know if it works. Hope Squallies appy picks up:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    Squalliesmom likes this.
  29. Mandy & Rex (GA)

    Mandy & Rex (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    I noticed it had garlic. I Googled it and found this: Onions, garlic, chives, and leeks are in the Allium family, and are poisonous to both dogs and cats if the dose is right. Garlic is considered to be about five times as toxic as onions for cats and dogs. ... While minute amounts of these foods in some pets, especially dogs, may be safe, large ingestions can be very toxic.

    That makes me nervous.
     
  30. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    I have used the Purebites Duck Liver (bottom of the bag crumbs). I have a small bag (of crumbs) I can mail to you tomorrow. Also have used crumbled up the Instinct rabbit raw booster (I can send some of these too). And just recently purchased this (green lipped muscle powder) that @LuvinThisPig recommended. It is really stinky and Gizmo has eaten food with it. I can send you some of it too.

    Do you feed any fish based foods? I don't but he gets his Canna mixed with about a teaspoon of the meow mix tender favorites in sauce salmon & crab. He will always eat this. It is cheap (0.50/cup, 3% carb). It is very soupy and stinky. I can send you a few Canna capsules too if you want.

    Have you tried a/d?
     
    LuvinThisPig and Squalliesmom like this.
  31. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Oh No! :eek: I didn't see that! Thanks, I'll stray away from it!
     
  32. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Thanks, Lizzie! I will take you up on that! Right now I am trying everything possible to interest him in food. He used to get 1/2 can of FF seafood of any variety for lunch, but he hasn't eaten proper lunch in over a month. :(
     
  33. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I’m sorry to read that Squallie isn’t feeling well. Vines that the US gives you some answers and that it’s not serious. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    Squalliesmom likes this.
  34. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Thanks, Elise. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
  35. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    I saw that, also this, and this one, too.
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  36. Sonia & Leo

    Sonia & Leo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2018
  37. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Thanks! You know, I DID know that, just couldn't remember that I knew it, lol. :facepalm: Rough week!o_O
     
  38. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Thanks, Sonia! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
  39. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Extra prayers going out to you and Squallie as Elmo and I hit the hay , Lucy:bighug: I pray he has a better day tomorrow and that you both don’t get discouraged cos the older we get the longer it takes to recover ...but we do recover :bighug: Take heart , Lucy, knowing we are all fighting you and Squallies corner :bighug:❤️
     
    Squalliesmom and Ollie (GA) like this.
  40. HWright

    HWright Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2016
    Hi Lucy, just catching up. Oh dear about Squallie being inappy again.
    I hadn’t heard about the wet food supplement you mr tinned earlier but agree that with garlic included as an ingredient, I’d steer clear if it.

    Re the toppers/enhancers you mentioned above: I’m not familiar with them. But I’ve gotten the vital essentials freeze dried chicken hearts (they also have giblets, livers and freeze dried minnows, the latter was one of Sootie’s favorites, straight up and whole).
    Anyway, I either break them into pieces or blenderize and sprinkle into or on fud. And less expensive I think than the premade ones you linked to.
    Here’s a link to vital essentials brand on Chewy.
    https://www.chewy.com/vital-essentials-chicken-hearts/dp/152709

    Sending heaps of vines for Squallie and that US tomorrow will be stress free and yield good report.
    Hugs and ❤️
     
    Squalliesmom likes this.
  41. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    The "rescue" box has left the building :smuggrin:

    When I thanked hubby for doing it for me (taking to the post office) he said "Anything for a sick kitty" :cool:

    Hang on Squallie.. It is on its way

    tenor-2.gif
     
  42. Beck and Philly

    Beck and Philly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2018
    Sorry for the delay. It looks like Halo Impulse and Halo Spot's Pate are all low carb. Go is a dry kibble. (I know dry is bad.) We were using Temptations treats as toppers, and we wanted something better. We went to a pet food store that stocks a lot of brands on the food list that I'd never heard of. They also give away small sample bags of dry food so we grabbed some as toppers. The Go brand is tiny crunchy bits that Grandpa really goes for (no pun intended).

    Today is the first day in several that he ate without needing a topper. He ate Halo Impulse and Spot's pate this morning.
     
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2018
    Squalliesmom and Kris & Teasel like this.
  43. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Sending good energy and healing vines to you and Squallie. Fingers crossed for tomorrow ... :bighug::bighug:
     
  44. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Thanks for the info on Go. So glad to hear Grandpa ate without needing a topper! :cat::bighug:
     
  45. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Thanks, Kris!:bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
  46. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Lol, love the pic!
    Thank you so much! I'll let you know when it gets here. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    LizzieInTexas likes this.
  47. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Thank you, Beth. Your positivity is so helpful, and means so much to me. :bighug:❤️:bighug:
     
    Beth 73 likes this.
  48. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Thanks, Sina! :bighug:❤️:bighug: I have used some of the Vital Essentials in the past, and my cats have really liked them, especially the whole minnows (they kinda gross me out, lol). I just ordered some more Fortiflora, because he likes/liked that, but this morning he wasn't having any of it, so he may be off it now. It's so hard - something he loves today is looked upon with great disdain or, worse, almost horror, the next day!
     
    HWright likes this.
  49. Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

    Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Thinking positively for tomorrow's (Thursday) ultrasound. Sending lots of beautiful vines for Squallie.
     
    Squalliesmom likes this.
  50. Carol & Murphy (GA)

    Carol & Murphy (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015
    Oh, I know that one - sometimes Murphy approaches his food bowl like there is toxic poison in it
    Lucy - very positive thoughts and vines for tomorrow :bighug::bighug:
     
    Squalliesmom likes this.
  51. HWright

    HWright Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2016
    ❤️:bighug:Thinking of you and Squallie, Lucy, and crossing paws and sending vines for today and for all good news with the US. ❤️:bighug:
     
    Squalliesmom and Beth 73 like this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page