1/26 Ozzy AMPS 138, +1 124, +2 115, +3 101, +4 87, +10 281, PMPS 306, +2 164, +3 93, +4 83, +6 106

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ozzy Pawzbourne

Member Since 2016
Yesterday.

Ozzy is back in the low blues this morning which I am happy to see but it makes me nervouss since I have to leave the house all day. For my own piece of mind, I think I am going to give him a skinny .5U.

His vomiting situation has improved a lot and he has not vomited food in several days. However, last few mornings, he has thrown up a very small amount of liquid in the morning before I get up. It happens to coincide exactly when my alarm goes off (every time). I have been taking him to the feeder at 4 am every am and he eats. It's about 3 hours later when I get up. Is it possible to get acid tummy then? Is this psychological? It's driving me nuts!
 
Last edited:
Morning Jo and sweet Ozzy :bighug::). So glad to hear the puke report ;). I am like you, I still get up at 4AM and give Elmo a snack just to know he eats it . Getting better at falling back to sleep ;):cat:. Also checked out your back contraption on Amazon and have it in my cart on your recommendation .:rolleyes: Praying and believing for easy work day and a surfing Oz Man !!!! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
14 point drop in first hour. Geez... Hubby is going to get the +2. HOpe he surfs today. His bounce breaking cycles can be very active.
 
Hubby got a +2=115. So he's dropping a little. Hubby is actually home today so asked if he can also get in a +3 so we can really see where this cat is headed. I'm off for 3 days after today is over so I will have some time to monitor him for the next 7 cycles after the bounce.
 
Hubby got a +2=115. So he's dropping a little. Hubby is actually home today so asked if he can also get in a +3 so we can really see where this cat is headed. I'm off for 3 days after today is over so I will have some time to monitor him for the next 7 cycles after the bounce.
Yeah !!!!!!! You both are the best kitty parents !!!! :):bighug::):bighug::cat:
 
Morning Jo and sweet Ozzy :bighug::). So glad to hear the puke report ;). I am like you, I still get up at 4AM and give Elmo a snack just to know he eats it . Getting better at falling back to sleep ;):cat:. Also checked out your back contraption on Amazon and have it in my cart on your recommendation .:rolleyes: Praying and believing for easy work day and a surfing Oz Man !!!! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Beth,

Glad Elmos's doing OK. I have a back contraption similar to Jo's and it's a fantastic device. You'll like it.

FYI - I'm toying with trying Teasel on Lantus again. Lots of heeby-jeebies in my head but I know a lot more now than at his diagnosis a year ago. However, I don't think having the Lantus sitting in my fridge will work the same way for Teasel as it did for Elmo.
 
Hi Beth,

Glad Elmos's doing OK. I have a back contraption similar to Jo's and it's a fantastic device. You'll like it.

FYI - I'm toying with trying Teasel on Lantus again. Lots of heeby-jeebies in my head but I know a lot more now than at his diagnosis a year ago. However, I don't think having the Lantus sitting in my fridge will work the same way for Teasel as it did for Elmo.
Hi Kris !!! I'm like u, I love collecting data/info and then let it simmer for a while . I totally understand the mental heeby-jeebies...been experiencing them since official remission proclaimed . I know U will listen to ur gutt;), as u always encouraged me to do , and make the right choice for your boy !!!
 
Yay, Ozzy!!
yes, sometimes the morning acid vomits are from anticipation of brekkie. Your alarm acts like Pavlov's bell. This happens for me when BF leaves the house. Whether it is 4am or 6am, the cats now think that food is imminent and if I don't get up and give something, they may vomit. If he is out of town, they don't bother me until I get up.
 
yes, sometimes the morning acid vomits are from anticipation of brekkie. Your alarm acts like Pavlov's bell. This happens for me when BF leaves the house. Whether it is 4am or 6am, the cats now think that food is imminent and if I don't get up and give something, they may vomit. If he is out of town, they don't bother me until I get up.
Do you do anything about this? If so, what?
 
