1/04 Mango amps 169,@+3.5 92,@+4.75 77,@+6 96,@+9 112, @+10 109

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Lesliejm, Jan 4, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Lesliejm

    Lesliejm Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2017
    :arghh::banghead: Gave 0.5 units
     
    PussCatPrince - GA likes this.
  2. Dyana

    Dyana Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Is he eating and feeling better this morning?
     
    Gill & George likes this.
  3. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Hi Leslie,
    I've been having technical difficulties, after initially being on line I lost connection, before I had a chance to write a comment.

    Are you home, have you been able to get a +2? Just in case he gets a strong reaction to the shot.
     
    Dyana likes this.
  4. Alicia & Maggie (GA)

    Alicia & Maggie (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2017
    Hope he's feeling better today and he surfs safely. :bighug:
     
  5. Lesliejm

    Lesliejm Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2017
    Sorry slept in I'll have to get A+ 3 and a half
     
  6. Lesliejm

    Lesliejm Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2017
    He's back to normal woke me up this morning to eat
     
    Gill & George likes this.
  7. Lesliejm

    Lesliejm Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2017
    He at 92 right now
     
  8. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    +?? how many hours since shot?
     
  9. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Looks like the cycle will be active. (I think it's +3.5)
    You may want to give him a couple of teaspoons of his regular low carb food now, to help him level out.
    And if this were me I'd test him again in an hour, as it's relatively early in the cycle and I would want to be sure that he is not dropping to far.
     
  10. Lesliejm

    Lesliejm Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2017
  11. Lesliejm

    Lesliejm Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2017
    @+4.75 77
     
  12. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Did you give him any snacks @+3.5 or a +4.75??

    You might want to get a +6
     
  13. Lesliejm

    Lesliejm Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2017
    Yes he had a snack. It is 96 now at +6
     
    Gill & George likes this.
  14. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    That's good he seems to be going up, lets hope he surfs in the greens for a while.
    It would be helpful if you could get a +9 and then a +11, just to see how this first cycle back on insulin is panning out.
    It will help us decide what to do about this evenings dose.

    Is he still feeling good? appy still good?
     
  15. Lesliejm

    Lesliejm Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2017
    Went and bought him some canned fussie cat and earth-born. Is doing great he's bouncing up the walls and running around and playing with his toys so I think the Y A gave him an upset belly and maybe it was my fault because I gave him too much and didn't transition him I'm going to try him on this new food and see if he likes it better than Fancy Feast
     
  16. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Lovely to hear he's feeling good enough to run up the walls LOL.
    Hopefully this food is a big hit, if he can adjust to being on just wet then it is preferable to a dry diet, even a LC dry diet.
     
  17. Lesliejm

    Lesliejm Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2017
    @+6 112
     
  18. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    I think you mean +9;)

    Looks like he is holding pretty steady.
    See you at +11
     
  19. Lesliejm

    Lesliejm Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2017
    He likes Fussy cat! OOPS! +9
     
    Gill & George likes this.
  20. Lesliejm

    Lesliejm Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2017
    Anyone feed Fussy Cat? Where is the link to making your own cat food?
     
  21. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Sorry can't help, we don't get that brand here in europe.

    If you need nutritional info on carbs etc
    take a look on this sortable list
    http://catinfo.org/chart/index.php

    I took a look, be aware that most of the varieties in the super premium range are HC,
    The premium range, of those listed on that chart, are all LC (ranging from 0-8%).

    If you haven't already take a look so you know what the carb content is of the food you got.
     
  22. Lesliejm

    Lesliejm Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2017
    Anyone hear of Lucy Pet? https://www.lucypetproducts.com/salmon-pumpkin-quinoa-formula_cats/
    Salmon, Pumpkin, and Quinoa Grain Free Formula features our advanced P.B.F. Prebiotic Balanced Fiber (TM) to produce an optimal environment in the digestive tract to lead to an optimal balance in the gut. The number one ingredient is Wild Alaskan Salmon. Includes high quality chicken meal from the USA, chickpeas (rich in protein and complex carbohydrates, including starches and fibers), delicious pumpkin (a nutritional powerhouse with fiber and protein that helps aid in healthy digestion), and quinoa, (a high quality, digestible seed, rich in protein, containing essential amino acids). This formula includes a superfood blend of ingredients naturally preserved. No ingredients from China, including vitamins and minerals.

