1/29 Scratches AMPS 193 +1 233

Scratches123

Member Since 2019
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/stalling-pmps-67-update-now-55.224907/

Good morning. We switched over to the Relion Prime this morning. It will be easier getting dosing advice since most every one uses human meters. And since Scratches has been doing so well and earning reductions, i'm needing more and more dosing advice. I hope I did this right because I kind of got everyone's wires crossed last night and got a couple different opinions on how much insulin to give since she earned another reduction on the AT. She was getting .25. This am I think I gave her .10, I will post a picture of what I shot in the replys. Chris sent it to me and then I checked out the "fine dosing" in the stickies and found it myself and that's what I ended up shooting. (I think she still earned the reduction even though I skipped the shot last night? I wasn't going to give the full .25 without asking because i'm sure she still earned that reduction, again sorry if this is a terribly dumb question)

I had a very stressful evening last night with deciding whether or not to shoot, and I'm sort of kicking myself now for not shooting the .10 because her sugar was quite high this am, but I did what I felt was best last night and skipped. I stalled for an hour and test her three different times, all twenty minutes apart, and basically she was not rising at all and I couldn't stall any longer because of my work schedule this am (and she was STARVING). I wouldn't have been able to shoot this morning 12 hours after last nights shot because I would have been at work :( 6am comes really early. So anyway, I acted last night as I gave a fur shot and continued on with my evening, I couldn't stress over it any longer. I'm sure she was tired of all the pricks :D (Also, I added all the retest numbers in the comments on the SS. One reading was as low as 55!)

Since i'm not too good with numbers, this morning I took two different readings, one on the AT and one on the Relion Prime, just to compare the two since i'm so used to going off the AT numbers, and for some reason the numbers are very similar so far. Idk if that has to do with the strips I used with the AT, I used the PetSure brand strips (made for AT use), and they seem to be very close with the Relion Prime but I don't have that much data for comparison. I'll only test the two different meters for a day or so (maybe a bit longer) until i'm used to the RelionPrme. Figured it couldn't hurt anything.

Any thoughts or comments on anything I did/should have done last night will be helpful. She earned this .1 dose reduction so soon after earning her .25 that I was not prepared at all, so I take this as a learning experience to expect the unexpected and be more prepared.
 
This is what I shot this am per all the advice and my own research last night.
 

Attachments

  • FB_IMG_1580252993751.jpg
    FB_IMG_1580252993751.jpg
    7.5 KB · Views: 44
Good morning! Scratches did earn a reduction to .1 even though it was soon after her reduction to .25. You did fine skipping last night - safety first. When possible, it's a good idea to try and keep kitties from sliding down the dosing scale too fast, so the reductions hold, plus it gives more time for the pancreas to have a little assistance from exogenous insulin. It caught you off guard - don't blame yourself. This is a long learning experience. I have reviewed Tina's spreadsheet and learned a lot after the fact, that I might have done better during our 5+ months of insulin dosing. But we still got her off insulin.

I also switched from the AT to a human meter, and it did help us get on the same page as others. Great move on your part. I found a significant difference in numbers. When you have lower numbers, the AT and human meters should, or are supposed to be closer. It's been said here a lot to not drive yourself nuts with the different meters - stick to one. Funny, I've wanted to test with the AT out of curiosity, when Tina gets her fifty something on our human meter . . . but I keep forgetting! BTW,:) I just love the names Scratches:smuggrin:
 
When possible, it's a good idea to try and keep kitties from sliding down the dosing scale too fast, so the reductions hold
Can you further explain this? It's just a little confusing to me. I post her numbers here everyday and I would never change her dose without consulting everyone here first so i'm just going on what everyone tells me to do. I guess i'm a real slow learner for some reason haha ;)
 
Can you further explain this? It's just a little confusing to me. I post her numbers here everyday and I would never change her dose without consulting everyone here first so i'm just going on what everyone tells me to do. I guess i'm a real slow learner for some reason haha ;)

I'm glad you looked at Tina's SS - Scratches is hurrying her little self which makes some worry about her holding reductions; some cats can go fast with success though, but what Tina did (get used to greens) helped give me confidence her pancreas was healing and might do great without insulin. Does that make sense?
Don't knock yourself for not understanding everything, or even much or a lot . . . my goodness this isn't easy. I've been a T1 diabetic for 40 years, which did help me understand the disease in general, easier than many. But I truly needed the help and guidance here - I was flying by intuition alone the first few weeks, because the vet and his assistant were making me very uncomfortable with the lack of more precise direction. I personally knew how dangerous a hypo could be and they just didn't worry about it enough for my liking!

