10-24 Ittle +12=76 +12.5=68 +13=81 +14=73 +18=83 +24=78/Moey AMPS=310 +2=220 +3=203 +5.5=176

Briere Fur Mom

Member Since 2019
10-23 (Yesterday)Good morning. I will change my condo to reflect today's #'s. Just looking for some advice for Ittle this morning. Obviously I don't want to make the same mistake as yesterday. What # do y'all think is a good shootable # this morning. I put out MC/LC mixed @ 2:30am....I needed sleep desperately. His #'s haven't really rebounded like I assumed they would this morning. Thoughts? He will be getting his reduction if he's at a shootable #.
Stalling 30 min w/o food(10:27am).
Ok, we've decided to not shoot this morning, let the depo drain a little. This is a good opportunity for us to collect some data.
Hats off to Gill and Bobbie for their incredible expertise! Not only did they have to deal with Ittle's #'s but, they also had to deal with a sleep deprived, nerve racked CG! How do they do it with such grace?!! I can't thank them enough!
Anywho, I hope everyone has a most beautiful day! Kitties be safe for your beans!

****update****
Ittle +21=83
 
Last edited:
If you are able to monitor today, and have plenty of supplies, 76 is a safe number to shoot. A lot of the time when you shoot a green number the cat will surf. They don't have drastic drops because they are starting out low. I'm at work and can't stay with you. If you shoot, keep your subject line update. Ittle is looking good.
 
If you are able to monitor today, and have plenty of supplies, 76 is a safe number to shoot. A lot of the time when you shoot a green number the cat will surf. They don't have drastic drops because they are starting out low. I'm at work and can't stay with you. If you shoot, keep your subject line update. Ittle is looking good.
Thanks. After yesterdays experience...I'm hesitant to shoot the 76. I shot a 102, on a 18 hour cycle, yesterday and that's where the fun began. He has not rebounded like expected even with MC food overnight.
 
Hi there!
He's looking good, I was talking to Bobbie earlier and we both felt he wasn't going to bounce.

Have you fed yet? or have you stalled?
 
Hi there!
He's looking good, I was talking to Bobbie earlier and we both felt he wasn't going to bounce.

Have you fed yet? or have you stalled?
I'm stalling and have not fed yet. He had MC/LC overnight...pulled at 9am. So, #'s are not rebounding as expected even with the MC and the 18 hour cycle. I'm clueless
 
Usually it's preferable to slowly ease him off the insulin, I think he is looking good, but continuing insulin support for as long as it's safe to do so, is the best way to ensure a remission that holds. Too often I have seen kitties where CG has rushed remission and lo and behold kitty is back on insulin a few months later. It takes time for those fragile beta cells of the pancreas to get strong and the insulin support helps them heal fully.
He does seem to be on a mission, after all the carbs and those two 18 hour cycles, you would have thought he would have been a bit higher. However, his depot probably got over full with not taking the reduction last night, and that may be in part what is keeping his numbers down.

If after the day you both had yesterday you want to skip, then that would be an option, gather some data and see how the day develops.

He is at a safe number to shoot on TR, so as long as you can be home and have supplies and you feel you could get him to eat then you could go ahead and shoot, the reduced dose 0.75u.

If that is scary and you don't feel comfortable, you could shoot a one off token dose a BCS (Big Chicken Shot:)), lets say of 0.25u.

How you do feel about all that? What would you like to do?
 
Usually it's preferable to slowly ease him off the insulin, I think he is looking good, but continuing insulin support for as long as it's safe to do so, is the best way to ensure a remission that holds. Too often I have seen kitties where CG has rushed remission and lo and behold kitty is back on insulin a few months later. It takes time for those fragile beta cells of the pancreas to get strong and the insulin support helps them heal fully.
He does seem to be on a mission, after all the carbs and those two 18 hour cycles, you would have thought he would have been a bit higher. However, his depot probably got over full with not taking the reduction last night, and that may be in part what is keeping his numbers down.

If after the day you both had yesterday you want to skip, then that would be an option, gather some data and see how the day develops.

He is at a safe number to shoot on TR, so as long as you can be home and have supplies and you feel you could get him to eat then you could go ahead and shoot, the reduced dose 0.75u.

If that is scary and you don't feel comfortable, you could shoot a one off token dose a BCS (Big Chicken Shot:)), lets say of 0.25u.

