10/21 Jenn'sCrew update

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey, Jen!

I'm wondering if Oreo is dropping lower during the PM cycle. Is there any chance you can get a test later in the cycle?

I'd keep an eye on Tigger's dose. I'm not sure if the dose reduction is going to hold. (Is the 1.0u at yesterday's AMPS a typo?)

One thought re. Rose, if you can, you might consider fattening her dose. You've got a little bit of room. Her numbers look good overall.

(The link to your previous condo isn't working, BTW.)

 
Cassius AMPS 77
Cassius is looking nice and steady Jenn!

Rose AMPS 136
I would just leave Rose where she is with all the kitties you have. Her nadirs are in the 70's which is a comfortable spot IMHO

Tigger AMPS 191
Looks like you're a bit undecided on Tigger with the few dose changes between 1u & .75u. As you know changing doses too often will give some wonky numbers. I agree with Sienne.

Abby AMPS 234
Urg...frustrating I know. Hope she's feeling good regardless. I'd try to increase every 6 cycles unless you see a blue pop in there.

Shadow AMPS 73
Congrats on the reducie to .1!! Super exciting and keep it green Shadow.

Oreo AMPS 238
He's a little bouncy. Only suggestion is if you see that PM +3 a lot lower than PMPS you might grab another test.

Mikey AMPS 117
He's look good.
 
The issue with the more PM tests (for Oreo specifically) is I shoot at 9pm so the plus 3 is 12am, +4 is 1am etc. and then I'll be pulling all nighters and my sleep is already crazy and one reason I get hesitant with Tigger's dose, especially at PM, and "reduce" the dose amount. Not to mention the times he has gone under 50 he does not do well. He stops eating and then I have to find a new food for him to eat and throws up a lot.

I was thinking about giving Rose just a drop more to bring down the pre shot #'s

Abby- ugh. I need to get her IAA/acro tested. It's very hard to give 13u of insulin, she definitely feels it going in
 
Jenn, you do a great job and have so much on your plate. Certainly no criticism here just observations. Safety is always first and you know your kitties best :bighug::bighug::bighug:

I will comment on Lantus potentially stinging Abby. When Doodles was in the upper range on lantus it clearly "hurt" him especially in the 10-12 unit range. I hated switching to Levemir because of the late nadir but it is clearly a better choice for Doodles.
 
Regarding Oreo, if on the chance that you wake up during the night, could you get a test in? That might be one way to figure out if Oreo is dropping later in the PM cycle and not totally trash your sleep.

One thought re. Abby is that Lantus may sting in the larger amounts. Many of the acro/IAA caregivers end up switching over to Lev since it doesn't sting. As Karen noted, there are definitely trade offs given the difference in onset and nadir. It was one reason I never switched Gabby to Lev.

 
Many of the acro/IAA caregivers end up switching over to Lev since it doesn't sting. As Karen noted, there are definitely trade offs given the difference in onset and nadir.
Levemir has wreaked havoc on my sleeping patterns but I only have Doodles so it's a sacrifice I'm willing to take. It hasn't been easy.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top