I also keep rereading those stickies. I hope you have a great day, don't worry, and give Scratches a big kiss!!!
 
I'm glad you looked at Tina's SS - Scratches is hurrying her little self which makes some worry about her holding reductions; some cats can go fast with success though, but what Tina did (get used to greens) helped give me confidence her pancreas was healing and might do great without insulin. Does that make sense?
Don't knock yourself for not understanding everything, or even much or a lot . . . my goodness this isn't easy. I've been a T1 diabetic for 40 years, which did help me understand the disease in general, easier than many. But I truly needed the help and guidance here - I was flying by intuition alone the first few weeks, because the vet and his assistant were making me very uncomfortable with the lack of more precise direction. I personally knew how dangerous a hypo could be and they just didn't worry about it enough for my liking!

I also keep rereading those stickies. I hope you have a great day, don't worry, and give Scratches a big kiss!!!
I worry she won't do well with this reduction because its barely any insulin. And she's had a history of failing reductions, but then again, I'm sure some of it was my fault as I was (still am a bit) gun-shy about shooting low. She had a couple hypo moments when she was first diagnosed and it scared me to death. It was the vets fault though because when she was initially diagnosed, home testing wasn't really mentioned and she was started on 2 units. So for three weeks I was blind dosing and noticed she wasn't getting any better, worse if anything, and I realized if I continue to listen to the vets my cat would die. That's when I found this lovely page. Anyway, long story short, i've had a really rough four months with her. I don't think a day goes by that i'm not stressed and anxious haha. And yes, she is hurrying herself right along and now I understand what you mean. She's far from not needing insulin I think because her sugar spiked way up throughout the night last night without it. Someone mentioned last night in one of the replys to my last post that Scratches pancreas is "puttering" so i'm hopeful at least she's going in the right direction for the time being.
 
I worry she won't do well with this reduction because its barely any insulin. And she's had a history of failing reductions, but then again, I'm sure some of it was my fault as I was (still am a bit) gun-shy about shooting low. She had a couple hypo moments when she was first diagnosed and it scared me to death. It was the vets fault though because when she was initially diagnosed, home testing wasn't really mentioned and she was started on 2 units. So for three weeks I was blind dosing and noticed she wasn't getting any better, worse if anything, and I realized if I continue to listen to the vets my cat would die. That's when I found this lovely page. Anyway, long story short, i've had a really rough four months with her. I don't think a day goes by that i'm not stressed and anxious haha. And yes, she is hurrying herself right along and now I understand what you mean. She's far from not needing insulin I think because her sugar spiked way up throughout the night last night without it. Someone mentioned last night in one of the replys to my last post that Scratches pancreas is "puttering" so i'm hopeful at least she's going in the right direction for the time being.

Oh my - I see what you went through early on with those lows. At least you started testing during the cycle, thank goodness. I was only looking at pre-shot numbers at the beginning. I really could have hurt my cat. I was reading here a while (lurking) and Tina is glad for that.
I also found that by doing SLGS and reducing if below 90 just didn't work well. Why? Here is my stupid simple answer, lol (I know there is more to it, but): a normal non-diabetic cat, or one in remission, has numbers in the 50s and even 40s at times (some run a little higher), BUT if reducing when under 90, the kitty isn't ever really getting into the "normal" numbers.
Caretakers have very different type lives too; everyone simply cannot go for tight regulation, continually live stressed and sleep deprived, etc. If only balance in life could be easier. I think Scratches has a puttering pancreas too -- and she is the boss of the next steps! Let's just see her come back on down now:cool::D
 
Oh my - I see what you went through early on with those lows. At least you started testing during the cycle, thank goodness. I was only looking at pre-shot numbers at the beginning. I really could have hurt my cat. I was reading here a while (lurking) and Tina is glad for that.
I also found that by doing SLGS and reducing if below 90 just didn't work well. Why? Here is my stupid simple answer, lol (I know there is more to it, but): a normal non-diabetic cat, or one in remission, has numbers in the 50s and even 40s at times (some run a little higher), BUT if reducing when under 90, the kitty isn't ever really getting into the "normal" numbers.
Caretakers have very different type lives too; everyone simply cannot go for tight regulation, continually live stressed and sleep deprived, etc. If only balance in life could be easier. I think Scratches has a puttering pancreas too -- and she is the boss of the next steps! Let's just see her come back on down now:cool::D
Right and that totally makes a lot of sense. Scratches failed many reductions and it's because maybe she wasn't really ready for a reduction, I guess, haha. TR seems to fit in better with my schedule anyway, even though it's super stressful for me at times (like last night for example) knowing what numbers are safe to shoot, but it's just because I don't have much practice shooting low yet.
 
Back
Top