How you do feel about all that? What would you like to do?
10:55am=68. I may just sit this one out and let the depo drain a little. Collect some data on what happens with no shot until PMPS. I will be here all day but, really my nerves need a little break. The BCS sounds good too but, I'd kinda like to see what happens with no new insulin in the system...just the depo.
 
OK, give yourselves a bit of a break.
I would get a +2, (after his breakfast) then a +6, a +9 and +11(by this time you can start thinking what you might shoot tonight). Do you think you can manage that it's a good spread. I'm particularly interested to see what his BG at +2 (ie 2 hrs after his food)
 
OK, give yourselves a bit of a break.
I would get a +2, (after his breakfast) then a +6, a +9 and +11(by this time you can start thinking what you might shoot tonight). Do you think you can manage that it's a good spread. I'm particularly interested to see what his BG at +2 (ie 2 hrs after his food)
Got it covered. I'm very interested in the data as well. He just ate so, I'll be poking shortly. I'll change my condo to reflect current events.
Thank you sooo much Gill! you're a life saver!:bighug:
 
Oh boy! This is just what Gill and I thought would happen!

I think skipping today is a good idea too. Let the depot drain and let momma bear relax a bit!

I too will be interested in today data without insulin. :)
Momma gets to take a nap today!!! I really hope I haven't ruined his progress but, we need to see some "non-fresh insulin" influenced data.
I hope you day is going well so far. Have a most wonderful day Bobbie! And thanks for checking in on us!:)
 
I'm glad Gill and Bobbie stopped by and gave you some advice. It will be interesting to see what happens today.
Gill and Bobbie are just incredible people! They held our hand/paw yesterday. The knowledge and support they provide is unsurpassed. :woot:
This is a great opportunity to see what Ittle can do working from the remaining depo. It should be an interesting day indeed!
Moey is starting to get busy a little earlier than normal for him. I'd love to see his #'s start to drop a bit more. Paws crossed!
Thanks for checking back in on us. Have a great day at work!
 
Mr. Ittle is really putting on a show today isn't he Briere! You sure did a great job - even though you said you were a 'wreck'. It is nerve wracking the first time..but really you'll get used to those lovely green numbers...and believe it or not, you'll want them to surf for as long as they can.:D I remember our first time in the lagoon - I thought I was going to have a heart attack! :eek: It was very exciting...but you did a lot of things right! I know you thought you made a mistake...but you were on top of it...and that's what counts. You had some excellent support and advice -you were never alone!:cat::cat:

As for Mr. Moey, even he appears to be doing better! Perhaps he's seeing all the excitement and doesn't want to be left out! :D

Oh what will you do when they're both in the lagoon at the same time! I've still gotta take my hat off to you for managing two at a time! Kudos to you!:joyful:

Have a great day Briere!:bighug::bighug:
 
Love the +6 with no insulin! It’s looking like a really good call skipping this AM.

Bring me up to snuff. Was Ittle on dry food prior to his numbers dropping? Because man the switch has been thrown !

I feel so remiss not commenting on Moey ‘s day. He hasn’t hit his dose yet. I hope there won’t be any sibling rivalry with this sugar dance. Remind him that it “ isn’t a sprint, it’s a marathon”.

ETA. I meant the + 18 not + 6
 
Last edited:
Love the +6 with no insulin! It’s looking like a really good call skipping this AM
His +6 is nice! I was really impressed with his drop after eating @+2. Not a big move but, enough to show me something's happening. Whether it's the depo still draining or his lil pancreas sputtering. I'm really looking forward to seeing the +9. It can't get here soon enough!
Bring me up to snuff. Was Ittle on dry food prior to his numbers dropping? Because man the switch has been thrown !
I switched him Dr. Elsey's 5 days prior to starting him on NPH so, about the third week in August. Before switching to the LC, he had eaten Blue Buffalo dry cat food his entire life...~13yrs.
He developed a yeast infection over the summer. He was treated with Tresaderm, which contains steroids. This was the only prescription medication ever used on him. He's had the occasional, as needed, fleas preventive but, that's it. He's always been very healthy. I picked up on some changes in his habits namely p/u p/u about a month after he finished his course of Tresaderm. So, I tested him. He was in the 300's. I called the local vet to have a panel done on him just to confirm and make sure I wasn't dealing with CRF. He was 310. So I decided immediately to change his diet to L/C and hesitated for about a week to begin the NPH. I was hoping I could get him to regulate some through diet alone. Not the case:rolleyes:
Moey is my old pro. He's been on this merry go round for about 5 years now. His trend seems to be more typical of Lantus users experience. He knows the ropes:p He will find his dose eventually. He did pretty good on the previous .75u until I had a wuss moment and was scared to shoot a rising 134. I reduced his dose, per SLGS. I've had to work him back up to that dose with his recent dosecrease. He'll get there. He is tremendously jealous of all the attention Ittle is getting!
As for tonight...gotta have a plan in place. If Ittle does start to rise, where it's obvious the depo has started to drain, what dose should he be getting? Hope it's not too tricky...he tends to be a stinker!:)
Thanks a bunch Bobbie!
 
