Jessica & Conan
Member Since 2016
Hi everyone,
I am new to these boards, just introduced myself earlier tonight. At the suggestion of another member, I'm posting this in the Lantus forum because it really is a Lantus dosing question - I don't have questions about diet or how to test or that sort of thing. But if mods or others believe it belongs in general Health, please move it there - I am new and am not quite sure of the protocol, so if I'm doing something wrong please let me know.
Since this is the Lantus forum, I'm not sure how much background to offer, but since I'm new I'll give a bit. My 10-year-old, Conan, has been on daily prednisolone since September 2013 (for both inflammatory bowel disease and nasopharyngeal stenosis, each of which separately is treated with the steroid), and finally succumbed to a diabetes diagnosis in mid January. After much discussion with my vet, who is excellent, we've decided that his conditions are so well managed with the steroid that taking him off it is not a good option at this time.
My vet prescribed a starting dose of 1 unit of Lantus twice a day. (Conan's ideal weight is probably 10 lbs or a bit less; he went from 9.5 to 8.3 from mid Dec. to mid Jan and is now at about 8.7.). I have now been doing this for a little over two weeks. She also set me up with an AlphaTrak 2 (so just to flag, my BG readings will reflect this and not necessarily be the same as a human meter), and since about day 3 of the Lantus, I've been doing BG curves every few days and spot checks on the other days. All these are recorded in my spreadsheet, linked below - it's slightly modified with a few extra columns to allow me to better record his eating and to reflect some of my unique circumstances, but otherwise the same as the appropriate US pet-meter template.
Other possibly important fact to note: Conan is (and has been for years, along with all my other cats) on a homemade raw diet, which includes no grains or vegetables (only a vitamin-mineral supplement). He is (still) eating *much* more than he used to need to maintain his weight and is still voracious, and drinking far more than my other (three) cats.
So with that said, here are a few of my issues/questions. The main one - which is about increasing the dose - is last, because I need to first mention two issues that bear on it:
- My schedule absolutely requires, with no options, that on 3 days of the week (M, W, F), my cats get their breakfast at 5 am, while on the remaining days, they get their breakfast at 7:30-8 am. This means that a firm 12-hour insulin dosing schedule simply is not a possibility for Conan. This is not something that can be changed at all in any way - it's simply the way it is, and I have to find a way to work around it. Conan's spreadsheet reflects this - I added columns for "+12", "+13", etc., and I also inserted a column called "Hrs" which shows the actual hours between AM and PM insulin doses (I didn't bother to put one for hours between PM and AM). You can also see just by looking at the time columns - time for AM dose/meal and time for PM dose/meal.
What I have been attempting to do is: on M, W, F, breakfast at 5 am and dinner at 6:30 pm; then the next morning, breakfast at 7:30-8 am, dinner at around 6:30-7 pm; then the next morning breakfast again at 5:00 am. So the schedule is never more than 1.5-2 hours off of 12 hours. So my dosing interval is ranging from 11 to 13 hours most days; it's almost never 12.
I have not varied the 1 unit dose on these days. So far it doesn't seem to have caused great variation in BG levels when I compare the 14-10 hour days to the 12-12 ones - all of them are all over the map at this point, but there's no pattern to it. But I'd welcome advice for how to deal with this, because I'm going to have to find a way.
- Related to this: on the days that they have early breakfast, my previous habit had been to give all the cats a small lunch. I have continued this. On other days they get two meals, but on 5am breakfast days they get three meals, the middle one a bit smaller (recently, much smaller for Conan, since I want to give him his insulin with his larger meals). This has actually appeared to help Conan's BG levels - they seem to actually go down after the "lunch" meal - but I'd be interested in input as to whether this is an issue, to have different number of meals on different days. Mid-dosing meals are marked on my spreadsheet.
- Finally, and what is really my main concern: adjusting Conan's dosing to better regulate his BG. The spreadsheet, as well as Conan's still-voracious appetite and drinking, suggest strongly to me that his BG is not controlled right now and that the dose needs to be increased, but I'm not confident that I'm reading it correctly or that I know what I'm doing, because really, the numbers are all over the place.
