1/31 Ozzy AMPS 288, +1 281, PMPS 374, +2 340, +3 287

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ozzy Pawzbourne

Member Since 2016
Yesterday

Good Morning!

funny-animated-cat-gif.gif
 
Really wish I could get a +2. I won't ever be able to on work mornings...Hubby is getting busier now and is gone before me. Any advice? We are skinnying up Ozzy's dose since we can't monitor.
 
@Beth 73 That's quite a sweet daily blessing Beth! Haha! Bet you don't wish good poops on everyone you meet!! Teeheheh..:woot::woot:

Thanks for checking in on us all the time and always sending positive, caring, encouraging, and thoughtful messages. They really make my day! I wish I knew you in person so i could return one of the million sweet hugs you throw our way everyday! :bighug::bighug:

Hope you are doing wonderful today as well! How is our big brother Elmo doing? Send a pic!

Have you heard from Mogs? I haven't seen her on in about 2 weeks. I hope she is ok. I know she had not been feeling well for awhile.
 
Last edited:
Oh, Jo , I have felt such a kinship with you and Ozzy from back when we were being mentored in the Vetsulin days by precious Linda, Kris and Dear Mogs. Looking back at those weeks I am increasingly grateful what the 3 of them did, for both of us and what a huge blessing that was and is and so glad we met then :bighug: And no, I have not seen Mogs online since early January. Like you, I pray she is well and resting. She has such a huge servant's heart , to her detriment at times I'm afraid. Linda said Mogs will take sabbaticals from time to time so for that I am glad and pray is the case this time as well. Elmo and I are still doing the poopy dance. No poo yesterday and appy a bit off. Can't keep doing the suppository/ enemas cos they can become dependent so upping the miralax and pumpkin and warm water . I'm sure he will go today....the turkey o_O. Maybe Elmo can send some of his solid in exchange for Ozzy's soft and we'll all be good :woot::):confused:
 
I have thought about that ....if no action by tonight will try that . Just wish this cat would poop :eek::woot::nailbiting:
 
Oh, Jo , I have felt such a kinship with you and Ozzy from back when we were being mentored in the Vetsulin days by precious Linda, Kris and Dear Mogs. Looking back at those weeks I am increasingly grateful what the 3 of them did, for both of us and what a huge blessing that was and is and so glad we met then :bighug: And no, I have not seen Mogs online since early January. Like you, I pray she is well and resting. She has such a huge servant's heart , to her detriment at times I'm afraid. Linda said Mogs will take sabbaticals from time to time so for that I am glad and pray is the case this time as well. Elmo and I are still doing the poopy dance. No poo yesterday and appy a bit off. Can't keep doing the suppository/ enemas cos they can become dependent so upping the miralax and pumpkin and warm water . I'm sure he will go today....the turkey o_O. Maybe Elmo can send some of his solid in exchange for Ozzy's soft and we'll all be good :woot::):confused:
You are so sweet Beth!! Yes I feel the same. :bighug::kiss:
I really hope Ozzy can follow in Elmo's footsteps here soon. Sure wish I had a crystal ball sometimes so I'd know when I can finally relax or at least mellow out and know this FD dance will be forever. Just the not knowing part makes you feel so hopeless.

I really hope Mogs is ok. I sent her a gift a few weeks ago all the way from the US to the UK. I hope she got it and it brings her a lot of comfort.

Glad Elmo finally went poo! We really are crazy cat ladies to have an obsession with this type of stuff!!! :woot::woot:
 
I am not sure what to make of Ozzy's PMPS tonight. Is he still bouncing from the night of 1/28 or did he drop lower today and he's bouncing from that. I hate when I have no idea what's going on with him during the day and I'm not here. :(

I also am getting a little frustrated with the whole process and it's now unfortunately affecting my job. We had a last minute early morning meeting today that I missed and my boss said I should have been there. There was also a meeting that ran late today and I had to leave early. If I made both meetings, my day would have been from 7:30 -6pm plus the hour drive on both sides (so 12.5 hours) and I would have been off on the morning shot and evening shot. My boss knows about my cat (I had to take some time off due to his DKA episode) but how do I try to explain what I'm going through to him. Any one have similar issues at work or have advice on how to explain this to my boss? Most people will just think 'it's just a cat", but he's my baby and our family member. I feel a little lost here and am worried how things are going to go in the future as we are going to start a huge project that will likely require some long hours. I still don't trust hubby with the insulin needle (not giving the shot, but the more impt part of drawing up the dose)! :arghh::arghh::banghead::banghead:
 
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:.....praying for this all to work out,Jo. Gotta go at this one day at a time . And I'm sure your sweet hubby is up to the task, whatever it may be . It will all be well Jo..it will all be well:bighug::bighug::bighug::cat:
 
I am not sure what to make of Ozzy's PMPS tonight. Is he still bouncing from the night of 1/28 or did he drop lower today and he's bouncing from that. I hate when I have no idea what's going on with him during the day and I'm not here. :(

I also am getting a little frustrated with the whole process and it's now unfortunately affecting my job. We had a last minute early morning meeting today that I missed and my boss said I should have been there. There was also a meeting that ran late today and I had to leave early. If I made both meetings, my day would have been from 7:30 -6pm plus the hour drive on both sides (so 12.5 hours) and I would have been off on the morning shot and evening shot. My boss knows about my cat (I had to take some time off due to his DKA episode) but how do I try to explain what I'm going through to him. Any one have similar issues at work or have advice on how to explain this to my boss? Most people will just think 'it's just a cat", but he's my baby and our family member. I feel a little lost here and am worried how things are going to go in the future as we are going to start a huge project that will likely require some long hours. I still don't trust hubby with the insulin needle (not giving the shot, but the more impt part of drawing up the dose)! :arghh::arghh::banghead::banghead:
This is such a difficult spot to be in. I was very lucky because my boss was a cat lover and I could also make up time at home or even take Gracie to work with me if I had to.

If you are using calipers, there's no reason to not teach Bob how to draw the dose. I had to do it with Mike even before I did the calipers research and I know we did not have as much dosing consistency as I would have liked. He got really good at it with the calipers, though.

As far as his numbers, I'm not sure why you skinnied the dose but I wouldn't have. That could be part of the problem as well as him bouncing from the night of 1/29.

Also, sorry that I referred to the wrong condo in my comments about the labs yesterday. It was two days before (1/28) and not the day any before that I wrote this:

Sorry to say your vet is a bit behind the times. Before there was a test for pancreatitis, some vets thought the amylase was an indicator of pancreatitis in cats. It's not. Dogs, yes, but in cats, it's really of no signicance. Occasionally, it "might" be a bit elevated in cats with chronic kidney disease. Also, if the sample was hemolyzed, the amylase might be affected. I wouldn't worry about it.

Eosinophils can be elevated in cats with IBD, fleas, parasites, or even just any kind of allergy. You are looking for trends so it would be good to see if it is up or down from the last elevated test.

How can his thyroid be normal if the fT4 isn't back yet?

It's curious his urine specific gravity indicates dilute urine. Is he drinking a lot of water??? Often FD cats have higher USG unless they are drinking a ton of water or also have concurrent thyroid or kidney disease or are getting fluids.

It would be good to always get a hard copy of his labs and enter them on his lab tab. I've seen vets say a value was normal and it wasn't...especially when it comes to kidney related numbers.
 
This is such a difficult spot to be in. I was very lucky because my boss was a cat lover and I could also make up time at home or even take Gracie to work with me if I had to.
Normally I can flex my time and it wouldn't be too much of a problem. But the project we are heading into requires us to work in the office due to the nature of the work.
If you are using calipers, there's no reason to not teach Bob how to draw the dose. I had to do it with Mike even before I did the calipers research and I know we did not have as much dosing consistency as I would have liked. He got really good at it with the calipers, though
We have not used calipers for dosing yet. This just seemed a little too much of a science experiment at the time of learning about it and we were still just digesting all the newness and routine. All this is so overwhelming sometimes. We have a magnifying head lamp that Lizzin in Texas recommended and I like it a lot.
As far as his numbers, I'm not sure why you skinnied the dose but I wouldn't have. That could be part of the problem as well as him bouncing from the night of 1/29.
I skinnied his dose because I'm terrified he is going to drop low when we are not here. He's already dropped low twice on the .5U and we didn't give another reduction that he may have/have not earned. It's not skinnied down enough that he's at .25U, just a drop or so squeezed out. I am just so nervous that something is going to happen while we are gone. Hubby is getting busy at work now too and neither of us can be here to even get a +2! I am still getting a +1 but it doesn't seem to matter much so I just don't know what to do. If I start earlier in the morning, I won't be home by +12 to give his PM T/F/S on time. I think someone mentioned some others do a 10/14 schedule or something like that. Maybe this is an option for us??? I would like to learn more about this.

This is just getting more difficult now that the holidays are over and everyone is getting back into the swing of things. Life is going on even though my cat has diabetes.

As much as I don't want to switch off lantus, maybe we will have to consider another in-out insulin instead of a depot insulin just due to our schedules and not being able to monitor in the AM.

I'm open to suggestions.....:blackeye::blackeye::blackeye:

I'm feeling a little frustrated tonight and quite tired so I apologize if I'm being a negative nancy. I really do appreciate all the feedback and suggestions. I have to give a presentation tomorrow at a big meeting so my mind is kind of elsewhere am I'm pretty exhausted from today.
 
Last edited:
I think you've probably seen this but now that you've been here a bit, you might want to read the post again on how to do TR and work. You can also switch to SLGS. Also, if you are thinking about switching to a non-depot insulin, like Prozinc, you might want to post on that insulin support group in FDMB and ask. I haven't used PZ and even though I do know some about it, I think it's best to not advise on an insulin I haven't used.

I don't know of anyone in this ISG doing 10/14 dosing but I don't go to every condo every day. However, in being here over six years, I haven't seen it....perhaps someone is doing it now? While I think the "Lantus craves consistency" statement is not exactly accurate and there can be some flexibility here and there in shooting, I'm don't think a 10/14 schedule every day is really advisable.

I'm sorry you are in this situation. I understand the extreme stress it must cause. I also think that getting up early to shoot earlier just to get a +2 doesn't help either of you because you can't get home by +12 and because you can probably really use that little bit more of sleep. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Thinking of you and Ozzy before going to bed...much love and prayers coming your way :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:... I hate that you are under such expectation and stress :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top