Recap:
AMPS 211
+5 124
+9 Got into Dolly's fuds again, about a tbls, it wasn't dry and hadn't ABC this time but it wasn't LC either. Going forward there will be TS (tight supervision) as well as TR!
PMPS 133 - lowest shoot to date
+2 140
+4 128
Vetty visit today, not for anything specific, just a general look at him. As well as his FD he is suspected of having had two FCE (spinal strokes) in Sept and Dec.
The board has spoken (thank you ladies) and a dosecrease it is. Although his numbers and quite good from an organ damaging perspective our aim is remission so we want to push him down into those healing numbers under 120.
Mum's timezone is currently 3 hrs ahead of mine so I wasn't able to organise that for this morning but I am checking her schedule with the aim of doing that tonight. The vet will be pleased as they wanted to increase by one unit prior to the change to LC fuds - obviously we still won't be doing that! Mum has developed her patented magnifier system (I will try to post a pic later if someone can tell me how to do it) and has been practising her doses so up to 1.25 it is.
My heart is with Calley and Kristin at this difficult time
Vetty visit went okay. They're concerned about his back legs (from suspected FCEs) but also hoping that it may be related to his diabetes. They wanted to up his dose by at least .5 to give him a jolt and because they think if the legs are diabetes related that the damage will become permanent if we don't bring him down quickly. Not sure if that's how it works (I note we are giving him 1,500 mcg B 12 (ETA Methyl) twice daily and have been since Sept/Oct after the issue with his legs first arose) and according to theory his numbers haven't been high enough for diabetic neuropathy. I really hope that's what it is though!
Anyway 'she who must be obeyed' as they call me at the vet (mum tells them she's more scared of me than she is of them teeheehee) has prevailed and we will increase by .25 tonight. I think the vet probably would have felt okay about that anyway had they known that we don't plan to do that and leave it so long to wait and see this time. Cat's settled, mum's settled, diet is fixed it's time to get all kung fu aggressive on this thing!
Purrdy had a dosecrease tonight. Tomorrow mum will get a +2 but then won't be back until +5. On the off chance we have a significant drop at +2 we will need to abort the cycle. I've never done that before. I assume we do it with dry food. I note that there isn't a timed feeder and if mum puts down wet before she goes he'll just eat it all straight away. Purrdy hasn't had low numbers yet so we don't know how carb sensitive he is. So my question is - if we need to abort the cycle how much dry food do we give him to ensure his safety?
I don't use dry food to abort a cycle but it is an option. (I don't have any dry stuff in the house and haven't for years.) If Purrdy grazes, you can have your mom leave several bowls (or one large bowl) of food with some added HC around the house.
Good question - i suppose it depends on how many carbs the dry food is and how carb sensitive the cat is. i've seen a couple of people just put out one spoonful to bring up their cat's BGs. A few months back someone reported that their cat got 3 pieces of kibble and it increased their BG by a considerable amount (sorry I don't recall exactly how much) but it stayed up for the rest of the day.
I think i'd prep in advance for next time - some frozen catsickles that include some with high carb or low carb with honey/corn syrup added that could be left out. Different sized catsickles (muffin tin, ice cubes) will thaw at different speeds and can work if little purdy doesn't eat the frozen parts while they are still frozen.