    Guaranteed Analysis
    Crude Protein, min 32
    Crude Fat, min 15
    Crude Fiber, max 6
    Moisture, max 12
    Zinc, min – 100 ppm
    Vitamin E, min – 40 IU/kg
    Taurine min .12%
    Omega 3 Fatty Acid min* 0.5%
    Omega 6 Fatty Acid min* 3.0%
    Calorie Content (calculated): ME=3690 kcal/kg; 490 kcal/cup



    Ingredients:

    Salmon, chicken meal, dried chickpeas, salmon meal, dried peas, pea starch, chicken fat (preserved with mixed tocopherols), dried pumpkin, quinoa, dried carrots, natural flavor, ground miscanthus grass, flaxseeds, fish oil, dried chicory root, DL-methionine, salt, potassium chloride, dried kelp, dried cranberries, choline chloride, vitamins (vitamin E supplement, niacin, thiamine mononitrate, vitamin A supplement, pyridoxine hydrochloride, D-calcium pantothenate, riboflavin supplement, vitamin B12 supplement, folic acid, vitamin D3 supplement, biotin), taurine, L-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate, minerals (ferrous sulfate, zinc proteinate, zinc sulfate, iron proteinate, copper sulfate, sodium selenite, copper proteinate, manganese sulfate, manganese proteinate, calcium iodate), mixed tocopherols (preservative), citric acid (preservative), turmeric, yucca schidigera extract, rosemary extract.
     
  23. Lesliejm

    Lesliejm Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2017
    Yes I have looked. The thing I don't like is it is mostly all tuna. I heard too much is not good.
     
  24. Mandy & Rex (GA)

    Mandy & Rex (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Is that dry food? Calculating in my mind, I came up with 35% carbs. BUT I will make it known that I am not sure if I am doing that right. I'm also interested in other people's opinions.
     
  25. PussCatPrince - GA

    PussCatPrince - GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2017
    Lovely blues and greens.
     
  26. Lesliejm

    Lesliejm Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2017
    When I went to get Fussy Cat, they threw in a sample of this. Not going to use it but wondered if it was low in carbs maybe for an enticer.
    Hope he stays this way! thx!
     
  27. Lesliejm

    Lesliejm Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2017
    Yes,dry.
     
  28. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    I doubt it's low carbs, I would imagine looking at some of the ingredients in the list list(chickpeas, peas, pea starch, quinoa) I would think it will be high carb.

    You cannot use the guaranteed analysis to get the accurate carb content, you need to have the as fed values.
     
    Stacy & Asia likes this.
  29. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    That's probably why he likes it, cats and tuna:rolleyes:
    It is true that there is concern with heavy metals and too much tuna.


    Two of the super premium brand are LC and don't have tuna in the title chicken and beef in pumpkin soup.4%
    and Chicken with liver in pumpkin soup 5%

    Maybe he would go for those.
     
  30. Lesliejm

    Lesliejm Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2017
    They didn't have them but will order them for me.
     
  31. Lesliejm

    Lesliejm Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2017
    What is going on with these high numbers[146/151] He did eat a few hours back, Fussy Cat Premium.
     
  32. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Is that your +11 or +11.5?

    When did he eat? was it after +6?
     
  33. Lesliejm

    Lesliejm Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2017
    He ate around 2
     
  34. Lesliejm

    Lesliejm Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2017
  35. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    In + hours please from when you gave insulin, was that +3???
     
  36. Lesliejm

    Lesliejm Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2017
    +9 sorry
     
  37. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    That's OK, no more food until you shoot now.

    It's possible the +9 feed did bump his numbers.

    When George was on insulin tried not to feed past the +7 mark, feeding in the later part of the cycle, when there is less insulin available, can shorten duration/ put the brakes on the insulin and result in the numbers bumping up, which is not desirable. So for most cats it is better not to feed so late. If you have a very hungry, stubborn cat, or if kitty has issues with acid tummy, then you could feed him a zero carb treat, most people find that something like a few pieces of poached chicken breast will keep kitty quiet and have minimal impact on BG.
     
