? 1/27 Caramel AMPS 398 , +11 : 351 always high ...?

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Mel & Caramel, Jan 27, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mel & Caramel

    Mel & Caramel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2018
    http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/1-26-caramel-amps-204.190199/#post-2118992


    Bonjour ,

    aujourd’hui je suis désespérer Caramel reste haut depuis hier dans la journée et il réclame réclame et mange la gamelle des autres .... depuis le changement de nourriture du coup caramel depuis 2 jours fait des cacas qui pue beaucoup et qui sont très très mou , les scelles ne sont plus moulé :nailbiting:

    TRADUCTION ANGLAIS :


    Hello ,

    today I am despairing Caramel remains high since yesterday in the day and he claims advertising and eats the bowl of others .... since the change of food caramel shot for 2 days makes cacas that stink a lot and are very very soft, the seals are no longer molded: nailbiting:
     
  2. Steph & Quintus & L & O

    Steph & Quintus & L & O Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2017
    Hey Mel, the stinky stools often happen when there is a brutal food change (that's why usually we do a gradual transition). It should get better as Caramel's digestive system adapts to the new food.

    I know it's hard seeing all these high numbers. Remember that the key to Lantus dosing is patience. Tonight will be Caramel's 7th cycle on 4ui. It seems like he has been pretty flat during the day. Not sure about last night, but maybe last night too.

    It is confusing because at times it looks to me as 4ui is going to be too high a dose, and other times, it seems too low.

    I am looking forward to hearing more experienced people on this and seeing what they advise. For the moment, if there is no other input, stick with the program and hold the dose. Courage!

    TR:

    Coucou Mel, les selles puantes se produisent souvent quand il y a un changement brutal de nourriture (c'est pourquoi habituellement nous faisons une transition graduelle). Il devrait aller mieux quand le système digestif de Caramel s'adaptera à la nouvelle nourriture.

    Je sais que c'est difficile de voir tous ces chiffres élevés. Rappelle-toi que la clé du dosage Lantus est la patience. Ce soir sera le 7ème cycle de Caramel avec 4ui. On dirait qu'il a été plutôt plat pendant la journée. Pas sûre de la nuit dernière, mais peut-être aussi la nuit dernière.

    C'est déroutant parce que, parfois, il me semble que 4ui va être une dose trop élevée, et d'autres fois, cela semble trop faible.

    J'ai hâte d'entendre des gens plus expérimentés à ce sujet et de voir ce qu'ils conseillent. Pour l'instant, s'il n'y a pas d'autre info, colle au programme et maintiens la dose. Courage!
     
  3. Steph & Quintus & L & O

    Steph & Quintus & L & O Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2017
    translation note: "claims" or "claiming" is how google translate translates the word we use for "asking for food". So what Mel is saying is that she's seeing the numbers stuck in the pinks and Caramel starving for food and trying to steal from the others, which he had stopped doing.
     
  4. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Hi Mel,

    It's great that you came here to seek advice about using Lantus. It can take a lot of time to find the best dose for Caramel. You must follow the dosing guidelines properly and try not to increase the dose or skip a dose. It's possible to give Lantus when the blood glucose is quite low but you might need help from experienced members to learn what to do. You can't rush in this process so you must be patient even when your cat is one who goes high and low easily.

    Good luck! You'll make progress if you use the Lantus rules. :)

    ________________________________________________________________________________________________

    En français:

    Salut Mel,

    C'est génial que tu es venu ici pour demander conseil sur l'utilisation de Lantus. Cela peut prendre beaucoup de temps pour trouver la meilleure dose de Caramel. Vous devez suivre les directives de dosage correctement et essayer de ne pas augmenter la dose ou sauter une dose. Il est possible de donner à Lantus quand la glycémie est assez faible, mais vous pourriez avoir besoin de l'aide de membres expérimentés pour apprendre quoi faire. Vous ne pouvez pas vous précipiter dans ce processus, vous devez donc être patient même si votre chat est quelqu'un qui va facilement et rapidement.

    Bonne chance! Vous progresserez si vous utilisez les règles de Lantus. :)
     
  5. Steph & Quintus & L & O

    Steph & Quintus & L & O Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2017
    Pour rebondir sur ce que dit @Kris & Teasel: c'est uniquement en suivant les "règles" qu'on pourra t'aider. En l'occurrence, tant que Caramel n'aurai pas passé assez de temps (d'après SLGS une semaine, donc 14 cycles) à une dose donnée, ici 4ui, on ne pourra pas vraiment dire si cette dose est trop haute ou trop basse ou juste. Chaque fois que tu "craques" et donne une plus grande dose, ça remet le compteur à zéro.

    Là, avec ce soir, ça te fait 8 cycles à 4ui, la plus longue série que tu aies tenu. Bravo!

    Les personnes plus expérimentées pourront peut-être dire que la dose peut être augmentée avant les 14 cycles, mais c'est quelque chose qui doit se discuter. Tu as vu, si tu regardes le bloc des derniers jours, qu'il est descendu deux fois dans le jaune. Donc c'est possible à 4ui. Si ça se trouve, cette nuit il va descendre -- on ne peut pas deviner. Aussi, comme la nuit il faut bien dormir, on a un "angle mort" dans le tableau, et on ne peut pas être certain de ce qui se passe au petit matin.

    Tenir la dose longtemps nous assure qu'elle est bien stabilisée et qu'on prend une décision (augmentation, diminution, maintien) qui est basée sur des valeurs justes, et pas juste sur des portions de rebonds, ou des données incomplètes.

