+2 = 338
Our first surgery today was for a dog who was getting 13 units of lantus twice daily and holy smokes, she staaaank and was going in for a dental. I hope the dental decreases the need for 13 units and even though, that's scary to think. I don't think they're doing home testing. The owners didn't strike me as people who would. Dog came in with with BG of around 120. Mid procedure, dog was 432. Vet instructed to give half dose of insulin if dog eats.
Well.. I can only hope they're doing some sort of home testing because once the dog's teeth heal, the diabetes will need less insulin. It's hard to see diabetic animals at work because I don't get to see the owners usually and I have to follow vet orders so... it sucks. Not that I can do any better but it's so nerve wracking hearing an animal gets 13 units!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! along with the thought that they probably don't home test!!!!! Yikes.