There was one day on which his BG levels all stayed in the mid-100s, and even dipped down to 90, but that day seems to have been a complete anomaly. I have no idea what happened. I wonder whether it could be attributed to inaccurate markings on my BD syringes that resulted in overdosing (I am switching to BD syringes with half-unit markings, with which I can use calipers or the BD ruler, but I haven't received them yet)? Or does this just sometimes happen? And if it does, how do you deal with it in determining dosing?
I have no other explanation for that single low day, or for the occasional low numbers randomly scattered throughout (by which I mean in the 150 range - which is my goal, isn't it?).
There are also a few very high numbers, and some days that overall seem quite high, and it's possible that there might have been some days in which I didn't get the entire dose into him or did a "fur shot" - he's a good patient, and I'm pretty experienced with sticking needles into animals, but it's too easy to go all the way through, and I don't always use the same location.)
But overall, even setting the anomalies aside, it looks to me like far too many of his numbers are in the 300s and 400s. I understand that Lantus takes a while to "even out," even a month or more, and that it's not abnormal for his numbers to be a bit all over the place during that time - but still it seems to me that this has been a long enough time to suggest that the dose is too low to regulate him sufficiently and that maybe I should consider increasing the dose to 1.25 U?
I should mention that I am not necessarily trying to adhere to any particular protocol. I don't believe remission is an option for him given the necessity for ongoing steroid use. I am not reliably around every day at hours 4-7 (which seem to be the "nadir" when there is one) to be alert for hypo, though I'm prepared to deal with it. I have the means and ability to do the tight regulation protocol, but I don't really want to push that hard.
So - does anyone with experience have any thoughts or advice about any of these things? I've passed the initial stages of getting accustomed to the routine, and now I'm kind of floundering about how to proceed. My vet is excellent, but there's so much specialized knowledge and experience here... Plus of course support.
Thank you..
Jessica & Conan
I am new to these boards, just introduced myself earlier tonight. At the suggestion of another member, I'm posting this in the Lantus forum because it really is a Lantus dosing question - I don't have questions about diet or how to test or that sort of thing. But if mods or others believe it belongs in general Health, please move it there - I am new and am not quite sure of the protocol, so if I'm doing something wrong please let me know.
Since this is the Lantus forum, I'm not sure how much background to offer, but since I'm new I'll give a bit. My 10-year-old, Conan, has been on daily prednisolone since September 2013 (for both inflammatory bowel disease and nasopharyngeal stenosis, each of which separately is treated with the steroid), and finally succumbed to a diabetes diagnosis in mid January. After much discussion with my vet, who is excellent, we've decided that his conditions are so well managed with the steroid that taking him off it is not a good option at this time.
My vet prescribed a starting dose of 1 unit of Lantus twice a day. (Conan's ideal weight is probably 10 lbs or a bit less; he went from 9.5 to 8.3 from mid Dec. to mid Jan and is now at about 8.7.). I have now been doing this for a little over two weeks. She also set me up with an AlphaTrak 2 (so just to flag, my BG readings will reflect this and not necessarily be the same as a human meter), and since about day 3 of the Lantus, I've been doing BG curves every few days and spot checks on the other days. All these are recorded in my spreadsheet, linked below - it's slightly modified with a few extra columns to allow me to better record his eating and to reflect some of my unique circumstances, but otherwise the same as the appropriate US pet-meter template.
Other possibly important fact to note: Conan is (and has been for years, along with all my other cats) on a homemade raw diet, which includes no grains or vegetables (only a vitamin-mineral supplement). He is (still) eating *much* more than he used to need to maintain his weight and is still voracious, and drinking far more than my other (three) cats.
So with that said, here are a few of my issues/questions. The main one - which is about increasing the dose - is last, because I need to first mention two issues that bear on it:
- My schedule absolutely requires, with no options, that on 3 days of the week (M, W, F), my cats get their breakfast at 5 am, while on the remaining days, they get their breakfast at 7:30-8 am. This means that a firm 12-hour insulin dosing schedule simply is not a possibility for Conan. This is not something that can be changed at all in any way - it's simply the way it is, and I have to find a way to work around it. Conan's spreadsheet reflects this - I added columns for "+12", "+13", etc., and I also inserted a column called "Hrs" which shows the actual hours between AM and PM insulin doses (I didn't bother to put one for hours between PM and AM). You can also see just by looking at the time columns - time for AM dose/meal and time for PM dose/meal.
What I have been attempting to do is: on M, W, F, breakfast at 5 am and dinner at 6:30 pm; then the next morning, breakfast at 7:30-8 am, dinner at around 6:30-7 pm; then the next morning breakfast again at 5:00 am. So the schedule is never more than 1.5-2 hours off of 12 hours. So my dosing interval is ranging from 11 to 13 hours most days; it's almost never 12.
I have not varied the 1 unit dose on these days. So far it doesn't seem to have caused great variation in BG levels when I compare the 14-10 hour days to the 12-12 ones - all of them are all over the map at this point, but there's no pattern to it. But I'd welcome advice for how to deal with this, because I'm going to have to find a way.
- Related to this: on the days that they have early breakfast, my previous habit had been to give all the cats a small lunch. I have continued this. On other days they get two meals, but on 5am breakfast days they get three meals, the middle one a bit smaller (recently, much smaller for Conan, since I want to give him his insulin with his larger meals). This has actually appeared to help Conan's BG levels - they seem to actually go down after the "lunch" meal - but I'd be interested in input as to whether this is an issue, to have different number of meals on different days. Mid-dosing meals are marked on my spreadsheet.
- Finally, and what is really my main concern: adjusting Conan's dosing to better regulate his BG. The spreadsheet, as well as Conan's still-voracious appetite and drinking, suggest strongly to me that his BG is not controlled right now and that the dose needs to be increased, but I'm not confident that I'm reading it correctly or that I know what I'm doing, because really, the numbers are all over the place.
There was one day on which his BG levels all stayed in the mid-100s, and even dipped down to 90, but that day seems to have been a complete anomaly. I have no idea what happened. I wonder whether it could be attributed to inaccurate markings on my BD syringes that resulted in overdosing (I am switching to BD syringes with half-unit markings, with which I can use calipers or the BD ruler, but I haven't received them yet)? Or does this just sometimes happen? And if it does, how do you deal with it in determining dosing?
I have no other explanation for that single low day, or for the occasional low numbers randomly scattered throughout (by which I mean in the 150 range - which is my goal, isn't it?).
There are also a few very high numbers, and some days that overall seem quite high, and it's possible that there might have been some days in which I didn't get the entire dose into him or did a "fur shot" - he's a good patient, and I'm pretty experienced with sticking needles into animals, but it's too easy to go all the way through, and I don't always use the same location.)
But overall, even setting the anomalies aside, it looks to me like far too many of his numbers are in the 300s and 400s. I understand that Lantus takes a while to "even out," even a month or more, and that it's not abnormal for his numbers to be a bit all over the place during that time - but still it seems to me that this has been a long enough time to suggest that the dose is too low to regulate him sufficiently and that maybe I should consider increasing the dose to 1.25 U?
I should mention that I am not necessarily trying to adhere to any particular protocol. I don't believe remission is an option for him given the necessity for ongoing steroid use. I am not reliably around every day at hours 4-7 (which seem to be the "nadir" when there is one) to be alert for hypo, though I'm prepared to deal with it. I have the means and ability to do the tight regulation protocol, but I don't really want to push that hard.
So - does anyone with experience have any thoughts or advice about any of these things? I've passed the initial stages of getting accustomed to the routine, and now I'm kind of floundering about how to proceed. My vet is excellent, but there's so much specialized knowledge and experience here... Plus of course support.
Thank you..
Jessica & Conan