So, I tested him. He was in the 300's.
Seems you may have caught him early with this.
Thanks for the background, yesterday was the first time we visited so all that helps.

Dose tonight...... hmm, it's almost one am here so I'm heading to bed and won't be about when you shoot.
If he makes it obvious by shooting up into blue (you've shot a 124) then go for the 0.75, monitor carefully getting +1 and +2, if he's flat or dropping at +1 then feed him MC (or HC depending on numbers) to steer him and keep him up. Bear in mind it's the pm cycle, less folk around etc (I have put out a call for some folk to look in, but don't know if they will be able to)

If he's flat and green, a couple of options
1) skip again.
2) shoot 0.25u he would need careful monitoring just in case he has a strong reaction even to this small dose. And may need to be steered early in the cycle, again get those +1 and +2 in to see how things are stacking up.

Hope that makes sense. I hate to leave you in the lurch, I do hope some others will pop round.
 
His +6 is nice! I was really impressed with his drop after eating @+2. Not a big move but, enough to show me something's happening. Whether it's the depo still draining or his lil pancreas sputtering. I'm really looking forward to seeing the +9. It can't get here soon enough!

I switched him Dr. Elsey's 5 days prior to starting him on NPH so, about the third week in August. Before switching to the LC, he had eaten Blue Buffalo dry cat food his entire life...~13yrs.
He developed a yeast infection over the summer. He was treated with Tresaderm, which contains steroids. This was the only prescription medication ever used on him. He's had the occasional, as needed, fleas preventive but, that's it. He's always been very healthy. I picked up on some changes in his habits namely p/u p/u about a month after he finished his course of Tresaderm. So, I tested him. He was in the 300's. I called the local vet to have a panel done on him just to confirm and make sure I wasn't dealing with CRF. He was 310. So I decided immediately to change his diet to L/C and hesitated for about a week to begin the NPH. I was hoping I could get him to regulate some through diet alone. Not the case:rolleyes:
Moey is my old pro. He's been on this merry go round for about 5 years now. His trend seems to be more typical of Lantus users experience. He knows the ropes:p He will find his dose eventually. He did pretty good on the previous .75u until I had a wuss moment and was scared to shoot a rising 134. I reduced his dose, per SLGS. I've had to work him back up to that dose with his recent dosecrease. He'll get there. He is tremendously jealous of all the attention Ittle is getting!
As for tonight...gotta have a plan in place. If Ittle does start to rise, where it's obvious the depo has started to drain, what dose should he be getting? Hope it's not too tricky...he tends to be a stinker!:)
Thanks a bunch Bobbie!

let’s see where he lands at PMPS time. I’m not sure that I’ll still be up the ( my days start early). BUT , Gill has put out a “watch “ to some of the mods to see what they think.

I just saw Gill’s post and it’s a good plan.
 
I've been wondering if you have any other cats in the house that have been on dry, or have you had dry kibble that he may have been getting into previously that now he can't???
I've been wondering if you have any other cats in the house that have been on dry, or have you had dry kibble that he may have been getting into previously that now he can't???
He found a few pieces here and there. I made notes on my SS when I thought it was possible he found some crumbs that were overlooked. Moey and Ittle share a bedroom...hence the reason Moey was slightly elevated at AMPS. this morning...he had access to the MC too. When the boys can't be supervised, they stay in their bedroom. Anytime they come out of the bedroom, the civvies food gets locked in the bathroom. I inspect for crumbs, sweep and change the water before the boys make their grand entrance. The other civvies eat dry. I know, I know. I tried friskies for a bit, because it's affordable for the entire crew. Well 75% of them developed ear infections within 2 months of switching. So, back to Blue buffalo we went. BB has never given us any issues and my husband used to be sponsored by them. So the food was essentially free. Ignorance is bliss.
 
