1/3 Cleo AMPS=411 +3=366 +5=336 +7.5=233 +9.5=430

Status
Not open for further replies.

Delia

Member Since 2014
Yesterday

Good morning LL!
Despite the dose increase of yesterday, today, as suggested from Julie and Ann, I went back to 1.25u dose. I didn't stop Surolan administration, but I continue to be very concerned about the very high values of these days.
Yesterday I forgot to say that Cleo's pupils now seems to be of the same size, or at least very similar. I described this problem here.
Here two pics of her yesterday.
IMG_20150101_183232_rs.jpg
IMG_20150101_183300_rs.jpg
 
aw, her eyes are gorgeous!

I've asked for some other experienced people to give some input into what to do about Cleo's dose, Delia while she's on the Surolan.

Would you remind me where you are, and does Cleo have a history of ketones? I don't see anything on her spreadsheet but wanted to double-check.
 
She doesn't have a history of ketones, but she has had hepatic lipidosis before I started testing bg and insuline administration. When diabets was diagnosed, the vet thought it could be treated with food only. Then in hospital they started to give her Lantus one time per day and after 5 days of subq she came back to home. The spreadsheet start with the first day of insulin at home. She was sick and her bg values where high like now.
Now she doesn't seem to be sick, but she stopped playing like she did some days ago. She is drinking more water and does more pee. Today I will test for ketones and maybe I will give some subq fluids.
 
Yuppieeeeee! Julie, I'm so happy, you were right! I've just tested and at +3 she has 366. Does this mean that bg has started to decrease?
 
Maybe. I see she's in yellows now-233at your last test. Let's see where she is with your pmps. How many hours now til pmps?

If I'm figuring right I'm thinking 2.5 hrs from now?
 
It sounds like even topical products like ear drops with prednisolone can raise the BGs. It looks like the 200's was as low as she is going to get after the 46 the other night, now that she's getting the AB's.

If you want to go back to 1.5u this morning, it's probably ok. She is awfully high and it's been long enough that I don't think your +9.5/430 could still be from bouncing from the 46.
 
Is she eating ok?

Also about her ear infection - can you explain more about it? does she have mites in her ear - they produce a coffee-ground like debris? or is it an infection of the ear canal?

just wondering if there is another option for the infection that doesn't include steroids in it.
 
Yes, she is eating normally. She looks ok. The vet didn't tell anything about mites, so I think is only an infection of ear canal. She had a dark brown ear wax in the ear. The last time she had the same type of earwax in the other ear and the vet said that there were no mites. But this time he hasn't looked under the microscope.
PMPS is 517. Now I've fed her and given the usual dose of 1.25u.
 
Hi Delia

Julie and I (and others) have been discussing Cleo's situation with the steroidal ear meds. With newly diagnosed kitties who go lower and then bounce, we do like to give them six cycles to clear the bounce to see if they can come back down into good numbers again. It doesn't look like Cleo did.....likely because of the ear meds. My thought is that if you are going to stick with the steroid ear meds (which is fine if that is what's best), then I'd take the dose back up to 1.5u. It was a little difficult to tell if the high numbers were from a bounce or from the steroid since the ear meds were started after the 46. But now that she has had six cycles for bouncing to clear and hasn't, I'd increase the dose unless she comes down this cycle into blue.

She is really, really cute!!!
 
Thank you Marje, tomorrow I will increase dose to 1.5u.
Thank you all for your help!!! :kiss::cat:
 
Julie asked me to stop by since Furball gets frequent ear infections. I’ve found that most ear meds do contain steroids. The only on that I’ve found that doesn’t is Zymox Otic. It also comes in a form with steroids. I’ve gotten it at 1-800-Petmeds. When I’ve had to give Furball the ear meds with steroids, it usually does make her numbers a little bit higher. I’ve just raised her dose while she is on the ear meds to compensate. As soon as she was finished with the ear meds, I reduced her dose just in case her numbers came down quickly. I hope Cleo gets over her ear infection soon. Just keep an eye on her numbers the day you stop giving the ear meds in case she drops fast once the steroids get out of her system. You can always ask for dose advice the day before you give the last dose of ear meds.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top