10/18/17 Squallie AMPS 124, +4/53

Status
Not open for further replies.

Squalliesmom

Member Since 2015
Yesterday

The vet called me back this morning, and we're starting Squallie on AB eardrops that have a small amount of steroids in them. Hopefully this does the trick! His ear seemed a bit better late last night but this morning it was starting to get hot again. On a positive note, his eye seems to be doing quite well!

ETA: I think this morning's shot was at least a partial fur-shot! My hand spasmed just as I pushed the plunger on the syringe, causing it to jerk to the side - I know at least one droplet of insulin hit me, but I couldn't smell it on Squallie, so it's anybody's guess as to how much actually made it into the cat!

Prayers and healing vines for all in need of them.
 
Yikes those darn Fs's I did one yesterday:banghead:
Hope the AB does the job!!!
Thanks, Deb. It was really bizarre, I was just giving his shot as usual when, all of a sudden, my hand just jerked and I got hit with a drop of insulin! Haven't had a fur shot in ages, before today. :banghead::rolleyes:
 
I'm glad Squallie's eye is better. I hope the AB helps his ear. The AB may make his BG higher since it has a steroid in it. What is the name of it? Sending prayers. :bighug:
 
I'm glad Squallie's eye is better. I hope the AB helps his ear. The AB may make his BG higher since it has a steroid in it. What is the name of it? Sending prayers. :bighug:
Yes, I was afraid of that (the meds making his BG higher) but hopefully it'll clear up any problem in just a few days and he won't have to be on it very long. It's Tresaderm, and it says "...systemic side effects are not likely with topically applied corticosteroids..." so we'll see. Thanks for the prayers, we certainly can use them! :bighug::bighug:
 
Furball was given Tresaderm right before she had her OTJ trial and it shot her BG up. I hope it doesn't affect Sqaullie. Has he started the Tresaderm yet?
 
Furball was given Tresaderm right before she had her OTJ trial and it shot her BG up. I hope it doesn't affect Sqaullie. Has he started the Tresaderm yet?
Yes, he had his first application around lunch-time. Was Furball's given topically? I was really afraid it would have that effect!!! Guess, I'll know more when I test him next time.:nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting:
 
Even if it does raise his BG, once he's done with the AB you'll be able to get his numbers back down. If his numbers start going up while on the Tresaderm, you may need to increase his dose.
 
Even if it does raise his BG, once he's done with the AB you'll be able to get his numbers back down. If his numbers start going up while on the Tresaderm, you may need to increase his dose.
Thanks for the heads-up, Carla! Hopefully he'll only be on it for 5 days or less. :nailbiting: :bighug:
 
I hope the drops clear it up for the Sqaul man ;)
I doubt 5 days will cause too much of a interruption ..... Rico was on oral budesonide for several months before it affected his BG. Tresaderm I am pretty sure is not too offensive:bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top