1/24 Jasper +11 (+35) 322 amps 290 +1 329 +2 273 +11.5 292

Typically I shoot him while he's eating and test him immediately after. I can see now where that's wrong and was a part of my bad practice. The only thing that encouraged the change though was his excitement before meal time, he obviously didn't want to get poked when he's all hungry but was way easier after. Am I the only one that feeds and shoots at the same time?
 
Typically I shoot him while he's eating and test him immediately after. I can see now where that's wrong and was a part of my bad practice. The only thing that encouraged the change though was his excitement before meal time, he obviously didn't want to get poked when he's all hungry but was way easier after. Am I the only one that feeds and shoots at the same time?
You can feed and shoot at the same time but the pre shot test should come first. Some cats are very hungry then so you could try giving a teaspoon or so of food the take the edge off just before or while you test.
 
I like the unaided fall to 290 in one hour. I'm eyeballing for 100 calories of friskies.
0.5u as per marje

I didn't think about a little snack before, that might work
 
Aaron

Please be sure you are testing him for ketones. Cats that have had DKA once can be prone to it and your vets never figured out the source of his infection. We have seen cats in normal numbers with high ketones; it’s rare but don’t assume it can’t happen.

Just as a recap:
  • Please do not shoot without testing first; Kris’s idea to give a little morsel of food so you can test before you shoot is a good one.
  • Please do not shoot a number below 50; if his preshot is below 50, please do not feed him but post for help. The goal is to be able to get “some” insulin in him as long as he needs it so we stall, test every 20 minutes, and shoot (even a small token dose), on the rise over 50.
  • If he drops below 50, he needs a dose reduction of 0.25u. There are times when he might drop below 50 in back-to-back cycles due to the depot. In that case, we might not recommend you take another reduction (depends on how low he went) but please ask for help. If no one responds, in the situation of a potential back-to-back reduction, if I was unsure, I’d take the second reduction for safety. You can always go back up if need be.
I know you have worried about skipping and that’s good that you’ve been aware of that. But there are options, like stalling, when he’s below 50 at shot time that we can usually get some insulin in him as numbers rise. That’s where the members here can help you learn how to do that and keep him safe.
 
Last edited:
Just as a recap:
  • Please do not shoot without testing first; Kris’s idea to give a little morsel of food so you can test before you shoot is a good one.
  • Please do not shoot a number below 50; if his preshot is below 50, please do not feed him but post for help. The goal is to be able to get “some” insulin in him as long as he needs it so we stall, test every 20 minutes, and shoot (even a small token dose), on the rise over 50.
  • If he drops below 50, he needs a dose reduction of 0.25u. There are times when he might drop below 50 in back-to-back cycles due to the depot. In that case, we might not recommend you take another reduction (depends on how low he went) but please ask for help. If no one responds, in the situation of a potential back-to-back reduction, if I was unsure, I’d take the second reduction for safety. You can always go back up if need be.
I know you have worried about skipping and that’s good that you’ve been aware of that. But there are options, like stalling, when he’s below 50 at shot time that we can usually get some insulin in him as numbers rise. That’s where the members here can help you learn how to do that and keep him safe.
I can't reinforce Marje's comments strongly enough. It's looking like there were several occasions where Jasper's dose should have been reduced but wasn't. I would also like to encourage you to get some spot checks in whenever you can. Lantus dosing is based on the lowest point in the cycle. For most cats, the low point is somewhere around +6 (give or take). You may want to read through both the Start Low and Go Slow and Tight Regulation sticky notes. These are the two approaches we use for dosing. Picking one and using that as your guidebook for dosing is likely to be very helpful.
 
I'm going to be late guys, probably won't be back until just before pm. I'll let you know as soon as I do, but what are the current thoughts? If I don't hear back should I wait on the shot until I do?
 
The best thing to do is to get the test then we can suggest what to do next. I don't work tomorrow so I can stay up a little longer.
 
His depot “could” still be affected by the 2u but it’s been four cycles and two of those had skipped shots.

He’s definitely clearing a bounce and that will often result in lower numbers at preshot. Can you test him again since it’s been +20 minutes? Let’s see if he’s on the rise.
 
Ok that’s good.

Normally, I’d have suggested shooting the 63 with 0.5u if you were there to test.

Since you have to leave, and because I want to be cautious with him as we don’t yet know the best dose for him, I’m going to suggest you shoot 0.25u, feed him a good sized portion of HC food (no syrup or honey...just the food), test before you leave to see if he’s coming up.

Any chance you work close enough to home that you could come back and check him later?
 
I've asked if I can come in late. And no unfortunately, I work at the airport, shuttle services and the like are required. (Would be twice)
 
Back
Top