Below 90 earns a reduction. I didn't know. Haha. I don't follow SLGS. So when using SLGS how does the cat ever get below 90? If the Dr (Joanne for instance) reduces dose every time kitteh dips below 90, in theory the kitteh will never get lower...no?
I only ask because from all my reading (I'm still dosing my lil fluff buddy), but the idea behind dosing kitteh's is to teach their pancrease the "healthy range" of a normal cat. Which is 50-80 (or 2.8-4.4 mmol), where that number is, is obviously this deeply dependent on the cat.
Joanne, to ease your mind (so you can sleep better), have you tested one of her brothers, or even your other gurl. That's what I did, and it shows how much lower kitteh can go, just gives you some comfort and not panic mode. For eg. Clara (Emmett's blood sister) avg anywhere from 57 (3.2 mmol) to 4 (72 mmol) -- and I have never got a higher reading from her. No cat is gonna go hypo with an 80 number. Not even close to being a concern. I tell you, it's scary at first, I know how you feel, but once you realize that kitteh is actually happiest in this range. It's good.
So all I'm saying is that when you get a low reading like 81, it's not a bad thing. But like I said, I don't follow SLGS, so I'm not sure how to advise you. I'd just follow the protocol and reduce by 0.25 (like you did...) try not feeding. If she goes to 70, then you know. Do you shoot at 70, I'm not sure what the protocol states. But I have shot at 70. And I monitored like a crazy man, but everything turned out. Again, didn't see anything until about +3. And with your girl eating kibble, this regulation is kinda difficult, so I dunno.
To me, (PLEASE, anyone tell me I'm wrong if I am), it just doesn't make sense to me to feed her any LC food when she gets a number like 140 or 120 or even 90 or 81. Just give her a treat...like I have dried salmon treats (almost no carbs).
I did read the SLGS post and it doesn't say that you feed low carb when you get numbers like 90 or below, it just says to reduce dose.
I mention this only because, if you start feeding low-carb food when you get to these numbers you wont know the actual true affect the insulin is having on your kitteh. Same goes for kibble. I personally would remove kibble. Get some fortiflora if she doesn't like wet...she should like the fortiflora...it's irresistible to the kitteh's. Amazon sells it.
If you get rid of the kibble, her bg's will drop, and in my opinion you'll start seeing more steady, conisitent results because the kibble has such a drastic affect on the readings. You will be much more relaxed I think once you get rid of it. Emmett's BG's spike when I give him some friggin juice from canned chicken -- no carbs even...very weird (from costco -- kirkland brand, really good guys...I love it and so does Mr Emmes).
Anyway, that's my thought. Perhaps if your gurl goes low again, like 81, don't give her anything, see where the number falls. Check like every 30mins. That said, the SLGS protocol doesn't mention pre-shot values. I can tell you that Emmett was way up to 7 units, he's now at 0.5 units. And I did some really nail bitting doses to pre-shot numbers 50-90 range. At 0.5 units I don't even think about it...he's getting readings of 80, so I give him his shot of 0.5.
Seems like your girl, is lowest around +6 => +10. So, giving a dose with low bg pre-shot (like 90 or something) shouldn't have a drastic affect as it takes Lantus a few hours to kick in (with Emmett it seems to be kicking in around +3, nadir around +6, but sometimes around +8). Again, SLGS doesn't mention when to shoot a low number, so I'm not sure, but skipping doses again, will make your head spin, because the kitteh gets bounced around so much.
Anyway, anyone and everyone, please correct me if any of that doesn't apply to Joanne's situation.