? 09/21Bounce? Pufi PMPS 118 , +30min 133, +60min 178 shot full dose

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Sanda Elena, Sep 21, 2019.

  1. Sanda Elena

    Sanda Elena Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2019
    Last edited: Sep 21, 2019
  2. Tina Marie (GA) and Jan

    Tina Marie (GA) and Jan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2019
    Bump!
    Not sure on this but post next test
     
  3. Sanda Elena

    Sanda Elena Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2019
  4. Sanda Elena

    Sanda Elena Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2019
    +30 min 133
     
  5. Tina Marie (GA) and Jan

    Tina Marie (GA) and Jan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2019
    Using the SLGS method, when the preshot number is less than 150, and you don't have enough data to know what to expect, you can skip the shot.

    Maybe someone else will chime in.
    He is going up . . .
    I'm concerned since you haven't shot such a good low number!
    What do you think?
     
  6. Figaro's Liz

    Figaro's Liz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2019
    Can you monitor the cycle?
     
  7. Sanda Elena

    Sanda Elena Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2019
    I was thunking to shot a token dose at least. I don't want him to bounce like crazy again tomorrow
     
  8. Sanda Elena

    Sanda Elena Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2019
    I am home tonight but going to work tomorrow so I should sleep but I could monitor if necessarry
     
  9. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    I'm on my way out the door and cannot stay with you.
    From the stickie
    How to handle a lower than normal preshot number:

    Until you collect enough data to know how your cat will react, we suggest following the guidelines in the FDMB's FAQ Q4.4:
    Q4.4. My cat's pre-shot level was way below the usual value. Should I give the injection?
    A4.4. There's no hard and fast rule, but if you don't have data on how your cat responds to insulin, here are some general guidelines.
    • Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin.
    • Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1 mmol/L), you have three options:
      • a.) give nothing
      • b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose)
      • c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value
    • Above 200 (11.1 mmol/L) but below the cat's normal pre-shot value, a reduced dose might be wise.
    • In all cases, if you are reducing or eliminating insulin, it's wise to check for ketones in the urine.
    • Above the normal pre-shot value, give the usual dose, but if the pre-shot value is consistently elevated, it's a good idea to schedule a full glucose curve to see whether a change in dose or insulin is appropriate. In most cases, the target "peak" value should not be below 100 mg/dl (5.6 mmol/L), and for some cats it might be higher.
    Keep in mind these are general guidelines, and they should be personalized to your own cat's response to insulin. If your experience is that your cat does not became hypoglycemic with a dose which is close to her usual, then personal experience should be your guide.

    With experience, you may find that lowering these thresholds may work well for your cat. When you have reached that stage, the following guidelines are suggested for Lantus, Basaglar, and Levemir users following the Start Low Go Slow approach:

    If the preshot number is far below usual preshot numbers:
    • Do you need to stay on schedule? Then skip the shot.
    • Do you have some flexibility with your schedule? Then stalling to wait for the number to rise might be a good option. Don't feed, retest after 30-60 minutes, and decide if the number is shootable.
    • Repeat until the cat either reaches a number at which you are comfortable shooting, or enough time has passed that skipping the shot is necessary.
    If the preshot number is near kitty's usual preshot numbers:

    Look at your data to see what numbers you have shot in the past and decide what would be a safe, shootable number for your cat. Don't feed. Stall until kitty reaches the preshot number you've decided on and then shoot.
    We usually don't suggest or recommend shooting a preshot number less than 90 mg/dL when following the SLGS Method. Remember that with SLGS, generally speaking, your goal is to achieve flat numbers that are greater than 90 mg/dL. However, let experience, data collected, knowledge of your cat, and availability to monitor help in making the best decisions for your cat.

    If kitty is dropping faster or lower than you'd like, please see "Don't Panic! or How to Handle Low Numbers" and post for help or suggestions.
     
  10. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    If you give a token dose, you will still have to monitor.
     
  11. Sanda Elena

    Sanda Elena Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2019
    Thank you for your imput. I will monitor of course is just that I am affraid to shot full dose at such a lower value. I will retest in 5 min that is 1 h after PMPS , no food on board and see what's going on
     
  12. Sanda Elena

    Sanda Elena Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2019
    +60 178 I feed him and I will give full dose. First time when I shoot a blue but I want him to stay low. Wish me luck
     
  13. Tina Marie (GA) and Jan

    Tina Marie (GA) and Jan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2019
    Good job Laura . . . Wishing you luck and good monitoring!!
     
  14. Sanda Elena

    Sanda Elena Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2019
    +1,45 281 . He's hungry ( fed LC 2 ts ) and very active. He's playng, chasing his toy, runing and jumping .
     
  15. Sanda Elena

    Sanda Elena Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2019
    +4 379 . Bounce I guess.
     
  16. Sanda Elena

    Sanda Elena Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2019

Share This Page