1/14 Purrdy AMPS 200 +3 110 +5.5 112 PMPS 122 +3 108

Status
Not open for further replies.

purrdydolly

Member Since 2014
Yesterday

Recap:
AMPS 198
+5 130
PMPS 130
+3 112

So I was formulating Purrdy's dose increase plan and then he's given us this big drop at +3 so I think I'll just wait and see what he does today...

Serryn
 
So I'm thinking that we increase tomorrow morning if we don't see green tonight, and maybe even if we do just see high green. Tonight will be the 6th cycle since we've seen a green.

Your thoughts...

Mum mentioned that his legs and walking are very poor today so on 1/9 when there was improvement may have just been a fluke or maybe his legs do need green to be healing?

Serryn
 
well . . . 15 cycles on the 1.5u dose, and as you said, 6 cycles since any green numbers. It looks like there's room for him to have a 0.25u increase.

Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
There are many cats with much higher BG numbers than Purrdy that don't have neuropathy, so it's not completely related to high blood sugar. I saw on the profile that he's getting methyl B12 twice a day. Was that just started after he was diagnosed with diabetes, ie in December? If so, it may take longer than that for the full effects to show.
 
He started the B12 around October after the first suspected spinal stroke was diagnosed. We have been using 'Doctors Best' brand 1,500mcg BID until 1/6 when we doubled it to 3,000 mcg BID. Mum has just received the Zobaline so we will swap to that and give him their standard one 3,000 tab once a day dose. That bottle will last two months at that dose, if we don't see improvment by then we will give up on he B12 for him and accept that it is how it is.
 
I don't have personal experience with neuropathy. It might be good to put "neuropathy?" in the subject line to get the right people to come and help with the subject. I have heard people say it can take a while, but there's nothing like someone's first-hand experience.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top