    Stacy & Asia likes this.
  38. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    All in all he has had a pretty good cycle, but want you to consider a few things.

    As lantus is a depot insulin, one dose builds on another and we may not be seeing the full effect of the dose. That can take a few cycles.

    Sometimes we get a strong initial response and then that flattens out.

    Since he's been off insulin for 6 days and is restarting, I think we need to be vigilant and/or cautious.

    So before you shoot
    Can you monitor this evening? are you prepared to keep testing if his numbers are falling? Do you have supplies? (strips/HC food/Karo)
     
    Stacy & Asia likes this.
  39. Lesliejm

    Lesliejm Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2017
    Oh okay I just saw that you had to make sure the food was up by two hours before you gave the injection so that's why I fed him up to that
     
  40. Lesliejm

    Lesliejm Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2017
    Yes I'm home to Monitor and I have the kayro syrup
     
  41. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    That's right, thats so we know that the PS is not influenced by food, so we know it is safe.

    But aside from that, what most of us find is that it works better if we feed in the early part of the cycle, I could feed till +7 without any problems.
    If he was low and dipping at +9 I might also give a snack. If on the other hand numbers were flat I would not feed after +7
     
    Stacy & Asia likes this.
  42. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Good.

    Waiting for that PMPS.
     
  43. Lesliejm

    Lesliejm Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2017
    pmps 160
     
  44. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Have you shot 0.5u??
     
  45. Lesliejm

    Lesliejm Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2017
  46. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    If you want to take a more conservative approach you could bring the dose down to 0.25u. You can always bring him back up if he is not getting into the range you want.
     
  47. Lesliejm

    Lesliejm Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2017
    Why less when his number is high?
     
  48. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    On just one dose this got him into the 70's, we haven't seen yet how far this dose will take him. As the depot builds it is possible he could go lower.
    Given that you haven't been doing this dance that long, I don't want to put you under any undue stress in having to deal with having to manage low numbers, testing every 20min and all that entails.
     
    Stacy & Asia likes this.
  49. Lesliejm

    Lesliejm Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2017
    Oh! okay I will do .25
     
  50. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Sorry I'm on phone, my pc just decided to update itself without asking. Grrr
     
  51. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Ok, still get a +2 and let's see what happens. Let's see if we can hold on to this dose for a while and get mango into a nice run of greens.

    I think if you can feed him like you did this morning in the early part of the cycle that would be great. Especially if you see a significant drop at +2 .
     
    Stacy & Asia likes this.
  52. Lesliejm

    Lesliejm Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2017
    Will do!.
     
  53. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Your +2 is about 1.30am for me, I should still be up.
    See you later.
     
  54. Lesliejm

    Lesliejm Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2017
    Thank you so much for your help!
     
  55. CassAndGordy(GA)

    CassAndGordy(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2016
    I'll be around for a few hours too and I am some-what familiar with Mango.

    I am happy he wasn't skyhigh when you got back but I definitely agree with others that just a little more time on da juice will do better for him ;)
     
    Stacy & Asia and Gill & George like this.
  56. Lesliejm

    Lesliejm Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2017
    @+1 126
     
    Gill & George and Stacy & Asia like this.
  57. Lesliejm

    Lesliejm Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2017
    I agree and so does my vet!
     
    CassAndGordy(GA) likes this.
  58. Stacy & Asia

    Stacy & Asia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2017
    It looks from the +1 you're going to have an active cycle.

    From the data you've collected so far, that's a pretty decent drop for him at a +1, I would give a little low carb food here, then get a +2 and go from there.
     
    Gill & George likes this.
  59. Lesliejm

    Lesliejm Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2017
    I'll try but he just ate a while ago and I don't think he'll eat anymore
     
    Gill & George likes this.
  60. Stacy & Asia

    Stacy & Asia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2017
    I don't know how you typically do food with him, but for Asia, pre diabetes she was free fed, since diabetes, it hasn't changed much, but I dole out bits at a time instead of give her more and allow her to graze. Specifically at shot time, I give her a little less than I normally would for a meal so that I can give her more when she starts to drop (which for Asia is starting at +1 and +2). You might find it helps to do something similar, especially if Mango shows a pattern of bigger drops right after shot times.
     
