10-23 Ittle +12=60 +12.5=57 +13=56 +14 =74 +16=104 +18=102 /shot +1=80 +1.5=62 +2=60

Briere Fur Mom

Member Since 2019
10-22 (Yesterday) I hope everyone has a wonderful day. Kitties...be good and don't follow Ittle's lead today. He's been quite a mystery this morning!

I'll change my condo to reflect AMPS once it's time to test/shoot. I just wanted to say I think this is going to be the first morning I get to shoot a green # with Ittle. I don't think his #'s are going to come up much by 10:30/AMPS. I'm very nervous and tired after our PJ party last night/this morning. Please just keep an eye out for us today. Send all of your good thoughts and prayers to guide our way. And please Ittle, no serious drama. Mommy might have a slight panic attack!:nailbiting:
Thank y'all!
Also, I'll do some housekeeping, as well, to reflect Ittle's TR trial.
Advice is always appreciated!

Update
***Whew*** what a roller coaster of a morning. Ittle is doing his 18 hour thing again with a reduction tomorrow morning. Boy the next few cycles should be very interesting indeed!

Ittle +18=102
 
Last edited:
If you shoot your first green this AM, make sure it is a rising number not a falling number. And start by getting a +1 since it would be the lowest you have shot.

It’s always exciting to shot the first green. :D
That's my concern....if it's going to be a rising #. Just recently I did an 18 hour cycle with Ittle because I wasn't comfortable shooting a 76. His #'s actually fell down to 70 @ +12.5. He didn't start rising until +1-+2. So the overlap is very concerning to me:nailbiting:
 
Now I'm having real concerns....he's dropped to 49. What should I do? Technically I'm not supposed to be feeding for accurate AMPS. Should I feed with him going down? Don't know what to do!
 
Good job getting the +11, when you get the amps compare that to the +11.

If the number is rising then that is likely indicating the end of the cycle, so by the time the shot you give in the morning onsets he is likely to be quite a bit higher.
To some extent that will also hold true if the numbers are flat.
If he is dropping you could stall and retest, waiting to catch the rise.

You might want to take a look at this thread.
Though as Bobbie suggested you might not want your first green to be a dropping number, shooting a dropping number, to quote a long time member, 'shooting a dropping number can be a gift' take a look at her views on the subject in this thread
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/tight-regulation-slgs-myths-debunked.111088/
I had a light bulb moment when I first read it.





I will be around by shot time so I will look in on you. However, I have to go out pretty soon after your shot time so i wouldn't be able to hang out with you.
 
49 was at +11. He was 65 at +10
~Sorry misread the ss, my bad.
So as you fed the 49 perhaps grab a +11.5 see if he is heading in the right direction.

The below is taken from this sticky/ thought it would be useful to have a read through it, for next time.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...y-to-shoot-handle-lower-pre-shot-numbers.147/

Some general rules when stalling (ECID):
  • 50s or higher – don’t feed. The number will bump up on its own soon due to the insulin wearing off.
  • 40s or lower – you have a couple of choices.
    • When 40s occur at the end of the cycle, it can be beneficial to withhold food and test in 15-20 minutes to determine if kitty is on the rise or hasn’t reached nadir yet.
    • If they are hanging in the 40s for a while, or if they are still dropping, it is ok to feed a tsp or two of LC and retest. This is very tricky. You want to avoid feeding too much while you’re waiting for them to go over 50, because you don’t want to artificially inflate the number with food.
      • Example: if kitty is 43 and you feed a whole meal, or feed some HC, and the number bumps up to 52, is that the cat’s natural end-of-cycle rise, or is it food spike? What if it is food spike? Then if you shoot the 52, when the food wears off he might drop back to the 40’s (and when insulin kicks in a couple of hours later, you might have a problem). If the 52 is the cat’s natural rise, then he will probably keep rising for the next few hours until insulin kicks in. If you can’t tell whether the number is food spike or natural rise, it’s safest to wait. Your data will help you here. Study the spreadsheet. How much food spike does the cat usually get? How many hours after the shot does the insulin’s onset usually occur in this cat? At what number is the cat likely to be when onset occurs? If the cat does drop, how easy/hard is it to regain control of the numbers? How carb sensitive is he?
  • Test often (every 15-20 minutes, or at most every 30 minutes). You want to catch the rise the minute it starts. With most of our cats, once they start to rise they will really zoom. You want to get the insulin in as soon as possible, because it will be another 2-3 hours before the insulin kicks in and you don’t want to let the cycle get too far ahead of you.
Perhaps the most important guideline in shooting low is that any time you shoot your lowest ever number, you should get a +1 and +2 to give you an idea of how the cycle will go. If the +1 is not higher than PS, or if +2 is much lower than PS, that means “pay attention” over the next few hours. Those tests will also help you become even more data ready for the next time you are presented with a low preshot reading.
 
I just want to clarify: your signature says you are following SLGS yet you haven’t been taking reductions under 90.

If you switched to TR , could you change it in your signature.

And remember to take the reduction at the next shot .
 
+11.5=66. Not sure if this is the MC food bumpo_O
No food now and let see what he does at amps.

Hopefully the numbers will make it easy for you to decide to shoot and stay on schedule, I would want to see them rising significantly.

