1/8 Ozzy AMPS 345, +3 289, +6 262 PMPS 232, +2 202, +4 186

Status
Not open for further replies.
Yesterday was definitely exciting. I'm calling it Ozzy's Breakthrough Day on Lantus since it's his first time responding so well to insulin (any insulin) and having healthy healing numbers for a good duration of a cycle. I'm still so happy about it.

Then came the bounce....bounce....bounce....

Now the Ladies of Lantus with all their wisdom predicted a bounce, so I expected it. One wise Lantus Lady said I could probably skip testing for the night, but being a horrible control freak who needs to know info, I tested Ozzy at +3 and +5 just to see. Part of me really wanted more data because some other wise Lantus Lady told me that if you erased all the blues and greens midcycle yesterday, Ozzy SS looks very similar to other days. He may have bounced before and we'd never know since we do not have enough mid cycle tests, so I wanted more data to compare. I also am only home on the weekends and able to collect data midcycle so since I go back to work Monday I will also go back to having a mostly empty SS midcycle for the next several days. The other part of me wanted to see if maybe Ozzy wouldn't bounce and was so hoping for more greens and blues... See what happens when you even for a moment maybe second guess Lantus Ladies? Haha. Now ECID as they tell us....but these women are obviously serious pros here and have seen it all and know what they are talking about. While ECID....chances are, most cats are a lot alike and most likely my cat will react the way most cats do and these Lantus Ladies have been spot on. Thank You Wise Lantus Ladies!!

So Ozzy is in bouncy land today still, started with a pretty high preshot and his +3 tests was still in the high yellows. We might test him 1 more time around +6 just to see what his low point is and then give him a break for rest of day. Will test again for PMPS and maybe just once before we go to bed.

So Ozzy Pawzie..enjoy your bouncy day and ear-pokey break. Good job yesterday my sweet little boy!

Oh..wanted to tell you guys a cheezy kitty story that some of you may relate to.. So late last night my beloved Ozzy was is super good spirits. He came to me and wanted to lay on my lap and have me pet him and snuggle him. He was begging me for affection and this was NOT just hungry lovin' -you know where kitty comes to you and starts being all sweet and maybe even licking you to tell you he wants food in his mouth now. This was just pure sweet love from my kitty. It made me cry a little because I realized ever since we brought him home, he's been poked and proded and all these changes have been happening on top of he probably just hasn't felt really that great for a long time. You know they hide it from you. Over the past 6 weeks or so since coming home from the hospital, Ozzy has been sweet as he usually is and lets us cuddle him and pet him, but this was the FIRST time where he really came to me and wanted me to cuddle him and give him some lovin'. It touched my heart. And while we were having our little snug fest, I realized how gorgeous and soft Ozzy's coat is. It's never felt this soft. All these diet changes have done wonders for both his and Figgie's fur and Ozzy has NO dander anymore. So that's my little kitty-melted-my-heart story!

So overall a good day and good night.

Today, I'm going to relax on all this a bit and do some 'me' stuff. Ya for me!!:D
 
in the meantime get caught up on some rest!
I did! Got to sleep in yesterday and today and it was magnificent!! It helps to have wonderful cozy sheets and blankets which we do. My husband says I make the bed so cozy, it's hard to get out. If any of you guys are into super soft sheets, you should check out these microfiber sheets called PeachSkin Sheets . They are incredibly soft. I will never go back to Egyptian cotton again!
 
Thanks for that. I've been so disappointed in my new sheets lately. These even come in twin L which fits our king/split orthopedic bed. Too bad I haven't slept in my bed in almost a year. It's the couch for me with Doodles but DH will appreciate them.
Oh NO! Get back in your bed Karen! You gotta fix that situation.

Yes, I'm obsessed with Peach Skin sheets- I tell everyone about them and have purchased sets for others as well. Besides how fantastic these sheets are, they are reasonably priced, too. You can get a king set for $80 and many times on sale for $55. I have spent double or more that on high thread count Egyptian cotton and softness-wise there is nothing that compares to these sheets.

I was just at their website and saw they now carry Duvet's too! I'm drooling! Ya!

These are also great sheets for pet owners! They don't trap pet hair like other sheets tend to if your little buddy likes to snuggle on your bed with you.
 
@Beth 73 @LizzieInTexas @Taffysmama Beth, Lizzie, and Julie- I got my headlamp today! Practiced with it a little and MAN what a difference. I can actually see the lines more clearly and the spaces between the lines. This is going to be a game changer! Thanks for the suggestion Lizzie!