    Gill & George likes this.
  61. Lesliejm

    Lesliejm Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2017
  62. Lesliejm

    Lesliejm Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2017
    He did eat something just now
     
    Gill & George and Stacy & Asia like this.
  63. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Nice +1.

    Looks like he's heading to the lagoon again.
     
    Stacy & Asia likes this.
  64. Lesliejm

    Lesliejm Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2017
    Lagoon?
     
  65. CassAndGordy(GA)

    CassAndGordy(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2016
    :D:D:D
     
    Gill & George likes this.
  66. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
  67. Lesliejm

    Lesliejm Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2017
    Oooppppsss! He was 123 at
     
  68. Lesliejm

    Lesliejm Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2017
    Yeah I tried to look for that but I guess it was just regular cat Forum slang I saw. thank you!
     
  69. Stacy & Asia

    Stacy & Asia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2017
    Looking good, Mango, I have to run out for a bit, but I will be back around your +5 and check in
     
  70. Lesliejm

    Lesliejm Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2017
    @+2 124 I only have 2 more strips I can use tonight. I need one for amps
     
  71. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    I'd give him a snack now and check at +4
     
  72. Lesliejm

    Lesliejm Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2017
    He had a snack 45 min. ago.
     
  73. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Will you be able to run out in the morning to get more?
     
  74. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    I know, the insulin effect is just starting (onset) and will usually continue to rise through to +5/+6 so by getting a little food on board now you can hopefully keep him in low blues or high greens.
    By feeding we can manipulate the numbers and keep him a little higher, with limited strips I am trying to avoid him dropping too low.
     
  75. Lesliejm

    Lesliejm Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2017
    Yes I'll be able to go out tomorrow and get some and I will check him at plus 6 and I'll try to see if he'll eat a little bit now
     
    Gill & George likes this.
  76. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    +4 or +5, I wouldn't leave it as long as +6.
     
  77. Lesliejm

    Lesliejm Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2017
    should he have one?
     
  78. Lesliejm

    Lesliejm Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2017
    ok
     
    Gill & George likes this.
  79. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Nite nite, 2am here, Stacey and @CassAndGordy are around so keep us posted.
     
  80. Lesliejm

    Lesliejm Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2017
    night! thx
     
  81. CassAndGordy(GA)

    CassAndGordy(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2016
    My notifs don't send me alerts (just oddly stopped...) but I'll check in like every 20 minutes because I am compulsive and can't leave my phone alone LOL
     
  82. Lesliejm

    Lesliejm Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2017
  83. Lesliejm

    Lesliejm Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2017
    Taking it in a few then going to bed
     
    CassAndGordy(GA) likes this.
  84. Lesliejm

    Lesliejm Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2017
    @+4.5 112 I think he is okay. going to bed. If I wake up I will do one more test.
     
    CassAndGordy(GA) likes this.
  85. Lesliejm

    Lesliejm Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2017
    @+7.5 99
     
    Stacy & Asia likes this.
  86. Lesliejm

    Lesliejm Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2017
    Back to bed with me!
     
  87. Lesliejm

    Lesliejm Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2017
    @amps 133
     
  88. Lesliejm

    Lesliejm Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2017
    Out of strips take his blood later today
     
  89. CassAndGordy(GA)

    CassAndGordy(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2016
    Ok! Just make sure you start a new convo when you come back - we like to have one per day so they don't get too long.

    What a nice cycle he had last night =)
     
    Gill & George likes this.
  90. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Can't see a condo for today.

    If you shot this morning it must be around your +3. Have you been able to get strips?



    Did you shoot 0.25u? (the ss is not up dated, just wondering/worrying if you and Mango are OK)
    Even with a tiny amount of insulin you can see quite a bit of movement in numbers. Please test his BG
     
  91. Lesliejm

    Lesliejm Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2017
    Just waking up no I haven't gotten any test strips he's been in bed with me he's been doing fine soon as I get some test strips I will test and let you know it'll be a couple hours I'll get my spreadsheet going here in a few minutes
     
  92. Lesliejm

    Lesliejm Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2017
    Had some strips left from old meter, Truemetrix Air. He is at 61 at +4.
     
    Gill & George likes this.
  93. Lesliejm

    Lesliejm Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2017
    He just ate some food.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page