1/5 Trouble AMBG 85, PMBG 85 OTJ Trial DAY 5 (Update)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Asrael

Member Since 2015
Happy New Year everyone!

It's been a long time. I took a big break from the computer over the holidays- and am trying to spend less time on it in general now that I am back to work (hard to do as I work with a lot of clients online:))

Things have been great (as you can probably see by the title of the thread:))

ANTI JINX! Everytime I post here with good #'s they seem to go up:)

We had a great and busy holiday and were all over the place with his injections because of social engagements.. often doing his insulin 30 minutes or even 1 hour early or later... I think his numbers reflect that if you look at the 2017 SS. We thought about increasing a few times.. but figured we would wait until after the holidays and things got back to routine out, as he was still staying somewhat normal. And then he threw us a 151 on NYE +3. I remembered what Marje, @Marje and Gracie , had said about reverse curves and small doses and I thought- you know what.. its the NY, if he's green tomorrow am.. Lets try a trial... He was close enough (101).

Will see how it goes- fingers crossed- but he is looking good so far (anti jinx)

Chela the civvie is good too- he's got early CKD, and has the bad habit of howling in the night some days... Not because of pain.. because he's bored- he runs around looking for something to do.. (he does it during the day sometimes too).. It's been so cold here this winter that he doesn't want to go outside as much... so other than 3:30 am wake up calls a few times a week- he's great...

Hard as we are feeding them seperate food now so really have to watch...

I think of you all lots- I hope everyone is well- I don't know that I will update every day- but will let you know what happens with the trial.. And I hope I did the spreadsheet right- Serryns explanation was great on Marje's thread. Thank you @Vyktors Mum .

Hope you are staying wearm @Wendy&Neko - We haven't had the snow you have.. just the bitter cold- but I have been thinking of you lots and hoping you are well!


And Trouble.. this is not your cue to get higher numbers!!!
 
Uncle Sam photos.jpg


I'm sending a pm with details! :)
 
He's looking great so far. Paws crossed for the trial!

I'm glad to hear everything is going so well. Have you had Chela's thyroid checked? Sometimes thyroid issues can cause them to howl.

Happy New Year to you all. Many blessings of joy and love for you all, Asrael!
 
Hi Asrael - I've been wondering how you have been doing. :bighug::bighug: And Trouble too. Such a good boy - all paws and fingers/toes crossed that this time it works.

We have a new member here from the Nanaimo area. Lots of sharing this cold weather. We have about two inches of the white stuff on our railing, and thankfully our municipaility (North Vancouver) has a snow removal budget. The hummingbirds wait impatiently each morning for us to thaw the feeder.
 
He's looking great so far. Paws crossed for the trial!

I'm glad to hear everything is going so well. Have you had Chela's thyroid checked? Sometimes thyroid issues can cause them to howl.

Happy New Year to you all. Many blessings of joy and love for you all, Asrael!

Hi Marje- Yes- we had his Thyroid checked about 4 months ago and it was normal.. He is a chatterbox- and loud at the quietest of times.. but he seems to do this when he is playful and not knowing what to do..> It sounds like he is in pain sometimes... and so have gone to check (is he in the litterbox- is he straining?) and he's usually stopping while howling and then runs in circles and pounces on something for a minute or two and stops... I don't know... He does do it when he is nervous too (new places, etc)- but I really think he is just bored...

@Wendy&Neko So glad you have snow removal budget- I can't even imagine what its like- its been really icy here- but didn't snow over the holiday at all (although this next week there is some in the forecast...) I am a whiner when it comes to the weather- I do appreciate the sun.. but it was -9 here this am!?!?!??!

Thats great there is a Nanaimo member now- I will have to check in to say hi to them sometime soon.

Thanks everyone else for your support!
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Asrael! What great news and I am so happy for y'all. Keep up the good work Trouble!


What is the reverse curve and small doses?

Thanks Bobbie!
I am not sure if this is the best explanation- but when Trouble first went back on the juice he was throwing some higher numbers and then coming down for PS>

AMPS would be 90, +3 would be 105, +7 would be 115 and then PMPS would be 86 (or something like that)
When cats are on really small doses sometimes instead of lowering their glucose levels it will cause them to rise in this reverse curve..

This time he wasn't really showing that (or we weren't testing enough to be sure) but he threw that 151.. and I just thought... this doesn't seem right.. and so far so good- paws crossed!

Hope you are well and Bubba too!
 
Thanks for explaining that, hmmm we have had a few of those lately. or at least I think they are. I wasn't sure if he was going back to being a late nadir cat again, this time around he's nadiring in the middle of the cycle.
 
Thanks for explaining that, hmmm we have had a few of those lately. or at least I think they are. I wasn't sure if he was going back to being a late nadir cat again, this time around he's nadiring in the middle of the cycle.

Not sure- what dose is Bubba on now? A more experienced member would definitely be able to tell.. This time with Trouble- if you were to look at his numbers we did not follow protocol at all for OTJ.. we were so all over the place over xmas season.. but I figured it was worth a try...
 
Not sure- what dose is Bubba on now? A more experienced member would definitely be able to tell.. This time with Trouble- if you were to look at his numbers we did not follow protocol at all for OTJ.. we were so all over the place over xmas season.. but I figured it was worth a try...
Bubba is on .40 right now, I am taking him down reallllly slow! I will look at Trouble's SS!
 
Wow, a gamble that payed off (antijinx)! Go Trouble, and don't cause any trouble!

Good luck, Asrael. This is great news! Just what we need for the New Year.
Keep warm out there!

Ella & Rusty
(we'll be down in the single digits Fahrenheit tonight)
 
Wow, so you just went out on a limb and didn't shoot after he popped the 151 and he is holding! Fingers and Paws!

I know- But it just seemed weird- like a reverse curve- If he had been high in the am- I wouldn't have done it.. and all those blue PS's I really felt were because we were shooting so irregularly- it was all over the place (never more than an hour) but often 30 minutes off- or a little more...

Now I am so nervous- cause I posted here- and everytime I do he gets wonky.. that's why I waited til Day 5... :nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting:
 
Wow, a gamble that payed off (antijinx)! Go Trouble, and don't cause any trouble!

Good luck, Asrael. This is great news! Just what we need for the New Year.
Keep warm out there!

Ella & Rusty
(we'll be down in the single digits Fahrenheit tonight)


Anti Jinx!! Thanks for the support- Will be sending you warm thoughts from our freezing island (but much warmer than single digits farenheight!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top