1/2 Asia PMPS 67, +1 95, +2.5 62

Status
Not open for further replies.

Stacy & Asia

Member Since 2017
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/1-1-asia-pmps-124-1-99-2-59.188958/#post-2101502

She earned a reduction today and wouldn't have if I didn't have that nap from the missed sleep last night. I'm still wary of all of these reductions, I love them, don't get me wrong, but I'm just shocked at all the decreases and afraid of them not sticking. With the 1 unit, I don't feel like it was doing as well as the previous dose as a whole.

I'm still trying to sort out what this dose is doing to her. To me it looks like her bounces are largely in blue? Which would be awesome, or maybe she's not really bouncing at all and this dose is keeping her higher on the bookends of the cycle? Yesterday's am cycle was all kinds of odd looking.

Nothing new/no changes to report other than some poop issues the last couple of days (very soft stools, with mucous, lots of scooting and butt wiping on my part). She doesn't seem constipated or anything like that, but something is causing a funky GI problem. This has happened very infrequently and usually resolves in a day or two, hope that is the case here.

Just a general note, her poop has never really smelled bad before, not that it smelled like roses, but no discernible odor. It had recently smelled pretty bad often times, I don't know if this is gravy from the high carb foods (but I only give her such a small amount, I wouldn't think so), or a sign of something to watch out for. Her breath normally smells terrible (bad teeth) but has recently taken on the exact same odor as her poop (also terrible smelling), but a distinctly different smell. It does not smell sweet or of ammonia or anything like that.
 
Thought she looked like she was tiring of this dose. :D

I found out Neko was allergic to the wheat in gravy after a few low/sort poo episodes, so switched to carbs from potato fuds. Might be worth an experiment.
 
I love all the TMI stuff we read on this board! :joyful:

I've heard that if a cat just had a reduction then went low again, that you should take into consideration how easy or hard it was to boost him/her back up. If the numbers went up quickly, then don't give the reduction. But if it was a struggle, then give the reduction. I hope that made sense.
 
I'm still wary of all of these reductions, I love them, don't get me wrong, but I'm just shocked at all the decreases and afraid of them not sticking.
I know how you feel. Felix raced down the dosing scale, but now he's slowly climbing back up--his dose now isn't so high, but I've gotten spoiled!

I love all the TMI stuff we read on this board! :joyful:
Asia says, "Momma! Don't say all that stuff in front of my furiends!" I hope Wendy's right and there's a simple answer to Asia's stinkies.
 
Thought she looked like she was tiring of this dose. :D

I found out Neko was allergic to the wheat in gravy after a few low/sort poo episodes, so switched to carbs from potato fuds. Might be worth an experiment.

Potato carbs, do share, is that a commercially available thing or did you make your own? It is on my list to try to find an enticing MYO gravy recipe. That tiny bit of gravy is all I can do to get her to eat the karo. I don't think the homemade version would be as stinky and hide it.
 
First Mate Turkey is 20% and made with organic ingredients, including potato. Weruva Grandma's Chicken Soup is over 20%. I ended up using their Cats in the Kitchen pouches, some are in the 16-17% range - Neko didn't need very high carbs. Sweet potato is another option. For raw, Honest Kitchen Prowl and Grace are dehydrated raw and have potato. I can't remember which, but one was HC the other MC. Their numbers were in the old catinfo list, but not in the current one.
 
First Mate Turkey is 20% and made with organic ingredients, including potato. Weruva Grandma's Chicken Soup is over 20%. I ended up using their Cats in the Kitchen pouches, some are in the 16-17% range - Neko didn't need very high carbs. Sweet potato is another option. For raw, Honest Kitchen Prowl and Grace are dehydrated raw and have potato. I can't remember which, but one was HC the other MC. Their numbers were in the old catinfo list, but not in the current one.

Thanks a ton for that, I'm going to scour ingredient lists of what I have, this happened around the time when I switched from FF to some other brand pouches with higher carb gravies.
 
64 at +12, I gave her a tiny bit of radcat which doesn't typically bring her up any, she needs food so she doesn't barf. I'm going to wait a tiny bit and see if she's coming up any so I know what I'm dealing with when I shoot. She had karo at +7.5 so that has worn off and I think I'm just seeing double dip here.
 
I love all the TMI stuff we read on this board! :joyful:

I've heard that if a cat just had a reduction then went low again, that you should take into consideration how easy or hard it was to boost him/her back up. If the numbers went up quickly, then don't give the reduction. But if it was a struggle, then give the reduction. I hope that made sense.

So much TMI, I didn't want @Girlie's mom to have all the fun with the poop talk, so Asia and I decided to contribute. ;)
 
Shot 26 minutes late a 67, not much of a change from 64, but not a drop either, that's what I needed to know. Reduced dose to .75, wow! :woot:

Carbed up the Asia face with 20% gravy and probably 4 drops of Karo. Also on my to do list is to start using feeding syringe to more accurately measure the Karo so I can get more predicable results from specific amounts.