    Là, comme c'est notre dose "de départ", c'est vraiment critique de savoir si elle est trop haute ou trop basse. Et comme tu commences à comprendre avec ces histoires de rebonds, une dose trop haute peut ressembler à une dose trop basse.

    Dans tous les cas, si la dose doit être augmentée ou diminuée, ce sera par paliers de 0.25ui. Donc soit Caramel passera à 4.25ui, s'il s'avère que la dose actuelle est trop faible, soit il passera à 3.75, s'il s'avère qu'elle est trop forte.

    Mais il est encore trop tôt pour dire: pas assez de cycles, surtout que cette série a été précédée par beaucoup de changements de dose, d'injections sautées, et aussi qu'il vient de changer de nourriture et que celle-ci le détraque un peu, donc il faut aussi lui donner le temps de digérer (!) ça.

    C'est là que la méthode requiert de serrer les dents. En tous cas, c'est tout ce que je peux te conseiller à ce stade. Pour moi, ce serait prématuré de "lire" quelque chose dans les chiffres actuels. J'entends bien qu'ils sont hauts et que les signes cliniques que tu vois le confirme. Mais vu comment fonctionne Lantus, ils ne sont pas forcément hauts parce que la dose est trop faible. Ils peuvent être hauts parce qu'on a pas encore tenu la dose assez longtemps.

    Tiens bon et continue de venir donner ici des nouvelles. Si tu arrives à ajouter un commentaire avant de te coucher avec les valeurs de ce soir, ce serait cool!

    _______________________________________________________________________________________________
    EN:
    To bounce on what @Kris & Teasel says: it is only by following the "rules" that we can help you. In this case, as long as Caramel has not spent enough time (according to SLGS a week, so 14 cycles) at a given dose, here we can not really say if this dose is too high or too much low or good. Every time you "crack" and give a bigger dose, it puts the counter back to zero.

    There, with tonight, you have 8 cycles at 4ui, the longest series that you have held. Bravo!

    More experienced people may be able to say that the dose can be increased before 14 cycles, but this is something that needs to be discussed. You saw, if you look at the block of the last days, that he went down twice in the yellow. So it's possible. If it is, this night it will come down - we can not guess. Also, as we need to sleep during the night, we have a "blind spot" in the table, and we can not be sure of what happens in the early morning.

    Holding the dose for a long time ensures that it is well stabilized and that we make a decision (increase, decrease, maintain) that is based on correct values, and not just on portions of rebounds, or incomplete data.

    Here, as it is our dose of "departure", it is really critical to know if it is too high or too low. And as you begin to understand with these bouncing stories, too high a dose may look like a low dose.

    In any case, if the dose is to be increased or decreased, it will be in 0.25 increments. So either Caramel will go to 4.25, if it turns out that the current dose is too low, or it will decrease to 3.75, if it turns out that it is too strong.

    But it is still too early to say: not enough cycles, especially since this series was preceded by a lot of changes in dose, injections skipped, and also that he has just changed food and that it derails him a little, so we must also give him time to digest (!) that.

    This is where the method requires to grit your teeth. In any case, that's all I can advise you at this point. For me, it would be premature to "read" something in the current figures. I understand that they are high and that the clinical signs that you see confirm it. But considering how Lantus works, they are not necessarily high because the dose is too low. They can be high because we have not held the dose yet long enough.

    Hold on and keep coming here to give news. If you manage to add a comment before going to bed with the values of tonight, it would be cool!
     
  6. Steph & Quintus & L & O

    Steph & Quintus & L & O Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2017
    Mel, ça m'inquiète de ne rien voir dans le tableau depuis que tu as posté ici. STP donne-nous des nouvelles quand tu peux. J'espère que tu vas bien, et Caramel aussi.

    ---
    Mel, I'm worried there is nothing new in Caramel's SS since you posted here. Please give us news when you can. I hope you are OK and Caramel too.
     
    Kris & Teasel likes this.
  7. Stacy & Asia

    Stacy & Asia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2017
    Good luck with the increase, I hope the numbers start to come down soon. You will get there, we are here to support you. How is Caramel feeling? :bighug:

    —————

    Bonne chance avec l'augmentation, j'espère que les chiffres commenceront bientôt à baisser. Vous allez y arriver, nous sommes là pour vous soutenir. Comment se sent Caramel? :bighug:
     
  8. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    How did y'all get the translation to French?
     
  9. Stacy & Asia

    Stacy & Asia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2017
    Google translate, copy and paste
     
  10. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    okay, how do I get Google Translate? :rolleyes: Be patient with me; I am very tech crippled.
     
    Stacy & Asia likes this.
  11. Stacy & Asia

    Stacy & Asia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2017
    Just type what you would in English, copy it go here and paste English on the left, select French as the language to translate, then copy and paste the French translation back in the condo:

    https://translate.google.com/m/translate

    -------

    Désolé de reprendre votre conversation Mel, d'autres membres veulent savoir comment traduire en français
     
  12. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Merci! ( I knew that LOL)
     
    Stacy & Asia likes this.
  13. Steph & Quintus & L & O

    Steph & Quintus & L & O Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2017
    More people comfy with Google Translate, more people to drop in the bilingual condos!

    Plus il y a de monde confortable avec Google Translate, plus ça fera de monde pour prendre part aux discussions bilingues!
     
    Stacy & Asia likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page