10/05 Nelli +9.5 139 PMPS 176

How is she feeling? Is she eating for you? Pooping?

If it is her mouth bothering her, the numbers will jump up. Glad the dental appointment is Monday.
 
I switched to a partially used pen I bought from a member a month or two ago, earlier this week. It also was left out all night a couple days ago… I am wondering if this dramatic(?) rise in Nelli readings might have something to do with the Lantus pen I’ve been using? This morning I switch back to my 10 ML bottle which still has some juice in it.
 
I must be taking the crazy pills today...I wrote a big post to you Krystina...about the up/down sugar dance..

no where to be seen...no idea where all that typing must have gone off to :(
 
I am not happy... could not get a +2 or even a +2 1/2! Had someone arrive at home to pressure clean outside who needed my attention for an hour plus! Could not get in to test Nellie :-( I guess I could have stopped the show outside and said I’d be right back :banghead::banghead::banghead: right!?
 
As long as it's clear no floaties in it it's unlikely that just leaving it out for one night has caused the problem.

It's more likely that there is something else going on.

Have you discussed the dental procedure with the vet?
Insulin looks fine...
Yes, have spoken with dentist a couple times this week… Was put on a cancellation list but lost that one. Monday morning at 9 AM Eastern time she is seeing the dentist. I discovered, determined that all the mouth antics and the pain is coming from cold food!?! I gave her some Rawz 1/3 c.dry yesterday and about 1/4 c. Last night... BINGO!? Reason BG went up? DAH?
In my mind I had always thought this was all meat, freeze dried if you will. Never knew about carbohydrates before joining FDMB. Image attached is ingredients. Does this look like a pretty high carb dry food?
Now, you are probably wondering why Krystina did you deviate from the Rad Cat and throw in some dry?!? (I had a senior day :-()
Think at time; reasoning: I did this specifically to see if the crunchy dry, although I put plenty of water in which softened it some… Would cause her the same mouth drama exercise. Well, guess what she did not seem it did not- I realized that what was bothering her mouth/teeth was the cold.
 
Last edited:
RAWZ
 

Attachments

  • upload_2018-10-5_9-53-54.jpeg
    upload_2018-10-5_9-53-54.jpeg
    85.7 KB · Views: 64
How is she feeling? Is she eating for you? Pooping?
She is feeling good? Seriously, almost the olè Nelli? She is eating fine and pooping and urinating good? Had her treats this morning after the +3 dang (I’m pissed off at myself about missing +2!).
I think Bobby if you will look at my posting above it was my totally spacing out on giving her the Rawz dry. What do you think?
 
Pea starch, dried peas tapioca..... what do you think? I can gaurantee this won't be below 10% carb, most regular dry foods are in the 20 something range, I can't tell by looking at that list of ingredients. But yes it will have most definately impacted numbers.

Do you put the wet food in the fridge? I just leave the tins out of ther fridge, my cats don't like the cold food, I think it's cause they can't smell it. Perhaps if you leave it out of the fridge it will cause her less discomfort.

The fact that eating cold food is bothering her points to her teeth being an issue.

Do you know if the dentist is going to take xrays? sometimes they can't see the problem because it's below the gum line, likewise it's preferable that they take xrays after the procedure to make sure they have not left any bits of bad teeth behind when they do the extractions, we've seen more than once where that has become an issue for a cat after a dental. Just thinking about Nellis age and wanting to be sure that they got it all so she doesn't have to face anaesthetic again.
 
Pea starch, dried peas tapioca..... what do you think? I can gaurantee this won't be below 10% carb, most regular dry foods are in the 20 something range, I can't tell by looking at that list of ingredients. But yes it will have most definately impacted numbers.

Do you put the wet food in the fridge? I just leave the tins out of ther fridge, my cats don't like the cold food, I think it's cause they can't smell it. Perhaps if you leave it out of the fridge it will cause her less discomfort.

The fact that eating cold food is bothering her points to her teeth being an issue.

Do you know if the dentist is going to take xrays? sometimes they can't see the problem because it's below the gum line, likewise it's preferable that they take xrays after the procedure to make sure they have not left any bits of bad teeth behind when they do the extractions, we've seen more than once where that has become an issue for a cat after a dental. Just thinking about Nellis age and wanting to be sure that they got it all so she doesn't have to face anaesthetic again.
Yes, I saw the starches, dried peas tapioca I knew after looking at that there were carbs for sure just didn’t know how much? Dang dang dang 20 something carbs. I will send a pic of the ingredients list of the analysis. Dang it impacted numbers! Has this set her back completely Now from the good week she started having or once they dry wears off so to speak she should go back down into low blow and high greens?
 
