1/22 Scratches amps 314 +5=280

Scratches123

Member Since 2019
Recently reduced does to .5
Her sugar is already up. Will stick to the slgs method and hold the dose. Hopefully she starts to come down.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-as-to-what-these-recent-numbers-mean.224568/

Here's the most recent post describing my dilemma. Im going to start posting here every day. I realized I can't do this on my own as I'm not understanding. I guess it's just over my head in a sense so I'm hoping for any advice. I tried doing my best on my own trying to figure everything out, I have a busy schedule and since scratches is doing 100% better clinically doesn't mean im doing everything right but I am trying so damn hard, but I'm realizing I'm just really not getting it. And as busy as I am, I'm going to have to just start making more time to update and post as much as possible. I love my cat dearly. Happy Wednesday!
 
Her sugar is already up.
She's probably bouncing from the greens/lower than usual numbers last night. This is normal, especially in the beginning. Our cats have been diabetic and untreated for who knows how long, so their bodies have gotten used to high numbers and treats them as the norm.

I think it's great you're going to post here everyday (or as often as you can manage!). It definitely is hard to do this alone but we're here to help when you need it, even if it's just moral support. Don't be afraid to ask the same question over and over again - someone will answer it as many times as you ask.

:bighug::bighug:
 
I feel your pain! This disease isn't an easy one to deal with, but it might make more sense over time. It is not real straightforward and once you think you understand, wonky numbers could show up just to mess with you (well not literally, but it seems so). It is easier for people like me who are home based (I work part time with an ever changing schedule.) But you can still do this for Scratches. Better clinical signs are a big plus.
Taking two quick reductions doesn’t always work. But I can see what you were thinking and doing with the shots, including the no shots. Safety always comes first.
Here is a big hug :bighug:and I hope you can breathe deeply and relax some.
I am not one of the "experienced" ones, my only experience is with my own kitty. I still think you might want to hold the .5 dose until you have established a "depot" that matches that dose (six cycles or 3 days). And hopefully, you can feel good about shooting at each shot time. We do eventually get to shoot those nice lower numbers, and even look forward to it. The daily help I got here really put my kitty and I in a good place. I know it's been said, but don't be so hard on yourself!!!
 
I feel your pain! This disease isn't an easy one to deal with, but it might make more sense over time. It is not real straightforward and once you think you understand, wonky numbers could show up just to mess with you (well not literally, but it seems so). It is easier for people like me who are home based (I work part time with an ever changing schedule.) But you can still do this for Scratches. Better clinical signs are a big plus.
Taking two quick reductions doesn’t always work. But I can see what you were thinking and doing with the shots, including the no shots. Safety always comes first.
Here is a big hug :bighug:and I hope you can breathe deeply and relax some.
I am not one of the "experienced" ones, my only experience is with my own kitty. I still think you might want to hold the .5 dose until you have established a "depot" that matches that dose (six cycles or 3 days). And hopefully, you can feel good about shooting at each shot time. We do eventually get to shoot those nice lower numbers, and even look forward to it. The daily help I got here really put my kitty and I in a good place. I know it's been said, but don't be so hard on yourself!!!
I shot my lowest number yet last night and I feel good about it and actually can't wait to do it again!
 
FWIW, I think you also test enough to do TR. And you mentioned you're able to run home to test when you can.

Have you read this post yet: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...ion-possible-with-a-full-time-job-yes.129378/
Yes I think I may be confident enough to start tr now. It might work better for us in my situation. I test a ton. Might as well make better use of it. Curves will be difficult though as I work six days a week. I can always just get a few more tests in on Sundays when I can..I'll just be posting here every day and hopefully I don't get too annoying asking when I need to increase/decrease and ask any and every question in the book..
 
You will NOT be annoying! If you read everyone else's condos, even those who have been at this for a while, we all still ask the same questions. It's what this board is for :)

I always like to get confirmation if what I'm thinking is correct. When you're new at this, getting that confirmation is extremely helpful and I relied on the experienced members here A LOT. I treated their posts and advice like the bible almost lol!!

Don't worry about annoying us or posting a lot or feeling like you're not learning fast enough. We get it. We've all been there once!
 
Curves will be difficult though as I work six days a week. I can always just get a few more tests in on Sundays when I can

If you switch to TR, you really don't have to worry so much about doing an official curve. You're testing enough right now to do TR. Having tests sprinkled around at different points in the cycle is just fine!

We ask for curves on SLGS because the people doing SLGS usually can't test often enough so it's important to get the curve before re-evaluating the dose.

On SLGS, you earned a reduction down to .25 today but if you want to do TR, you'd hold the .5 until he dropped below 68 on the AlphaTrak (50 on a human meter) or stayed in normal numbers for 7 days
 
If you switch to TR, you really don't have to worry so much about doing an official curve. You're testing enough right now to do TR. Having tests sprinkled around at different points in the cycle is just fine!