So, now that I can actually see...I am curious whether or not I have been dosing correctly. What I notice under magnification is that the black plunger line is actually THICKER than the measurement lines on the barrel. So where do you stop for each measurement? For example, if you are measuring 1U, is the end of the black plunger exactly 'under' the line but level with it? Or directly "on" the line as in on top of it? I thought it was supposed to be "on top" of the line, but as I can now see more clearly, if this is the case, the line on the plunger cannot adequately line up exactly with any one dash line on the barrel because it is bigger/thicker than the dash line. If I try to put the end of the black tip on the plunger exactly over the barrel line, it is actually both above and below the barrel line at the same time. Does that make sense? So now I'm thinking its most appropriate to line up the end of the tip of the black plunger just underneath, touching the line I am going for (or the space inbetween in cases of .25 increments).

Is this correct???:p

Also got my feliway diffuser today.
 
I too was questioning my dosing accuracy. I use calipers now.

Read through this and if you are interested I (and others) can help you get started. There are several benefits to using the calipers to measure dosages.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dosing-with-calipers-updated-w-videos.79851/
Marje shared that link with me too a couple days ago. The think I am still confused by is how you tell how much is in 1u in your specific type syringes. Seems you have to take a bunch of them and squeeze out drop by drop and count how many drops are in 1U? I'm still not sure about this part.
 
So curious what we might expect over the next few days with the bounce....I realize Ozzy's numbers could be high for a few more cycles and then what? Should we expect to see a repeat of yesterday? Like similar? Or he could be lower? Just curious because I go back to work tomorrow and I have no idea what to expect the next coming days or if I should be worried about him continuing on the 1.25U or not?
 
I would have tested last night like you did too. Always good to get more data on cycles you can, vs. cycles you can't.

As for the dosing question, it really doesn't matter where you put the plunger, but rather than you put it in the same place each time. Consistency between shots is more important than your measurement being the same as mine.
I realize Ozzy's numbers could be high for a few more cycles and then what? Should we expect to see a repeat of yesterday? Like similar? Or he could be lower? Just curious because I go back to work tomorrow and I have no idea what to expect the next coming days or if I should be worried about him continuing on the 1.25U or not?
So, you are asking us to predict what a cat will do? :p:cat: My crystal ball is a little foggy today. But yes, I would guess that he will see green again on this dose. Remind me, do you have an autofeeder? Is Ozzy a grazer or a hoover? On the days that you work, is there any chance of getting a test after the shot? Some people will do TFS first thing they get up, then get ready for work and do a test as they go out the door. Based on what they see for the second test, they can put low, medium, or higher carb food out for snacking.
 
Marje shared that link with me too a couple days ago. The think I am still confused by is how you tell how much is in 1u in your specific type syringes. Seems you have to take a bunch of them and squeeze out drop by drop and count how many drops are in 1U? I'm still not sure about this part.
Not the way we did it here (Hubby helped me). We took a sampling of 10 or so syringes and measured the distance between 2-3 unit hash marks (1U) using the calipers using the millimeter measure type (mm measure in 100's and is easier to divide vs. inches). It is easier to measure between two hash marks that are higher up on the syringe. The reason for doing this is that the syringe hash marks vary (even among batches of the same type and brand). With the small quantity that we are using consistency matters.

After taking the measurements we took the average of all and came up with the caliper measurement for 1U. After you have that measurement dose increases/decreases become an adjustment to the caliper vs. trying to figure out where that new dose is using the hash mark (is it above/below/even, etc.).

It is important that you NOT change the syringes you are using (same exact syringes - yes, even same "size" syringe brands are different or re-calibrate again with the sampling) - then you can be confident that your are measuring the doses consistently.

For example - here is my syringes

1.50mm = 1.0U
0.75mm = 0.5U
1.125mm = 0.75U
1.5mm = 1.0U
1.875mm = 1.25U
2.25mm = 1.5U

0.15mm = 0.10U

Once you have your 1U measurement - you divide it by 1/4 (quarter) which is the increments we use here to adjust dosage until you get really small (0.1U) and increase/decrease your measurement on the calipers.

1.50 / 4 = 0.375
 
So, you are asking us to predict what a cat will do? :p:cat:
Yes! No, just kidding. Just was curious what are common patterns after a bounce.
Is Ozzy a grazer or a hoover?
He used to be a hoover, especially on dry food. But he eats a lot slower now that his meals are wet food only. I kind of found that an interesting switch in his feeding behavior.
Remind me, do you have an autofeeder?
Yes, but I'm not really good at using it yet during the days on weekends. I do set it at night and the days I'm a work.
On the days that you work, is there any chance of getting a test after the shot? Some people will do TFS first thing they get up, then get ready for work and do a test as they go out the door. Based on what they see for the second test, they can put low, medium, or higher carb food out for snacking.
I can try to get a +1 before heading out the door. I could have Hubby do it but he is not a fan of cleaning and prepping the autofeeder, so that would have to be me. Also, isn't there typically a food spike at +1? So hard to tell where he would be going later in the cycle?
 
