1/27 Luci AMPS 264

upload_2020-1-27_10-23-17.jpeg
Just curious,did you get a Flu shot recently?
 

Attachments

  • upload_2020-1-27_10-23-17.jpeg
    upload_2020-1-27_10-23-17.jpeg
    11.1 KB · Views: 119
Sunday

I was very sick yesterday. Had to reduce Luci's dose because I cannot get up and test her.

Hope to be better today.
Hi Sue, so sorry to hear about you not feeling well. You need some rest maybe, and maybe seeing a doctor if you do not seem to get any better in a day or two?
I would like to ask you something about the TR protocol. It says there that when you follow TR, you need to calculate the dose versus the ideal weight of the cat. Not sure how you can find out that (my vets never answered that question for me). The other thing that I do not understand is this: does the calculation refer to entire dose of insulin administered BID or to just 1 shot of insulin. If your cat's ideal weight is 5 kg, then the dose would be 1.25. Is this the dose for one shot? Just asking...
 
Hi Sue, so sorry to hear about you not feeling well. You need some rest maybe, and maybe seeing a doctor if you do not seem to get any better in a day or two?
I would like to ask you something about the TR protocol. It says there that when you follow TR, you need to calculate the dose versus the ideal weight of the cat. Not sure how you can find out that (my vets never answered that question for me). The other thing that I do not understand is this: does the calculation refer to entire dose of insulin administered BID or to just 1 shot of insulin. If your cat's ideal weight is 5 kg, then the dose would be 1.25. Is this the dose for one shot? Just asking...

I believe that's referring to the initial dose - and the dose they refer to is 'one dose' two times a day...

I didn't dwell on that much when we were getting started. The vet basically told me since Luci weighed about 8 pounds when he prescribed Lantus to give her '2 units a day' - not a word about home testing, nor any information about spacing the shots 12 hours apart. I picked up the prescription and went home and gave Luci 2 units - this was at 1 o'clock in the afternoon. When I did test her later she was at 137 - I had been reading some on the forum and learning to home test.

I didn't realize that basically all vets tell all pet owners to go home and give their pets 2 units - which was too much for an initial dose for Luci. So after getting some advice/recommendations went back to .5 unit at a 'normal' time of day when I could give another dose 12 hours later...and it's history after that.

The things to remember about TR is that you can increase every 6 cycles rather than 14 cycles on SLGS - I also believe you need to test fairly often - every 2-3 hours and get a curve weekly so you can determine when the lowest reading happens - the nadir. Luci's nadir is rarely the same time of day/night...so I just test as often as I can and try to determine which trajectory she's on (falling or rising) and then test accordingly...more tests if she's falling - so I can respond with medium carb food and increase my testing frequency until she passes her lowest point - then watch her rise throughout the latter part of the cycle - which she typically does. All cats are different so it takes time to determine when they hit their nadirs...and on some days, well, she just doesn't do a thing.

I hope this is helpful...sorry for the delay but I've been sick and not on the computer very much.
 
Back
Top