We ask for curves on SLGS because the people doing SLGS usually can't test often enough so it's important to get the curve before re-evaluating the dose.

On SLGS, you earned a reduction down to .25 today but if you want to do TR, you'd hold the .5 until he dropped below 68 on the AlphaTrak (50 on a human meter) or stayed in normal numbers for 7 days
I really think I should switch to TR now. So I'll stick with the .5 tonight, what do you think?? I really test enough and I'm able to leave work whenever I need to if there's a day she drops low..
 
I'm going to do her test in about 30-45 minutes. I hope someone is around in case her number is too low for me to comfortably shoot, I'll need advice.
 
Yes I think you’re safe to continue giving 0.5 units as long she stays up for the next two hours . I would test again at +10.5 or +11 to see if she’s going up from then 85.

I unfortunately can’t stay with you. I’m just on my lunch break and it’s almost over.
 
Yes I think you’re safe to continue giving 0.5 units as long she stays up for the next two hours . I would test again at +10.5 or +11 to see if she’s going up from then 85.

I unfortunately can’t stay with you. I’m just on my lunch break and it’s almost over.
She's 89 now. I re tested again after about ten minutes and it read 69...
 
If you switch to TR, you really don't have to worry so much about doing an official curve. You're testing enough right now to do TR. Having tests sprinkled around at different points in the cycle is just fine!

We ask for curves on SLGS because the people doing SLGS usually can't test often enough so it's important to get the curve before re-evaluating the dose.

On SLGS, you earned a reduction down to .25 today but if you want to do TR, you'd hold the .5 until he dropped below 68 on the AlphaTrak (50 on a human meter) or stayed in normal numbers for 7 days
She's only at 89 now. I retest ten mins after and it read 69
 
If you switch to TR, you really don't have to worry so much about doing an official curve. You're testing enough right now to do TR. Having tests sprinkled around at different points in the cycle is just fine!

We ask for curves on SLGS because the people doing SLGS usually can't test often enough so it's important to get the curve before re-evaluating the dose.

On SLGS, you earned a reduction down to .25 today but if you want to do TR, you'd hold the .5 until he dropped below 68 on the AlphaTrak (50 on a human meter) or stayed in normal numbers for 7 days
107 now
 
Do you have plenty of supplies? HC food, Karo/honey/syrup, test strips? Can you test as often as necessary tonight (and possibly late into the night?)
 
If the 69 was 67, you could shoot the reduced .25 by the rules of the protocol. So borderline.
Shooting .5 may take Scratches low (which you can take care of), but it would also prove Scratches is ready for a reduced dose.

Just my one penny -- put more value on what Chris has to say;)
 
And am I going to give her the full .5 ?? Or reduce?? You tell me what you think. I'm ready for TR. But that 69 is low...

If your next test is still climbing, you could go ahead with the .5 but get tests at +1 and +2 so if you need to, you can intervene early. I can't guarantee I'll be able to be here to advise you though so we need to do what's most comfortable for you.

If you're more comfortable, there's no reason you couldn't do .25 tonight and get back on track tomorrow. I'd still get a +1 and +2 either way.

Shooting the lower dose shouldn't make you feel guilty either....it will help to show you what happens when you shoot a reduced dose....All data is good data!!
 
If your next test is still climbing, you could go ahead with the .5 but get tests at +1 and +2 so if you need to, you can intervene early. I can't guarantee I'll be able to be here to advise you though so we need to do what's most comfortable for you.

If you're more comfortable, there's no reason you couldn't do .25 tonight and get back on track tomorrow. I'd still get a +1 and +2 either way.

Shooting the lower dose shouldn't make you feel guilty either....it will help to show you what happens when you shoot a reduced dose....All data is good data!!
I just test her again. She's not rising. I will do the .25 tonight and .5 tomorrow. Plus she's absolutely STARVING so I'm going to feed her and shoot the .25 and test at +1 and +2. I always test again around five or six hours. I will start a new post tmr! Thank you all for your help!
 
That's fine!!

On your spreadsheet, your PMPS is always the number you actually shoot. You can put the earlier tests either in the +11 cell or you can "stack" them all in the PMPS cell.....Like ## @ +12, ## @+12.5
 
Looks like you're doing OK!!

Just an FYI on your spreadsheet....when you enter anything other than a number (like 163@5.5) you have to color code it yourself. Just go to the top of the spreadsheet and click on the icon that looks like a paint can tipping over and choose the color that corresponds with your test number.
upload_2020-1-23_23-52-22.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2020-1-23_23-52-22.png
    upload_2020-1-23_23-52-22.png
    30 KB · Views: 108
Back
Top