I think I'm going to have to keep carbing until at least +4, we shall see.
 
Looking great! Wow...that SS is awesome. Good luck with the reduction.

I also used Cats in the Kitchen Pumpkin Lickin Chicken which is about 12% but has a nice gravy.

Do you give her probiotics?
 
Looking great! Wow...that SS is awesome. Good luck with the reduction.

I also used Cats in the Kitchen Pumpkin Lickin Chicken which is about 12% but has a nice gravy.

Do you give her probiotics?
Thanks, I'm really proud of this old girl, she keeps surprising me! :cat:

I think I have decided the carb content of the gravy matters almost nil, as long as she likes the flavor, I use it as a vehicle for undectable karo delivery and her radcat to sustain her with fat and protein. The one I am currently using is "Natural Balance" and it is grain free, so I don't think gluten is the issue, unfortunately. Going to buy some different ones and see if that helps.

No I don't give her probiotics. Predisbetes, I've tried to manage her health with diet alone (no supplements), largely because it's hard to give her things orally (understatement) and she's amazing at detecting tainted food, although I think with gravy I might have some better success? But if something is bitter, I think it would put her off the gravy and I don't want to do that either. So far the only thing she is getting is p binders, I'm going to add the b12 and b complex if I can (on this week's massive to do list).

My human experience with probiotics is the vast majority of them are garbage. The only one I've found that has worked for me (and I've tried many, many, many) is Xymogen ProbioMax DF and it's so prohibitively expensive that I don't take it as often as I'd like. I sure wish I found kimchee palatable! Which brands do you recommend?
 
I use Renew Life Ultimate Adult Flora 15b cfu for the cats and me as maintenance. My vet does nutrition response testing and she tested several different ones on the cats and this was the one that was a 10 on a scale of 1 to 10. I dose it at 1/2 cap bid (start with 1/4 cap bid). Neither Gracie, Tobey, nor Liv have ever balked at eating it mixed in their food and Tobey is one that I have to be careful about adding stuff to his food.

If they have to go on antibiotics, I up it to 1 cap bid while they are on the antibiotic. As I said, I also use it as my nutritionists like it and my vet tested me for it, too....a 10.:)

If you decide to try it and she doesn’t like it and you don’t want it, I’ll buy it from you.

Have you ever tried Bubbies sauerkraut? I eat that as well (I don’t like kimchee either). It’s, of course, fermented. I’ll eat 1/4 cup before lunch and dinner. Yum.
 
I use Renew Life Ultimate Adult Flora 15b cfu for the cats and me as maintenance. My vet does nutrition response testing and she tested several different ones on the cats and this was the one that was a 10 on a scale of 1 to 10. I dose it at 1/2 cap bid (start with 1/4 cap bid). Neither Gracie, Tobey, nor Liv have ever balked at eating it mixed in their food and Tobey is one that I have to be careful about adding stuff to his food.

If they have to go on antibiotics, I up it to 1 cap bid while they are on the antibiotic. As I said, I also use it as my nutritionists like it and my vet tested me for it, too....a 10.:)

If you decide to try it and she doesn’t like it and you don’t want it, I’ll buy it from you.

Have you ever tried Bubbies sauerkraut? I eat that as well (I don’t like kimchee either). It’s, of course, fermented. I’ll eat 1/4 cup before lunch and dinner. Yum.

Thanks, I will definitely try it, that is reassuring on the nutrition response testing!

Kimchee is a somewhat generic term for fermented veggies, not just the spicy red cabbage stuff most people understand it to be. I've tried many, and yet to find one I tolerate, including sauerkraut. :( I love food but I have a lot of food aversions. :facepalm:
 
Asia's spreadsheet is looking amazing! I wouldn't be too concerned about the blues. If it's a bounce, then it's a bounce we'd all happily welcome. I think it's more a case of Asia just naturally rising into the morning.

I understand your apprehension about multiple reductions. Heck, I'm still worrying myself about the last reduction I gave Jenks. But you've always taken a reduction after enough cycles that you can see how Asia is responding to the dose. I think her body is just telling you that it needed a little less, and you listened. You test so much that you'd pick up right away if her numbers began to drift, but she's showing no signs of slowing down. :)
 
So much TMI, I didn't want @Girlie's mom to have all the fun with the poop talk, so Asia and I decided to contribute. ;)

Did someone say poop?! A good, regular poop from Girlie is high on my wish list... I've had enough interesting poops to last me for quite a while now, although I'm prepared with shower curtains that would be easy to sleep on and under now, just in case. (Girlie always sleeps cuddled up with me).

BTW: What an amazing SS! You go, Asia! Well done! :D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top