Do you do anything about this? If so, what?
Usually, i get up and feed something. I have been using the auto feeder and set it for the same time as his expected departure, but both cats don't always get to it. Some people give George's Aloe + Slippery Elm Bark powder before bed and report it helps with morning acid. Others give pepcid at night, but I am not a fan of this unless other things don't work.
 
PMPS=306. Did not expect to be back to pink tonight, that was kind of a suprise. Wonder if he dropped low after +4 today and is now bouncing or if that's a residual effect from his last bounce.

Trying to get a ketone test because Ozzy has had some higher numbers. I watered down his food good but he won't pee for me. Had to resort to locking him out of room with kitty box (so I don't miss it) and will try again soon.

I have to bring Ozzy's shot time back an hour by Monday so gave his shot 30 mins early tonight (and he was high so I guess ok).
 
Same here.

We started this but not the SEB.
Are your concerned with the acid tummy throw up under these circumstances? Should we be?
I would be. If he ate three hours before he vomited, it's not likely due to anticipation of food. There are a lot of reasons cats can have acid tummy but usually feeding helps absorb the excess acid. The SEB works as well.

Nice day today!!!
 
I haven't had a chance to get the SEB. Will try this weekend.

Ozzy is having his first checkup with a new vet tomorrow afternoon. Wonder what the vet is going to say about his use of lantus and TR.

@Marje and Gracie Ozzy's food vomiting has totally ceased these last couple days, now its just liquid when the am alarm goes off. We are still working at it! :confused: What do you think of his PMPS number? Think he went lower this afternoon and this is a new bounce, or he is still bouncing from his last low?

Ozzy and I have been having a litter box stand off for a ketone test for last hour. I'm not giving up though. He is still kicked out of the room with the litter box (though I have taken him to the box at least 5 xs). He has another snack coming in 45 mins and I am going to really water that one down and try for a test again. He had been in higher numbers last few days and I noticed an increased amount of urine in box today. If that doesn't work- I am going to bring out that pricey meter.
 
Last edited:
2.5 hours later, I finally won the litter box stand off but didn't get the strip good in the stream! Dang! Test looked in between trace and negative. Glad his numbers are starting to come down a bit and we will be watering down his food really good to help flush his system.
 
Ozzy is riding the coasters again!
About the morning acids, my two don't vomit too often, but a GA kitty did if I did not get up and feed, but he had kidney disease for his last years and this is common. My two now start gnawing at the sisal scratcher, carpet fuzz, my hair...so I know they have hunger pangs if not acid. I think that there are many reasons that this could occur. Ask the new vet's opinion, and if you get bloodwork, keep an eye on the kidney values, but don't panic, it could be just the hunger reflex. Tbh, with Taffy, especially, I have been trying to figure out his tummy issues for a few years now. I try all sorts of things.
So, if Ozzy finds and eats his snack in the feeder, so you still see him having issues? Are his poopies good?
 
So, if Ozzy finds and eats his snack in the feeder, so you still see him having issues? Are his poopies good
yes, he will eat his snack if he finds it but he is not super smart on it yet. His poopies have been going back and forth between soft/stinky and more normal looking. today was a good day for good poopies.
 
when he was in DKA, vet said his kidneys looked lumpy but said that could be from all the increased urination from the DM. will see what his next tests reveal.
 
I would try the SEB, and if that doesn't help, ask your vet if trying a quarter of a 10 mg tablet of Famotidine (Pepcid) at night is a good idea. I had to give Harvey half a tablet twice a day, but he had CKD. It really did help him.

So, Ozzy, trying the high dive tonight, eh? Little stinker! Joke's on you - Mama doesn't have to get up for work in the morning! :p
 
I have one friend in Central Cal who reports that for her cat, it was the combined SEB+aloe that helped the best. Each alone only gave her some improvement, but togethre she seemed to think it was a big help. I have yet to try this with Taffy, but historically the SEB does not help him or agree with him, but I am always game for trying again in a new way.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top