Seems you may have caught him early with this.
Thanks for the background, yesterday was the first time we visited so all that helps.

Dose tonight...... hmm, it's almost one am here so I'm heading to bed and won't be about when you shoot.
If he makes it obvious by shooting up into blue (you've shot a 124) then go for the 0.75, monitor carefully getting +1 and +2, if he's flat or dropping at +1 then feed him MC (or HC depending on numbers) to steer him and keep him up. Bear in mind it's the pm cycle, less folk around etc (I have put out a call for some folk to look in, but don't know if they will be able to)

If he's flat and green, a couple of options
1) skip again.
2) shoot 0.25u he would need careful monitoring just in case he has a strong reaction even to this small dose. And may need to be steered early in the cycle, again get those +1 and +2 in to see how things are stacking up.

Hope that makes sense. I hate to leave you in the lurch, I do hope some others will pop round.
Thanks Gill for the info. I'll bear in mind that the board may have less traffic in the PM when deciding a course of action. Have a good nights rest.
 
He found a few pieces here and there. I made notes on my SS when I thought it was possible he found some crumbs that were overlooked. Moey and Ittle share a bedroom...hence the reason Moey was slightly elevated at AMPS. this morning...he had access to the MC too. When the boys can't be supervised, they stay in their bedroom. Anytime they come out of the bedroom, the civvies food gets locked in the bathroom. I inspect for crumbs, sweep and change the water before the boys make their grand entrance. The other civvies eat dry. I know, I know. I tried friskies for a bit, because it's affordable for the entire crew. Well 75% of them developed ear infections within 2 months of switching. So, back to Blue buffalo we went. BB has never given us any issues and my husband used to be sponsored by them. So the food was essentially free. Ignorance is bliss.
Hmm thinking out loud. Was the ear infections yeast? That can be indicative of a food allergy. I just went through this in December with Bubba becoming allergic to 2 different proteins , chicken and pork. So, is the BB a different protein that the Friskies you offered to them?
 
Mr. Ittle is really putting on a show today isn't he Briere! You sure did a great job - even though you said you were a 'wreck'. It is nerve wracking the first time..but really you'll get used to those lovely green numbers...and believe it or not, you'll want them to surf for as long as they can.:D I remember our first time in the lagoon - I thought I was going to have a heart attack! :eek: It was very exciting...but you did a lot of things right! I know you thought you made a mistake...but you were on top of it...and that's what counts. You had some excellent support and advice -you were never alone!:cat::cat:

As for Mr. Moey, even he appears to be doing better! Perhaps he's seeing all the excitement and doesn't want to be left out! :D

Oh what will you do when they're both in the lagoon at the same time! I've still gotta take my hat off to you for managing two at a time! Kudos to you!:joyful:

Have a great day Briere!:bighug::bighug:
Thanks, Sue for the kind words. Ittle is showing off today, He loves the attention and intends on keeping it! He just won't give poor Moe a break. Moey's approach, is slow and steady wins the race. He'll make his winning move eventually:p
I was a wreck yesterday.:rolleyes: When I read the posts, from Gill and Bobbie, after I had already given him the full 1.1u I thought I was going to get sick. My hands shook the entire night! Poor Ittle was probably thinking, I don't want these shakey hands poking me. I really felt like I was fighting to keep him from playing with the sharks. Hes was getting Tbsps of MC and HC with 2 drops of karo in between every reading. When I've used karo in the past with Moey, it had a profound effect. Then again I was wiping it on his gums, not including it in food. Ittle was totally different. No spikes or rises. Makes me wonder what the outcome would have been w/o intervention.
I pray Moey doesn't follow in Ittle's paw prints. His cycles tend to be more typical of Lantus. Maybe he'll be the predictable one between the two of them.
I can't commend Bobbie and Gill enough for their support! I was never in doubt with them lighting our way! This board is the most caring group of people. I wish more people knew about the advice and support offered here....especially veterinarians. If they could learn to recommend this board, as a tool to their clients, there would be alot of well managed and regulated sugar babies!
I don't know how I'll feel about both boys at the lagoon. Fear, excitement, nausea kinda explains it. Learning their individual trends thoroughly will give me the courage to keep them at the lagoon full time. I want to know every nuance of each cycle so, I can begin predicting efficiently.
What are your thoughts about Ittle and remission. Is it too early for me to be excited about his numbers? Is it typical for the depo to keep kitties this low and flat for a period of time? I don't want to rush him into anything. Jeopardizing the possibility for permanent remission is not in the plan. I'm willing to give some insulin, if needed. It's just going to be a little scary for me but, I'll get over it!
Thanks for keeping up with this crazy trio Sue! I hope you had a wonderful day and a restful evening. Be good Luci!
 
