Elinor & Sibon
Member Since 2017
Previous post: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-on-the-dosage-advice-in-this-website.184622/
Thank you everyone who replied to my last post. I called my vet this morning for advice if I should lower Sibon's dose from 1 unit to 0.5 unit (they don't like to hear about eyeballing 0.75) because his lowest numbers have me scared, and he vomits every time he goes below 70.
@Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey The vet was not pleased at all
He said that a BG level anywhere below 100 is dangerous for a diabetic cat and could cause irreparable damage. He didn't want to lower his dose, but to stop injections completely, and to only give 1 unit if his BG anywhere above 200.
He said that minutes after I read @Girlie's mom 's reply where her vet didn't think 0.25u is a worth dose at all, so I wasn't too surprised.
I think I'm going to try 0.5u for a few days just for my peace of mind. Hopefully Sibon won't rise too much.
Thank you everyone who replied to my last post. I called my vet this morning for advice if I should lower Sibon's dose from 1 unit to 0.5 unit (they don't like to hear about eyeballing 0.75) because his lowest numbers have me scared, and he vomits every time he goes below 70.
@Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey The vet was not pleased at all
He said that a BG level anywhere below 100 is dangerous for a diabetic cat and could cause irreparable damage. He didn't want to lower his dose, but to stop injections completely, and to only give 1 unit if his BG anywhere above 200.He said that minutes after I read @Girlie's mom 's reply where her vet didn't think 0.25u is a worth dose at all, so I wasn't too surprised.
I think I'm going to try 0.5u for a few days just for my peace of mind. Hopefully Sibon won't rise too much.
