Tina & Sammy
Member Since 2010
Hi Everyone,
Yesterday and last night were really hard. I didn't sleep much because each time I got up to test and was discouraged by the number I wished I had gone ahead and increased the dose. But then I would think I would be stressing more if I was off at work and worried that she might go to low. It really is a difficult decision.
She did rise up after her shot last night but that is to be expected because she did eat. At +6 PMPS last night she was at 407. I was highly hopeful that she would drop into the 300's so when I was still up at +7.5 I tested again and was disappointed. I have been leaving food out until about +9 so she could have eaten any time during that time.
I have a new plan for today. So far I have been feeding her 7% and 5% food. Today I am going to try 4% and 5% for the morning and 0% for between +6 and +9, pulling all food at +9. I am hoping this will help to keep her stable after +6. I have no idea if this will play a part. I am going to stick to the .5 unit for now, but I am going to see if I can take tomorrow afternoon off work so that I can be home to monitor in the afternoon if I decide to increase the dose tonight. I am still in limbo as to whether I should increase to 1 or .75. I know that based on her trend she has earned the 1 unit, and I would probably be okay with that when I am going to be home all weekend and can test and provide MC or HC food. If need be I can always drop down to .75 on Monday if she is trending low this weekend.
Again, I want to thank everyone so much for their support. I know I have been through this before and I should be like riding a bike. Well, testing and giving shots really is like riding a bike, but the roller coaster of emotions not so much.
Hopefully we will see some better numbers to day to bring up my spirits.
Yesterday's Condo
Yesterday and last night were really hard. I didn't sleep much because each time I got up to test and was discouraged by the number I wished I had gone ahead and increased the dose. But then I would think I would be stressing more if I was off at work and worried that she might go to low. It really is a difficult decision.
She did rise up after her shot last night but that is to be expected because she did eat. At +6 PMPS last night she was at 407. I was highly hopeful that she would drop into the 300's so when I was still up at +7.5 I tested again and was disappointed. I have been leaving food out until about +9 so she could have eaten any time during that time.
I have a new plan for today. So far I have been feeding her 7% and 5% food. Today I am going to try 4% and 5% for the morning and 0% for between +6 and +9, pulling all food at +9. I am hoping this will help to keep her stable after +6. I have no idea if this will play a part. I am going to stick to the .5 unit for now, but I am going to see if I can take tomorrow afternoon off work so that I can be home to monitor in the afternoon if I decide to increase the dose tonight. I am still in limbo as to whether I should increase to 1 or .75. I know that based on her trend she has earned the 1 unit, and I would probably be okay with that when I am going to be home all weekend and can test and provide MC or HC food. If need be I can always drop down to .75 on Monday if she is trending low this weekend.
Again, I want to thank everyone so much for their support. I know I have been through this before and I should be like riding a bike. Well, testing and giving shots really is like riding a bike, but the roller coaster of emotions not so much.
Hopefully we will see some better numbers to day to bring up my spirits.
Yesterday's Condo
Last edited:
One thing that really helped me was to learn when I needed to test, and when I didn't. As long as Sami is still in higher numbers at preshot, and if her +2 is higher than her preshot, you can take a break the rest of the cycle. Get a mid cycle test if you are around, but it's not necessary. Getting enough sleep and taking care of yourself so you can take care of Sami is very important. Make sure you do some things for Tina. Whether it's yoga, exercise, house work, going out for a walk, or whatever.