1.50mm = 1.0U
0.75mm = 0.5U
1.125mm = 0.75U
1.5mm = 1.0U
1.875mm = 1.25U
2.25mm = 1.5U

0.15mm = 0.10U
Wow! I'm pretty shocked by the variance on the syringes. It's a shame they are not sold in accurate measurements for something as important as insulin, even for humans.

Thanks for this explanation. Helps!
 
Also, isn't there typically a food spike at +1?
Usually yes there is a food spike. But if there isn't, then it can be a sign of an active cycle. For data gathering purposes, you might want to get a few +1's when you can monitor the cycle, and see if it tells you anything.
 
Wow! I'm pretty shocked by the variance on the syringes. It's a shame they are not sold in accurate measurements for something as important as insulin, even for humans.

Thanks for this explanation. Helps!
I was shocked also. I wondered at the time how do the administer to babies (human).
 
Wow...surprised by the PMPS of 232 after he was so high today. Are we clearing the bounce (or wobbling in between)? Same dose? 1.25U? Shooting in 10 mins.

Thanks!

Joanna
 
Wonder if he went lower this cycle and just came back up to 232? I gave him a pokey-break today so don't know much about this cycle other than his +3 and +6. Darn!

232 is his lowest PS so far on lantus.
 
Also kept food away from his at the later part of his cycle (he was getting between 2-3 hours before dinner time..oops:oops:) so maybe that could account for his lower PS number too?
 
Gonna go with the 1.25U again if no one is around...

Sorry!!! I should test a little sooner so I can post back in time to get advice.

Thanks!
 
He could be clearing the bounce. Or he might come down, go back up for a high before the break, and clear tomorrow.

I would hold the dose but be sure you get a +2
 
He could be clearing the bounce. Or he might come down, go back up for a high before thschool break, and clear tomorrow.

I would hold the dose but be sure you get a +2
Thanks! Shooting now. I will be able to make it to +4 or +5 maybe.

Hope you are enjoying your vaca Marje. It was nice and sunny today here in So Cal, but supposed to rain pretty hard tonight. Hopefully it's not too wet down there in SD.

Going to use my fancy new headlamp magnifier right now! Haha!
 
One adult beverage and my crystal ball is hazy!

IMG_1377.JPG



Thanks...gorgeous weather today. We spent all day on the USS Midway....amazing!
 
I am excited! I am pretty confident we are getting blues tonight but maybe even some greens again, too!

Since I can't stay up to monitor much later than +4 maybe +5, if he starts getting too low, I'll put out some MC food in his feeder and make sure to tide him over for the night. Wish us luck!
 
One adult beverage and my crystal ball is hazy!

img_1377-jpg.25530



Thanks...gorgeous weather today. We spent all day on the USS Midway....amazing!
Haha! Nice!
Yes, I've been down there and been on the USS Midway. You can take a nice toot around the harbor there too. Also, Coronado Bay is right across the water and lots of super cute shops and places to eat. I'd take the ferry (it takes like 15 mins) because I'm terrified of the Coronado Bay bridge! Glad you guys are enjoying yourselves!
 
Haha! Nice!
Yes, I've been down there and been on the USS Midway. You can take a nice toot around the harbor there too. Also, Coronado Bay is right across the water and lots of super cute shops and places to eat. I'd take the ferry (it takes like 15 mins) because I'm terrified of the Coronado Bay bridge! Glad you guys are enjoying yourselves!
We usually stay on Coronado Island so opted to stay downtown this time so we could walk most places. We are at the Manchester Grand Hyatt right on the harbor with an amazing view of San Diego Bay, Coronado, and Loma Point.:)
 
We usually stay on Coronado Island so opted to stay downtown this time so we could walk most places. We are at the Manchester Grand Hyatt right on the harbor with an amazing view of San Diego Bay, Coronado, and Loma Point.:)
NICE! We stayed on Coronado Island last year for 5 days for our Anniversary. It's nice and quaint, but downtown definitely has a lot more to offer and all walking distance.
 
No blues at +2=202 but close. At least I know he is not dropping too fast and I am hopeful to get a +4 before bed and won't have to worry.
 
Ozzy, what a good boy to give Mama that blue she wanted before she turned in for the night! Now up on your surfboard and hang ten!
7_3_205.gif~c200


Thanks for the tip about the sheets. Of course, I now have to order a set and see for myself!
:rolleyes:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top