1/24 Ming PMPS = 410, +2 = 338

Is the SS correct & increase was 7.5u? Wondering why you didn't hold the 6.75 dose longer after Ming almost went lime green?
 
Oops I made two threads by mistake. I was typing fast during a break at work (5 surgeries today and I am POOPED)

On ferry so short answers. Increase, 8 cycles is enough to see what this dose can(n’t) do. I would do 0.5 unit changes, save 0.25 for doses that see green.

Ok I increased to 7.5 and hope Ming behaves tomorrow for two hours or so because my mom and I gotta go to an appointment

Is the SS correct & increase was 7.5u? Wondering why you didn't hold the 6.75 dose longer after Ming almost went lime green?

Yes I increased to 7.5 units tonight. I don’t see anywhere where he was close to lime green except a few weeks ago when he was probably breaking toxicity.
 
+2 = 338

Our first surgery today was for a dog who was getting 13 units of lantus twice daily and holy smokes, she staaaank and was going in for a dental. I hope the dental decreases the need for 13 units and even though, that's scary to think. I don't think they're doing home testing. The owners didn't strike me as people who would. Dog came in with with BG of around 120. Mid procedure, dog was 432. Vet instructed to give half dose of insulin if dog eats.

Well.. I can only hope they're doing some sort of home testing because once the dog's teeth heal, the diabetes will need less insulin. It's hard to see diabetic animals at work because I don't get to see the owners usually and I have to follow vet orders so... it sucks. Not that I can do any better but it's so nerve wracking hearing an animal gets 13 units!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! along with the thought that they probably don't home test!!!!! Yikes.
 
Big dog or little dog? I'm surprised a dog is getting Lantus instead of Caninsulin. We've had a few cats here on way more than 13 units. I can imagine it's hard not to say anything, you've learned a lot about diabetes this last year.
 
Big dog or little dog? I'm surprised a dog is getting Lantus instead of Caninsulin. We've had a few cats here on way more than 13 units. I can imagine it's hard not to say anything, you've learned a lot about diabetes this last year.

Medium dog? She was 10 kg. And yeah I was expecting her on something else as well - not lantus.
 
Back
Top