Hmm thinking out loud. Was the ear infections yeast? That can be indicative of a food allergy. I just went through this in December with Bubba becoming allergic to 2 different proteins , chicken and pork. So, is the BB a different protein that the Friskies you offered to them?
It was yeast. BB has no meat by product. I think friskies does. Not sure if its poultry by product or just plain meat by product. Meat by product is the worst of the 2 because it's essentially mystery meat. No telling what types of meat proteins it contains. I've done a little research on food allergies. They say the most common allergen in food is egg product. I certainly hope not because Dr. Elsey's contain egg and that's what I feed. I think friskies has egg in it too. Symptoms should be apparent by now, being they've been on it over 2 months. Another thing I read is cats will commonly become allergic to foods they've eaten their whole lives. I guess variety really is the spice of life!:p
Well Ittle is sitting pretty at 83. He had eaten 30min prior to that reading:joyful: How long does it take for the depo to drain? 3 cycles?
Anywho, thanks for keeping up with us! We're just a bunch of wild and crazy kitties(and CG)! Have a wonderful evening and good nights sleep!
 
It was yeast. BB has no meat by product. I think friskies does. Not sure if its poultry by product or just plain meat by product. Meat by product is the worst of the 2 because it's essentially mystery meat. No telling what types of meat proteins it contains. I've done a little research on food allergies. They say the most common allergen in food is egg product. I certainly hope not because Dr. Elsey's contain egg and that's what I feed. I think friskies has egg in it too. Symptoms should be apparent by now, being they've been on it over 2 months. Another thing I read is cats will commonly become allergic to foods they've eaten their whole lives. I guess variety really is the spice of life!:p
Well Ittle is sitting pretty at 83. He had eaten 30min prior to that reading:joyful: How long does it take for the depo to drain? 3 cycles?
Anywho, thanks for keeping up with us! We're just a bunch of wild and crazy kitties(and CG)! Have a wonderful evening and good nights sleep!

For Bubba, he ate raw. Pure raw all protein meat, chicken and pork. Chicken is also a big allergen for cats. Beef number 1. Bubba can’t eat beef either. And again, it was pure raw beef, no meat by products.

ETA : but I have to add , Also a part of food allergies along with the yeast infection, is kitties will sometime break out in itchy lesions on their face and neck which Bubba did.

Another reason for yeast infections is environmental allergies. And diabetes can be the underlying cause.
 
Just wanted to add : I’m no expert by any means , but maybe the reason you read about meat by products being bad could be because often a cat food that is advertised as a certain protein will have 3 in the ingredients when you read the label.

For instance , the label will say chicken and then when you read the label , there are eggs and beef by products. How the heck will you know what your cat is adversely responding to?

I was lucky that I was feeding raw and had a good AC to help me figure it out.
 
I apologize if the condo is incorrect. It just doesn't look right with a +24 on it. Anyway Ittle tested 78 @10:15pm. I'm not going to shoot him. We'll see what the morning holds.
 
I apologize if the condo is incorrect. It just doesn't look right with a +24 on it. Anyway Ittle tested 78 @10:15pm. I'm not going to shoot him. We'll see what the morning holds.
See you in the AM! This is crazy good numbers.

As Gill said, we usually like to see a kitty go off insulin gradually, 0.75, 0.50 , 0.25. , 0.1. But you hold the syringe and let’s see where he lands tomorrow.

In the absence of getting into dry food, he is looking really good!
 
ITTLE! One word: WOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I'm still catching up on your condo today (at work and periodically slacking lol!) but from what I've read so far, Ittle is doing so amazingly and the way you caught onto his symptoms early is A+++ cat parenting!
 
I just peeked at the SS and couldn’t believe my eyes! 67!!! I looked for today’s thread but didn’t see one yet.

Is Ittle eating for you? I just don’t know what to make of the switch in his numbers without insulin .
 
Back
Top