1/12 Eddie AMPS 99, +3/87, +6/95, PMPS/135, +2/56, +3/48, +5/60

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jen&Eddie

Member Since 2013
Eddie's 1/9 Condo

Yesterday: AMPS/187, +3/81, +4/78, +8/69, +9/95, PMPS/161, +1/149, +2/139, +3/107, +4/95, +5/83, +6/82, +7/81
Today: AMPS/99, +1/130, +2/113, +3/87, +3.5/77, +6/95, PMPS/135, +1/131, +2/56, +2.5/49, +3/48, +3.5/45, +4/57, +5/60, +6/73

Happy Monday LL!

Whoops! No Eddie condo this weekend. DH and I got to out Saturday afternoon and evening for fun times at the Minneapolis Tattoo and Arts Convention. :cool: And Sunday was spent lounging around and nursing some new ink.

Eddie's numbers have been nice and steady in blues and greens. It's such a weird thing to not panic with low pre-shots, because he's just not crashing anymore. (anti-jinx). :D It's so much less exciting without all the wild bouncing. :rolleyes:

Tonight, Eddie dipped into the 40's, and I'm leaning towards shaving down to 0.375u. This reduction is a bit sketchy though. Eddie had a dip into the 40's that we caught during the AM cycle of 1/3. On the AM cycle of 1/7, Eddie's numbers look extremely suspicious for a drop and a subsequent bounce. Since I'm out the door right before he's hitting nadir lately, I don't know for sure that he went under 50, but it sure looks suspicious IMHO, so I chalked that cycle up as dip #2 under 50. Assuming I count that one, tonight would be the third drop below 50. To make matters a bit more complicated, Eddie scarfed and barfed half of his first supper, so that could also possibly contribute to the early drop. Thoughts or input from anyone?

At only half a unit, a full quarter reduction would cut his dose in half, and I can't quite wrap my head around how Eddie could hold a reduction of 1/2 his dose. So, we're going to give the 0.375 a shot. He didn't hold it at 0.375 before, but that was a few weeks ago, and it was while we were traveling, and it was a full quarter unit reduction. I do think some of the blues may be bounces and/or counterregulatory action, so maybe that will improve at a lower dose. With his last couple months going down in dose, he seems to flatten out even more with each successive reduction. Fingers crossed!

Prayers and vines for all who need them. Have a great week everyone!
 
Last edited:
wow, i haven't looked at Eddie's ss for a while! Look at him go!

Yes, I think
He didn't hold it at 0.375 before, but that was a few weeks ago,
is a great observation. As his pancreas is healing and he's going down in dose, his situation is changing. While the dose might not have worked before it doesn't mean it won't work now. I'd probably try going to the 0.375.

I think it also depends on if you were working to keep him up when he went in the 40's. If one bite of LC brought him up, you might be able to keep him at this dose a little bit longer. If you had to give him much in the way of high carb then you might need to reduce his dose. Just depends. On the Tilly's Diabetes Homepage it says some cats do well being held in the 40's. Perhaps Eddie is one of them - and you surely test often enough that you keep him safe.

Phase 3: Holding the dose
Try to keep the cat at a dose where the BGs are in the 50 to 200 mg/dl range for as much of the day as possible. The majority of cats are actually able to achieve consistent BGs in the 50 to <100 mg/dl range with consistent dosing. A well regulated cat looks like this.

Don't let the cat go below 50 mg/dl (N.B. there are some cats that do well with BGs >=40 mg/dl and are difficult to regulate unless the dose is held at BGs in this range, but a cautious approach should be used until you are sure your cat reacts this way). 200 to 220 mg/dl is approximately the renal threshold for glucose and important for renal health and general recovery. This phase may last a long time (many months). Periodic slight adjustments are necessary in many cases.​
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top