If the amps is flat, could you delay shooting and feeding him his full breakfast till +13, since you fed at +11 (2hrs later) +13 we would know that the number was not food influenced.
Could you handle being of schedule by one hour?
 
I just want to clarify: your signature says you are following SLGS yet you haven’t been taking reductions under 90.

If you switched to TR , could you change it in your signature.

And remember to take the reduction at the next shot .
Yes...I have some housekeeping to do on my signature. I haven't been following the SLGS by not reducing per guidelines. :arghh:
 
No food now and let see what he does at amps.

Hopefully the numbers will make it easy for you to decide to shoot and stay on schedule, I would want to see them rising significantly.

If the amps is flat, could you delay shooting and feeding him his full breakfast till +13, since you fed at +11 (2hrs later) +13 we would know that the number was not food influenced.
Could you handle being of schedule by one hour?

I like that idea.
 
No food now and let see what he does at amps.

Hopefully the numbers will make it easy for you to decide to shoot and stay on schedule, I would want to see them rising significantly.

If the amps is flat, could you delay shooting and feeding him his full breakfast till +13, since you fed at +11 (2hrs later) +13 we would know that the number was not food influenced.
Could you handle being of schedule by one hour?
Sounds like a plan and yes I'm here all day. No schedule conflicts
 
Remember, when/if you shoot, you need to take a reduction of 0.25u.

I'm afraid I have to go out now, I'm so sorry I can't stay with you.

I hope we have given you some options. Continue posting, as hopefully some other folk will come on line. I'll check in with you later, in about 4 or 5 hours.
 
Remember, when/if you shoot, you need to take a reduction of 0.25u.

I'm afraid I have to go out now, I'm so sorry I can't stay with you.

I hope we have given you some options. Continue posting, as hopefully some other folk will come on line. I'll check in with you later, in about 4 or 5 hours.
Thank you so much for your help and guidance!
 
On the reduction....I've been giving 1.1u. At a .25u reduction I'd be dealing with .85u. Does anyone have a caliper measurement on a Relion syringe for that fine of a dose. I've checked Sue and Luci's SS but they only have the measurements .8u and .9u. My brain can't do the math right now for the exact caliper measurement to get .85u.:arghh: Would you suggest just taking him down to .8u or .9u?
 
Could he be an 18 hour cycle cat? Maybe the dose is just a tad too high for him? Is his lil pancreas starting to sputter? So many questions.
If his #'s don't start to rebound shortly...maybe try another 18 hour cycle with him at the 1.1u dose. I would be dosing at +6 - 4:30pm. Than the following AMPS(10-24), next shot time, reduce his dose down to the .8u? Just trying to think ahead. I'm very sorry for obligating your time this morning:oops:
 
Could he be an 18 hour cycle cat? Maybe the dose is just a tad too high for him? Is his lil pancreas starting to sputter? So many questions.
If his #'s don't start to rebound shortly...maybe try another 18 hour cycle with him at the 1.1u dose. I would be dosing at +6 - 4:30pm. Than the following AMPS(10-24), next shot time, reduce his dose down to the .8u? Just trying to think ahead. I'm very sorry for obligating your time this morning:oops:
That’s not a bad idea and I was mulling the exact same thing over !

And you could make it easier on yourself, and when you do the reduction , just make it an even .75.
 
That’s not a bad idea and I was mulling the exact same thing over !

And you could make it easier on yourself, and when you do the reduction , just make it an even .75.
Since he's staying flat I think the 18 hour cycle dosing at his normal 1.1u today(if #'s are appropriate) and reducing to .75u with his AMPS tomorrow sounds dandy. I realize his #'s are going to be incredibly screwy the next few cycles with an 18 hour cycle followed by a reduction:rolleyes: I guess I'll go ahead and feed him LC than pull his food 2 hours prior to +6(shot time).
Thank you Bobbie for all of your time and support this morning! I could have easily made a huge mistake, that I would have regretted the rest of my life, if I didn't reach out. Y'all were here for us!!!! You absolutely ROCK!:bighug:

Now for some housekeeping on our condo. Poor Moey feels left out. He hasn't had any of his info displayed this morning:facepalm:
 
Since he's staying flat I think the 18 hour cycle dosing at his normal 1.1u today(if #'s are appropriate) and reducing to .75u with his AMPS tomorrow sounds dandy. I realize his #'s are going to be incredibly screwy the next few cycles with an 18 hour cycle followed by a reduction:rolleyes: I guess I'll go ahead and feed him LC than pull his food 2 hours prior to +6(shot time).
Thank you Bobbie for all of your time and support this morning! I could have easily made a huge mistake, that I would have regretted the rest of my life, if I didn't reach out. Y'all were here for us!!!! You absolutely ROCK!:bighug:

Now for some housekeeping on our condo. Poor Moey feels left out. He hasn't had any of his info displayed this morning:facepalm:
You are so welcome! Just playing it forward. I had SO much help when I first came here.
 
He's @+16=104.
Thanks for keeping an eye on us:)
Did you feed again? if so what time was it?

Take not of what his cycle does, you can see he is rising now, combination of food and end of cycle.

It's always tough when you get low numbers at the end of a cycle, since we try not to feed the numbers can sometimes fail to come up, just through lack of food.

It will be interesting to see where his numbers head from here.
 
Back
Top