1/31 Tabitha PMPS 177;+1 165+;2.5 91;+3 83;+3.5 70;+4 57;+4.5 46;+5 53;+5.5 49;+6 75;+6.5 102;7.5 90

Status
Not open for further replies.
Ok AMPS IS 223; GIVING FOOD NOW; I hope she eats; last shot was 7:45 and we are off so would like to shoot for 7:30 if at all possible; breath
 
First, I am not an expert, but I think you should give the .25 because I think she is bouncing. But hopefully an expert will jump in and give advice really quick.
 
How is she doing now? The 45 should get two tsp of HC and a drop of karo, syrup, or honey.

If she bounces, you can shoot through the bounce once with 0.25u and then decrease tomorrow night to 0.1u. I think with the way she's been going, I'd probably reduce to 0.1u in the morning.

While this might be depot from the 0.5u, I think I'd still try the reduction. I'll get you a picture for what 0.1u looks like.

@Laura&Chichi. Sorry I'm new and tired and it's seems like it is telling me two things. I'm trying to get familiar with the terminology and just want to get confirmation and do the right thing
 
Sounds great. I'm headed off to bed now. You did a super job, Sharon. Don't forget the reduction tomorrow :)

This was her last comment. I think it is wise to reduce. yes, she is bouncing, but the .25 took her to 45. She hasnt much history and data to go by, better to be safe, and can always go back up.
 
She's saying if you have a high number due to a bounce this morning, it is okay to give the .25. We call that shooting through the bounce. Then you will give the reduction to 0.1 tonight. As long as she is eating, I would shoot the .25 this morning.
 
You're doing a great job. I know it is confusing to have to learn everything quickly. We only shoot through the bounce once. So tonight, no matter what her number is, you would shoot the 0.1 because of the 45 yesterday. I hope that helps to clarify things.
 
2015-01-31 08.20.18.jpg
I shot .10 (l think; will test @+2)
 
With the bounce she should be fine. I too would get a +2 and post. Quite a welcome from lantus to a newbie!
 
Reducing the dose:
  • If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. See additional notes in the next paragraph about drops into the 20s and 30s. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.
You can read the complete protocol in the sticky..on the front page of this forumhttp://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/lantus-levemir-tight-regulation-protocol.1581/
 
It's under 50 for a newbie, under 40 for over a year diabetic.


Okay, thanks! I wonder what it would be for a cat recently off remission like Sami. I don't think we have a chance of dropping below 50 or 40, but it would be good information to know. Sami has been back on insulin less than a month. I am still convinced that the high BG is very much related to stress and she will soon be regulated again.
 
I didn't realize they had to go that low to earn a reduction. Talking about stress, when Tabitha was so low yesterday I carried her though the house to stimulate a little stress, even when she has access outside the cat room she hardly ever adventures out. The things we do. Lol
 
She sounds like Max. I kept him out of part of my condo since I got him as a kitten because he would dig in plants and my other one would eat them. she's gone now and he needs exercise since all he ever did was chase her so I leave the hall door open when I'm home but he rarely ventures out. I don't think it can simulate the stress of a vet visit or strangers in the house, LOL.
 
@tiffmaxee
One look at Marcus on my bed she let out a teritorial hiss. She also likes to snort. The idiosyncrasies of our babies.

+2 is 148; I need to go pick up more Ondansetron but it will take about an hour to go and come back. The vet closes at +8.
 
If you can get her to eat, I'd give her a snack of her regular LC food

That's quite a significant drop at +2

Make sure you get another test in ...maybe at +4

When the +2 is lower than the Pre-shot number, it usually means they're going to have a very active cycle, so best to plan on more testing

Surf safely Tabitha!!
 
I'm sorry I confused you. Carla explained it correctly. I glad you shot 0.1u this morning because looks like she's headed back down.

I like to give caregivers options and let them decide but also tell them what I might do. If you had shot the 0.35u, it would have been ok but you might have had to deal with lower numbers today.

I think I'd feed some LC and test at +3. Is there anyone that can go out for you? I think she's going to keep you a little busy.

You did great.

Thanks, Laura and Carla.
 
My friend who referred me to this vet is picking up the meds so I don't need to worry about them closing on me. I heated up her food to encourage her but nothing yet. I have 20 minutes until +4. I can resort back to a little syringe feeding. What do you suggest?
 
Have you given her ondansetron today? She is on it isn't she? Forgive me if I got the wrong cat. I put remi in front of his newly dished out food (he is more likely to go for food fresh out of the can ) and really stroke him. From his head down to to his tail. This can stimulate him into eating.
 
I'd retest at +4.5. If she's still coming down or is flat, if you can get a couple tsps of LC in her, that would be great.
 
Ok set the alarm. For the past few days she has been grooming more and today she has been playing when I show her a few toys. I've had her since October and I've never seen her play.
 
  • Like
Reactions: BJM
That number is safe.
Maybe offer a couple teaspoons of low carb to help her surf and re-test in 30 minutes.
 
I think the +2.5 will be fine

In the future, you might want to wait until +2 to get your first test (unless you're shooting a low number) because usually at +1, there's going to be a food spike. The fact that she's lower at +1 tells me you DO need to keep an eye on her tonight until we see that she's done dropping.

That +2 is almost like a crystal ball.

If it's about the same as the PS, you can expect a "normal" Lantus cycle where they gradually go down, then slowly go back up to the next PS time.

If the +2 is lower than the PS, that's your "early warning system" that you should plan on getting more tests in because they may be "on the move"

If the +2 is higher than the PS, that can be a sign that they're starting a bounce, so those are the times it's safer to take a pokey break and get some sleep!

Of course ECID, but we've seen the +2 be a pretty darn good indicator of what will happen later in the cycle
 
Put the :coffee::coffee::coffee: on and some comfy PJs. I think she's going to come down again on you. I'd get a +3 so if she's headed down fast, which I bet she will be, you can put the stops on it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top