Thanks Sonia...hoping I can get him back on track. It's disheartening to have to increase but Jerry needs what he needs right?Good luck with the increase Deirdre! Our paws are crossed for Jerry!![]()
Thank you so much Marje I appreciate your comment however this is all you and your advice. I know you are getting ready for your trip so I just have one question to you. How long do I hold this dose if he flattens out as you say. Should I be getting the 5-6% carbs ready. At what point do I reduce. I just want to try to get it right this time.See how sharp your instincts are!!!! I’m sorry I didn’t see the tag from Saturday (actually, I wasn’t on the board on Sunday). I’m really glad you raised the dose and I hope we see better numbers.
The goal with the increase is to see him flatten out in green at a decent nadir (say 60-70); if he has any blue, we’d hope it would just be the “bookends” and stay under 120. GREAT JOB, you!!!!
Alright, Jerry; let’s see some nice, stable, green numbers!
You’ll want to absolutely reduce if he drops once below 40. Even though he’s not yet a long-term diabetic (one year), you could hold this dose for three drops between 40-50, if you can monitor him closely, because he’s gone up and down around these doses so much and we want to give him as much time as possible in green. Of course, if he decides to spend a week in mostly green numbers with just a blue blip here and there, you’ll want to reduce him. I’d say for any reductions, just take him to 0.1u and see how he does.Thank you so much Marje I appreciate your comment however this is all you and your advice. I know you are getting ready for your trip so I just have one question to you. How long do I hold this dose if he flattens out as you say. Should I be getting the 5-6% carbs ready. At what point do I reduce. I just want to try to get it right this time.
Yes thank you so much...I just don't want to mess up and these are things you'd help me with as we go along but your leaving us boo hoo.You’ll want to absolutely reduce if he drops once below 40. Even though he’s not yet a long-term diabetic (one year), you could hold this dose for three drops between 40-50, if you can monitor him closely, because he’s gone up and down around these doses so much and we want to give him as much time as possible in green. Of course, if he decides to spend a week in mostly green numbers with just a blue blip here and there, you’ll want to reduce him. I’d say for any reductions, just take him to 0.1u and see how he does.
If you get nice, green nadirs (50-60) most cycles but you see more blue than just bookends, you can hold this dose for quite a long time. If you pop over to Yoyo’s condo and look at his SS, you’ll see Debra has held that dose a while. But if he’s just dipping his toes in green and going right back up, you’ll want to increase the dose after 10-14 cycles.
Does that help?

I’m sorryYes thank you so much...I just don't want to mess up and these are things you'd help me with as we go along but your leaving us boo hoo.
Only kidding, have a fantastic time. There's great coastlines in Scotland but I'm not sure you'll get the weather to lie on the sand. Have fun and thanks again.![]()