? 1/4 & 1/5 TiTi. ????Got to give shot in 10 minutes. increase or not????

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kathy and TiTi

Member Since 2016
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/1-3-titi-hi-numbers-and-titi-lost-about-a-


So do I increase now? Below is my curve from 8am to8pm. This is the 7th cycle at 9U. I gotta do something quick.
AMPS 407
367
296
310
404
373
PMPS 334
third-inch-of-her-tail.170711/





Turns out TiTi lost 2 inches of tail, but she doesn't appear to care. Some of he protruding, blood soaked skin turned out to be tail bone. I never before realized how thin and delicate that bony structure is.

Her numbers are pretty bad. I'm puzzled about whether or not to increase her dose again. Since I've tested her less often then usual, I'm doing a curve today to try and see where she stands .

I'm wondering if the increase in her night food is influencing the High BGs. I use a feeder for TiTi, so that I can get some sleep at night. She gets about a tsp of FF Pate at these times:
2am
3am
4am
5am
Then she gets tested around 7:30-8am. She's eating about half a can more of food then she was before I started using the feeder. 2 weeks ago I was putting twice as much food in the feeder (2tsp for each time), but I've been trying to get the food way down, because I fear she's getting too much food. However, even at half of the original amt of food ( tsp per hr. -1am-5am), her BGs are pretty high.
 
Last edited:
Hi there Kathy, so sorry to hear about Titi's tale, I'm glad it doesn't appear to be bothering her.

She may be bouncing of that 108, but there is also the possibility that she dipped last night seeing a her +2 was lower than pmps, so last night might have been an active cycle and we don't know how low she dropped. Looking at the numbers, there does seem to be room for an increase, she's not seen any green on this dose so far.

Food is certainly another factor in the BG equation, it is important that Titi get enough nutrition, but equally too much food is not helpful, the only way to gauge if what you are feeding is too much/ too little or just right is to monitor her weight and let the scales guide you.
 
I'm glad TiTi's tale doesn't seem to be bothering her. I hope it heals quickly. Good luck if you decide to increase her dose.
 
Trauma/pain can raise the BG also. If it were me I would get TiTi in for a vetty check just to make sure the tail is ok and prevent the possibility of infection. :cat::bighug: If the bone is exposed they will need to remove the exposed part (bone) and cover with skin.

I will tell you my tale of a tail. It was on my beagle (Cinnamon). I had just returned with her and my Missy cat from the vets and was trying to get Cin and Missy (in her carrier) out of the car and pointed in the direction of the door to the apartment. If you know anything about beagles, you know they are very excitable and hard headed. Anyway in the hassle of trying to get the carrier out and her leash untangled I managed to slam her tail in the car door. Literally the tail was slammed between the bottom part of the car door and the car itself - and the door was locked. This wasn't the tip of her tail either - it was the entire tail. I had to unlock the door to open it to remove her from being pinned. :banghead:

OMG I felt like such a bad mama. Ran into the apartment dropped off Missy cat and quickly called the vet (we had just returned from) and turned back around and went back in right away. Vet examined and said he was unsure if she would lose the tail or not (can you imagine a beagle w/o a tail?). To watch it and if it started lose hair and swell above the "break" point to bring her right in and they would need to amputate. The tail didn't die but for the rest of her life she had a big bump right at the base of her tail. It never bothered her after the initial pain of the injury subsided.
 
I would not assume that it won't return. One of my civvies was a stray I adopted. She was missing the tip of her tail when I took her in. She has full use of her tail. TiTi's tail can still heal. :bighug::bighug:
I wonder if the B-12 used for neuropathy would help with it?
 
Hi there Kathy, so sorry to hear about Titi's tale, I'm glad it doesn't appear to be bothering her.

She may be bouncing of that 108, but there is also the possibility that she dipped last night seeing a her +2 was lower than pmps, so last night might have been an active cycle and we don't know how low she dropped. Looking at the numbers, there does seem to be room for an increase, she's not seen any green on this dose so far.

Gee, I messed up; I was thinking of the important number being +1, because it was the 2nd number after PMPS. I am so bad with numbers. So far this is a distressing curve. A nadir of 310? Sheesh. I wonder if it's time to increase TiTi by a full point to 10U? But most importantly, I simply do not understand these high numbers. She's edging up to the 13U she was on when I started with FDMB.
 
I really thought the curve would look a lot better than this. Unless +8 and PMPS go dramatically lower, quite unlikely, then I am confounded! Even as I follow the protocol, by increasing 0.5 after 6 cycles (after 7 cycles today), her BGs are rising.
 
I think you're seeing bouncing from the 108 yesterday. It looks like she tried to clear the bounce and then bounced back up.
 
I think you're seeing bouncing from the 108 yesterday. It looks like she tried to clear the bounce and then bounced back up.

So do I increase now? Below is my curve from 8am to8pm. This is the 7th cycle at 9U. I gotta do something quick.
AMPS 407
367
296
310
404
373
PMPS 334
 
If you see blue, and you saw low blue yesterday, I might hold a total of 8 cycles. Which would mean increasing tomorrow morning if you don't see green tonight. Pain/inflammation can definitely raise the BG's.
 
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/1-3-titi-hi-numbers-and-titi-lost-about-a-


So do I increase now? Below is my curve from 8am to8pm. This is the 7th cycle at 9U. I gotta do something quick.
AMPS 407
367
296
310
404
373
PMPS 334
third-inch-of-her-tail.170711/





Turns out TiTi lost 2 inches of tail, but she doesn't appear to care. Some of he protruding, blood soaked skin turned out to be tail bone. I never before realized how thin and delicate that bony structure is.

Her numbers are pretty bad. I'm puzzled about whether or not to increase her dose again. Since I've tested her less often then usual, I'm doing a curve today to try and see where she stands .

I'm wondering if the increase in her night food is influencing the High BGs. I use a feeder for TiTi, so that I can get some sleep at night. She gets about a tsp of FF Pate at these times:
2am
3am
4am
5am
Then she gets tested around 7:30-8am. She's eating about half a can more of food then she was before I started using the feeder. 2 weeks ago I was putting twice as much food in the feeder (2tsp for each time), but I've been trying to get the food way down, because I fear she's getting too much food. However, even at half of the original amt of food ( tsp per hr. -1am-5am), her BGs are pretty high.
bump
 
If you see blue, and you saw low blue yesterday, I might hold a total of 8 cycles. Which would mean increasing tomorrow morning if you don't see green tonight. Pain/inflammation can definitely raise the BG's.

Yes her tail has started to hurt, and I started her on an antibiotic and bupe. I'll get in another call to my vet tomorrow. Looks like she needs to take off the exposed tail bone. We were hoping it'd dry up and drop off, but instead it has started to get tender.

Thanks Wendy.
 
Poor thing. I think a vet visit is a good idea.

I would also go ahead and increase her dose. She hasn't had any green on this dose and she's now had 8 cycles at it.
 
{{{Kathy}}}

I'm so sorry about TiTi's tale. I do think the high BGs might be related to discomfort. Once you get that tail taken care of, she might come down a bit. For now, though, I'd do what Julie and Wendy advise, as they have lots of experience with high dose kitties.

Sending healing vines.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top