10/28 Asia AMPS 303, +3 424, +4 434, +10 572, PMPS 533

Status
Not open for further replies.
On the feeding issue....while yes, it's true that diabetic cats generally do better with more frequent small meals, something that hasn't been mentioned is feeding after nadir.

Some cats can eat throughout the cycle and do fine, but a lot of cats, if they eat after nadir, it can act like slamming the brakes on any remaining action of the insulin.

The only way to know which way Asia reacts will be to do some experimenting and keeping good records. Try feeding her her daily portion ALL before about +6 and then nothing after (or just a tiny snack of some kind of pure protein like baked chicken if she absolutely can't wait to have a snack later in the day)

Compare her numbers to when she is allowed to graze until +10 and see which way works best for her

@Chris & China repsonding on today's thread. That's a thing, huh? That's pretty much what happened yesterday. I will have to play around with it and see if it makes a difference consistently. Thank you!
 
Chris makes a good point with feeding during the second 1/2 of the cycle. I never fed past +4/+5 when Doodles was on Lantus. Like Chris said, experiment but give each experienced a few days, not just one cycle and take your notes.

Glad you increased...now work the juice Miss Asia.
 
I think I may have given a fur shot? :banghead: I part her fur and see the needle go in and wait a few seconds, maybe it leaked out? I suspect this because her side smelled like band aids (that's what Lantus smells like to me) and her ever increasing numbers.
 
I did that today, too! :banghead: Looks like Asia hasn't continued up horribly fast, and at least you have a good theory for why she has gone up today. See? I have some practice at looking at the bright side today. ;)
 
Sounds like a fur shot! Every time I give a fur shot I put a dollar in my fur-shot basket. At the end of the year I go out and buy a nice bottle of wine, or something. I am quite good at giving fur shots (used to be even better).

Good luck with the increase.
I'm hoping my fur shot basket doesn't accumulate enough to buy a candy bar in a year!!! :confused: I still don't know for sure if it was, but it looks like it. I feel so bad, I hope it doesn't happen again anytime soon. Rusty has a lot of fur, I'm sure it's easy to get lost in there, he sure is gorgeous. Asia is a medium hair, I have to be more careful.
 
I haven’t been able to be on the board in a while due to family issues but I thought I’d stop by and welcome you and Asia. She is absolutely adorable. And 21 years old!!! That is phenomenal.

If you think you might have given a fur shot, you might want to annotate it on her SS so we know when we are looking at the numbers. Otherwise, we might interpret the numbers a different way. If you smelled bandaids, it’s very likely you did a fur shot. We all do them.....she will recover. Also, and as Sienne said, I have rarely found the issue in numbers to be the pen. I switched pens early on quite frequently, too. Then I realized it wasn’t the pen :woot: and I started using them until the last drop and my girl was almost always on a tiny dose so I got a lot of time out of my pens.

If you need help changing the formatting on the SS so it’s color coded for a human meter, please PM me and I’ll fix it for you. I developed these current SSs and it’s a quick and easy fix for me to do for you.

I read some of your condos and I truly empathize. It’s been 7 years since my baby girl was diagnosed but I remember those early days like it was yesterday. It’s tough and we all understand. There is a steep learning curve, you are worried about your baby, you are tired, you are stressed. We’ve all been there so feel free to lean on us. And, as you have time (time...what is that? :joyful:), you’ll learn a lot by reading lots of other condos (and I do think I’ve seen you in some of them so that’s excellent).

Good luck with the increase!
 
I haven’t been able to be on the board in a while due to family issues but I thought I’d stop by and welcome you and Asia. She is absolutely adorable. And 21 years old!!! That is phenomenal.

If you think you might have given a fur shot, you might want to annotate it on her SS so we know when we are looking at the numbers. Otherwise, we might interpret the numbers a different way. If you smelled bandaids, it’s very likely you did a fur shot. We all do them.....she will recover. Also, and as Sienne said, I have rarely found the issue in numbers to be the pen. I switched pens early on quite frequently, too. