1/29 MAX AMPS 282+2/314+6/131PMPS 144+2 /215+4.5/182

Status
Not open for further replies.

tiffmaxee

Member Since 2013
YESTERDAY'S CONDO:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...ice-pmbg-256-3-182-5-211.132197/#post-1361494

Max kept away from me all night and was clearly not a happy camper. This morning he announced that he used his box so I got up then to tfs. He ate his baby food after his gel cap and bupe. Then he came in to see me while I was getting his insulin ready and was back to purring. He stayed until I started typing and enjoyed a little combing. He just left so I'll see soon if he will eat his cat food. I wonder how long it will take for his BG to come back down after the skipped shot and reduced one last night.

The mom dilemma is worse. Her doctor said that the antibiotic should have worked and the only others are all IV. Hopefully she will go see him today to make sure nothing else is going on to cause her behavior. Keep a good thought for her. Thanks.

Prayers and vines to all others in need today.
 
Nice recovery from the dental, Max. Sweet, too, about the brushing.

No clue on the bg questions. I know it can take Polly six cycles to stop wobbling those numbers around after one of my infamous fur shots.

Hope all continues to go well for Max. Huge hugs, vines, prayers, light...everything I can think of to throw your way for your mom. And you, Elise.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Hi Elise,
It will probably take a few more cycles for Max to get back on track. As long as he is eating, purring, enjoying his combing, I think he will do just fine.
I hope your mom will improve today. Sending vines for her.

:bighug::bighug::bighug:

Ella & Rusty
 
I, too, don't have any idea how long it'll take him to come back down. ECID, unfortunately. All you can do is do what you're doing, and if he doesn't come back down after about 3 days or so, then up he goes. It may be what his pancreas needs to get kickstarted again, I don't know. Good luck, and I've my fingers crossed, and Blackie has her paws crossed that his PS #s come down very quickly without the need for more insuline.:bighug:
 
Thanks Ella and Angela for visiting. He has a bit of a food spike but he didn't eat that much yet. I added a little fd powder on top of his ff and I think he is eating a little now. I'm in no rush to change anything. Just curious.
 
More healing vines today for Max. Hopefully he eats well and then starts getting some lower numbers soon..hopefully within a few more cycles. Well wishes for your mom too..how frustrating it must be to sit by and not see results:(
 
I think Max will readjust his numbers soon. It sounds like his behavior is moving back to normal, so I think that means he is feeling somewhat better. Remember, this was a big shock to his system, and you know how cats are about change! It's good you're prepared to wait it out. No need to stress, especially when he's coming to you for loving and purring! :cat:

Sending tons more healing vines and prayers for your DM. I hope you will be able to convince her to see the doctor soon.
 
Thanks Laura, Tricia, and Amy. He's coming down to blue now so that is good. He didn't touch the food while I was out. He must have stayed under the bed the whole 2 hours. I wonder if he is getting enough bupe. He was awake when I dragged him out to test. He did eat a couple pieces of fd and is attempting to eat now. If he doesn't I think I will try 2ml of bupe tonight of later this afternoon. What do you think? When he had pancreatitis it said to give 3-4ml and this time just one. I never gave more than 2.
 
It's good to hear you got some purring from Mr. Max today. I always give Neko 6 cycles after a fur shot/mix/reduced dose to evaluate how she's doing. Sometimes it takes less, but I know for sure by 6.

Neko gets a BID dose of .22 of bupe, and she's a little lighter than Max. Bupe is usually dosed by wieght. But it also depends on the concentration of the bupe. Neko's is .3mg/ml.

Tons of vines to your mom. She's gotta get a break soon.
 
Last edited:
It's good to hear you got some purring from Mr. Max today. I always give Neko 6 cycles after a fur shot/mix/reduced dose to evaluate how she's doing. Sometimes it takes less, but I know for sure by 6.

Neko gets a BID dose of .22 of bupe, and she's a little lighter than Max. Bupe is usually dosed by wieght. But it also depends on the concentration of the bupe. Neko's is .3mg/ml.
Max's bupe is the same concentration. I thought this was too little. How many days did you give it to Neko after the extraction?
 
Bupe is usually given in a range based on weight. You kind of have to go by whether you think he's still in some pain. If .2 has worked before for Max (not to loopy) then try it again.

Neko is permanently on bupe for her arthritis.
 
He was back under the bed after sleeping in his bed. He was awake and is not eating well so I gave him another 1 ml bupe.
 
I think that was a good choice Elise. They hide the pain so well, and you want to stay on top with managing it, instead of trying to catch up if it wears off. I think I read that the more you give the longer the duration, but doesnt affect the strength..so if you give a larger dose it just last longer, and if you giver smaller dose you can give it more often. I have also read that after a dental with extractions, that its quite normal to be on pain meds for 3 days. But Im just going by what Ive seen on here, because personally I heve never had to use it(anti jinx).
 
I think that was a good choice Elise. They hide the pain so well, and you want to stay on top with managing it, instead of trying to catch up if it wears off. I think I read that the more you give the longer the duration, but doesnt affect the strength..so if you give a larger dose it just last longer, and if you giver smaller dose you can give it more often. I have also read that after a dental with extractions, that its quite normal to be on pain meds for 3 days. But Im just going by what Ive seen on here, because personally I heve never had to use it(anti jinx).
Lucky you and i hope you never do need to use it. I was given 8ml total but I have some old stuff stored in a dark place that I will try if necessary. I've already been told it might weaken but is safe.
 
Nice slide for Max today. It sounds like he's starting to feel better. It is so tricky to tell if a cat is in pain. I think I gave MC bupe for 5 days after she had 10 teeth removed just to be on the safe side. I believe it was .1 ml because what they told me to give her (.3 ml) made her loopy.

Sending prayers for your mom.
 
It looks like Max is sliding down today, I hope his mouth feels better and he can start to eat better tonight. I would think the bupe will help with that, poor baby! Sending tons more healing vines and prayers for your mom as well! :bighug::bighug:
 
Thanks, Ruth and Carla. I gave him another 1m bupe and he ate a little cat food. I think I will give him 2ml tonight too. Just talked to my mom. She refused to see the doctor again today.:(
 
It's so good to see Max's appy is better and that PMPS is certainly better!!

Hope tomorrow is an even better day and Max really starts to feel better!

Sorry about your mom....they sure can be stubborn!
 
Thanks, Chris and Wendy. Looks like Max isn't quite back to his old numbers. He's getting a pretty big food spike though.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top