1/8 Kitty AMPS 82, +6 54. Dose qstn

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Kathy and Kitty, Jan 8, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Kathy and Kitty

    Kathy and Kitty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    See below for dose qstn.
    Yesterday:
    http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1641&p=15247#p15247

    After last night's posts, i feel better about Kitty's smaller appetite: I'm calling it hibernation! And since bears lose weight over the winter, I don't see any reason why both Kitty and I shouldn't have lost several pounds by spring, just by sleeping. :lol:

    Last night we lost a drop off the top of the dose, to a true 1.75 fat, and he seems to like it fine. :D
     
  2. Barbara and tuffy

    Barbara and tuffy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/8 Kitty AMPS 82

    Nice number for Kitty. He can hibernate but you can't, need you comments on the board. Have a great day!
     
  3. Kathy and Kitty

    Kathy and Kitty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Re: 1/8 Kitty AMPS 82

    At least I'll have an excuse for not losing my holiday pounds! :lol:
     
  4. Barbara and tuffy

    Barbara and tuffy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/8 Kitty AMPS 82

    What, am I encouraging you to find an excuse? Shame on me. Pat Kitty for us.
     
  5. Kathy and Kitty

    Kathy and Kitty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Re: 1/8 Kitty +6 54 - and I must leave!

    DANG! He ate breakfast; he ate at +2, and a snack at +4, and now this, and I really have to leave in 20 minutes.

    I just fed him 1/4 can, and I'll test again.

    is it safe to leave?

    I could give him a little HC gravy before I go.
     
  6. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/8 Kitty AMPS 82, +6 54, need advice!

    I think you're OK. You don't have many checks other than at +6 so it's hard to know if this is Kitty's nadir. If you're nervous, I'd feed a bit of MC rather than HC. Kitty usually surfs at these numbers. Maybe you could do a curve this weekend so you know where Kitty's nadir currently is so you have that data.
     
  7. Kathy and Kitty

    Kathy and Kitty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Re: 1/8 Kitty AMPS 82, +6 54, need advice!

    Sienne, thanks. Stupid me, I don't have MD, so I drizzled a teaspoon of gravy on his LC.

    lately he has not come UP at PMPS from +6, which is why I worried.

    I will get more tests over the weekend. Will clear the "need advice" from my cell when I'm where I'm going!!
     
  8. Barbara and tuffy

    Barbara and tuffy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/8 Kitty AMPS 82, +6 54, need advice!

    Kathy: Does he self feed. Looked at you ss. Pehaps a few +3 or +8 or 10 would help track him. I sometimes have to leave on lower numbers. I leave food, probably too much but she will self feed. Does he self feed?
     
  9. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/8 Kitty AMPS 82, +6 54, need advice!

    In my book, LC + a drizzle of gravy = MC. Barbara's point is a good one, as well. As long as Kitty will self-feed, you're good to go.
     
  10. Kathy and Kitty

    Kathy and Kitty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Did not have time to retest but I did feed MC. He liked it!

    Barbara , he self feeds during night. During day, he waits to be served!! But I guess that means the Answer to yr qstn is yes.

    Now I wonder about his dose. Shed full? Last time this happened , with lots of shaves, we ended up having to skip a shot.
     
  11. Barbara and tuffy

    Barbara and tuffy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I don't know what to say about shaving. I know tuffy responds to LC so I only used HC once. Perhaps if you get a few mid cycle numbers you will have a better idea of what he is doing. I think if he drops and you are not there he would probably feed himself. Why exert himself if he can get service but I can't guarantee that. The only time I missed shots was in Dec. when I traveled and I did not shoot in the event she did not eat and I had a hypo event on the road. Consequence, 36 hours without insulin and she presented with a AMPS of 78. Go figure. ECID. That is my HO You are doing well. Keep up the good work.
     
  12. skippy and birten

    skippy and birten Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Nice numbers for Ms. Kitty :mrgreen:
     
  13. Kathy and Kitty

    Kathy and Kitty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Re: 1/8 Kitty +6 54, PMPS 73

    I sure wish he could go to 1.75.... I know, I'm crazy. 54 isn't below 50, and besides, he's a year since diagnosis as of the end of this month.

    What happens if you take drops out before a full week of green? Rebound?

    nailbite_smile

    BTW: This 73 is after a teaspoon of HC gravy at +6, plus another teaspoon over LC food. He is not all that carb sensitive.
     
  14. pjstroop

    pjstroop Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Shhhhh.... Kitty doesn't even suspect the shave.. :D

    I find with Pepper if I shave too quickly that he starts to stay in some lower flat blues.. (sounds like a song)..

    Maybe we'll see that under 50 number this evening... Goooo Kitty!
     
  15. CD and BigMac

    CD and BigMac Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Well, I wouldn't call it rebound, I would say you might get some higher numbers if the decrease doesn't hold. Not rebound though, just a need for more juice. Then again if the reduced dose holds and gives good numbers.... then I'd call it .... good numbers. See how clever I am? LOL!
    You just have a better chance of the reduction holding if you wait until the week of green. It helps that pancreas heal a bit longer. You know, like an extra day of vacation and you feel more rested. :lol:
     
  16. Libby and Lucy

    Libby and Lucy Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    maybe next time you should try reducing by a whole 0.25 instead of by a drop, a la the protocol. That might slow his shed down just enough to keep the lower numbers away. IMO that's a good idea sometimes. I probably would wait until I got a below 50 or at least 7 days, just for good measure, but that's me...
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page