Last edited:
Do you put the wet food in the fridge? I just leave the tins out of ther fridge, my cats don't like the cold food, I think it's cause they can't smell it. Perhaps if you leave it out of the fridge it will cause her less discomfort.
Yes I have to. It raw... very perishable o_O
 
could you warm it up by zapping it for a few seconds in the microwave?
Yes. Also I can and have let it shake it’s cold where it is a little lukewarm. I’m now wondering, thinking @Gill & George it could be the stoupyness of it too?
I will will see, won’t I, ar dinner time?! :)
One other question, should I feed her a tablespoon or two as a snack before dinner time or just wait until dinner time to feed her?
 
George recently got into some dry food while I was away on vacation, my friend was pet/housesitting for us, she was leaving dry food out for the outdoor cats, on a high window sill (this was shortly after his dental) You can see on may 30th he suddenly jumped to yellow, he'd been feeling so much better after his procedure that my friend let him out into the courtyard, thinking that at his ripe old age he wouldn't get to the kibble, we had a bit of a scare when we saw those yellows, after that incident he was grounded and not allowed out he promtlpr got back to normal.
So that's an example of how a kibble raid can affect BG.

You cannot use the gaurante analysis to determine carb content, as they are only max and Min values for the food groups. You have to get in touch with the manufaxmanuf and ask for the as fed values.sorry
 
after that incident he was grounded and not allowed out he promtlpr got back to normal.
George was naughty but no doubt enjoyed :cat:!!!
Thanks, I will look at your SS :)
Ok on the Analysis... might just call them to find out how bad it was if I get a chance, but it is what it is right :banghead:?
 
Running around like a chicken with its neck cut cut off… I am slammed busy juggling this and that and trying to be prompt with responding on for him :-) taking off now for about 30 minutes will be back! By the way I decided not to test Nelli again now until +6 and then at PMPS because I know she is hanging high based on dry food! What do you think about this?
 
Based upon steep drop from +3 @ 215 to +6 @146 is it important (I truly don’t know) if I should test her more this afternoon? If so what you suggest? Thanks for the input to any and all :)!
 
That was a good call checking in at +6,

Typically we would expect her to slow down in the second half of the cycle, but she seems to be steadily dropping, and we have the food issue to contemplate as well.

She dropped 50 pts in 3 hrs, (unlesse she dipped lower and is actually on her way up), I'd probably aim to get a +8 or +9 whichever fits in best with your schedule, and I would definitely get at least a +11 later. The +11 in this case would help you assess if she is still dropping at PS, and this is important, because when we shoot a falling number we need to pay particular attention to the early part of the cycle (ie +1 and +2, or at the very least a +2), when you compare the +2 to the pmps it will give you an indication of how active the pm cycle will be. A +2 that's about the same or lower would indicate an active cycle and the lower the +2 is in comparison to the pmps the more active you can expect the cycle to be.

Can I ask you a question that has just come to me? the dry food you mentioned above, when have you fed that? Had you stopped altogether and just the last couple of days (please specify dates) or have you been intermittently feeding it from the get go?
It's important that we know, I'm thinking about dose, if you have been feeding it on and off intermittently, the extra carb load will have impacted BG and consequently the dosing, if you now remove it altogether that will also impact dose, and we might need to be more agressive with the reductions. There is no judgement here about what you have been feeding, just need to know so that we can be sure to keep your Nelli safe.
 
Vet dentist office called reminding me not to give Nelli her AM shot.
Vet tech told me to bring Nellie‘s insulin. They would check her BG before they administrerd anesthesia and after procedure was complete. ( #1 told them that the BG reading would be potentially quite high because of stress.)
They also told me that they needed me to bring insulin with... because they may need to give her some.
I told her that Lantus is a depot insulin therefore she can only have every 12 hours… If I miss a dose I don’t give again until “usual” PM time?
-Told me (usually) request fasting but since Nelli has diabetes she probably needs to eat?
Does she need to eat, not be fasting or ok to fast?
Vet office just called waiting for me to call back before closing which is in one hour!? to let them know whether she will be fasting or not and then they will advise accordingly.
THANKS a million for your input :bighug:!


Could/Would someone please help me out with advice? greatly appreciate it! One other thing I need to share…
 
Yesterday first time at breakfast 1/2 cup (33 hours ago), than another1/3 cup at dinner 21 hours ago)... <1 tbl. This morning mixed with Rad Cat (10 hours ago)-

I'm glad you've found out why she had those high numbers! Now if I could just figure out all of Luci's wonky numbers! I see you're having a crazy afternoon...hope you get everything ironed out for Monday - that'll be a big day.

I would not give vet insulin to administer. When I took Luci for dental they told me the same thing - fasting after mid-night; no food (so no a.m. insulin) she got her shot at home from her mama at 7:15 or so - think we were late from picking her up because the vet was fooling around and made us wait forever to get her...she did fine.
 
7:15 am day of or 7:15 pm day of?

Luci was supposed to be left at the vet in the morning - so no shot/food in the a.m. - I was able to take her home after 5 and she got her p.m. shot with food at home (after testing)...I'll look at my SS to see the exact date and notes...
 
Back
Top