1/23 Doodles AMPS 90 +2 115 +4.5 91 +6.5 119 PMPS 95

Status
Not open for further replies.

Doodles & Karen

Member Since 2015
Doodles 1/22 Think this is the longest amount of time we've been on the same dose. He's spending a decent amount of time in the higher greens so not sure increasing really makes sense or just let it be. NV raw chicken was a hit the first time and now of course not so much. I'll keep giving it to him in small amounts to see if he'll take to it a bit better. There is nothing wrong with his appy....he just wants to eat that darn kibble :banghead:. I try to keep the YA consumption to as little as possible but some days just get exhausted with the food fight.

Hope everyone has a great Saturday and that those who were in that nasty snow storm path didn't get as much as predicted.
 
I've been super bad with Doodles feeding today. Off schedule, too much food & YA this morning (he basically ate from AMPS - +4.5) , picked up some 9 Lives and gave him that @ +6.5. We'll try again tomorrow.
 
I read the Young Again vs TR condo and see "modified TR" in your signature block but the "modified TR" we follow in this group has a requisite of feeding only canned or raw LC food with no dry and I know Doodles does love that little dry snack! I am a purist when it comes to the whole debate on the linked condo and believe the thoughts given by @Jill & Alex (GA) and @Sienne and Gabby (GA) are reflective of my thoughts when I give suggestions.

So....that would have me giving you a dose suggestion based on SLGS and he's earned a reduction under that...actually a few times. And I see several cycles of inverted curves...a.m. Cycle of 1/21, p.m. Cycle of 1/22, today's a.m. Cycle. He's not having huge inverts..he's kinda flat but he is still having them.

I know you probably don't want to hear this but, as a purist, I have to suggest you lower the dose. It's not that I don't think the TR protocol is a guideline and, once experienced, a CG can take what they know about their cat and apply it but it's very clear on the requisites. I don't think that's where we pick and choose what works for our kitty.

I also just don't drink the kool aid from YA and believe that their zero carb food is zero carb. And while I do believe the best food for a cat is the one it eats and don't want to be judgmental about that, as a person making dosing suggestions, I'm going to be more conservative when there's dry food in the picture.
 
Last edited:
I read the Young Again vs TR condo and see "modified TR" in your signature block but the "modified TR" we follow in this group has a requisite of feeding only canned or raw LC food with no dry and I know Doodles does love that little dry snack! I am a purist when it comes to the whole debate on the linked condo and believe the thoughts given by @Jill & Alex (GA) and @Sienne and Gabby (GA) are reflective of my thoughts when I give suggestions.

So....that would have me giving you a dose suggestion based on SLGS and he's earned a reduction under that...actually a few times. And I see several cycles of inverted curves...a.m. Cycle of 1/21, p.m. Cycle of 1/22, today's a.m. Cycle. He's not having huge inverts..he's kinda flat but he is still having them. I know you probably don't want to hear this but, as a purist, I have to suggest you lower the dose. It's not that I don't think the TR protocol is a guideline and, once experienced, a CG can take what they know about their cat and apply it but it's very clear on the requisites. I don't think that's where we pick and choose what works for our kitty. I also just don't drink the kool aid from YA and believe that their zero carb food is zero carb. And while I do believe the best food for a cat is the one it eats and don't want to be judgmental about that, as a person making dosing suggestions, I'm going to be more conservative when there's dry food in the picture.
Thanks Marje for taking the time and I certainly respect your insight and recommendation based on the SLGS. With his eating challenges that change meal to meal I'm stuck somewhere in between. It is one reason I haven't increased him. On the other side, I do not see a benefit of reducing his dose and pushing him into higher numbers over the little bit of kibble he gets to sustain a decent caloric intake. This said I will ponder on your post and let it sink in a little more. He also has a vet visit on Monday and will see what she has to say. Enjoy the rest of your weekend!
 
Just before I stopped by Doodle's condo, I was visiting Trouble's. Trouble snuck a bit of try two days ago and it took that long for the dry to clear the system. I know you are having a devil of a time finding something good for Doodles that he will eat, but part of the reason for SLGS doing reductions sooner is that you never know whether the numbers include some dry influence. If the nadirs are fine with dry in the picture, they may not be if Doodles is having a wet food day. Anyway, just more to ponder.
 
having a devil of a time finding something good for Doodles that he will eat
Thanks Wendy. I actually bought 9Lives today (against my better judgment) to see if he prefers JUNK food like DH. Note taken about the variance in nadirs. Luckily I'm home with him 95% of the time and feel confident in keeping him safe. Always pondering...sigh
 
Thanks Marje for taking the time and I certainly respect your insight and recommendation based on the SLGS. With his eating challenges that change meal to meal I'm stuck somewhere in between. It is one reason I haven't increased him. On the other side, I do not see a benefit of reducing his dose and pushing him into higher numbers over the little bit of kibble he gets to sustain a decent caloric intake. This said I will ponder on your post and let it sink in a little more. He also has a vet visit on Monday and will see what she has to say. Enjoy the rest of your weekend!
I understand. it is ultimately your decision and a good idea to chitchat with the vet.
 
Karen...just an idea and you've probably tried it already but what about mixing some of his dry food in with the fancy feast and then gradually decreasing the dry food until he's just eating fancy feast.
I had a cat once that, believe it or not, got addicted to milk and was refusing to eat anything....she just wanted milk! She was on a low protein dry food at the time and to get her to eat it I had to soak it in milk:rolleyes:
 
Karen...just an idea and you've probably tried it already but what about mixing some of his dry food in with the fancy feast and then gradually decreasing the dry food until he's just eating fancy feast.
I had a cat once that, believe it or not, got addicted to milk and was refusing to eat anything....she just wanted milk! She was on a low protein dry food at the time and to get her to eat it I had to soak it in milk:rolleyes:

I've tried sprinkling a little ground YA on his food. Didn't work so well, even have tried putting whole pieces mixed in...same results. I appreciate the suggestions Judy.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top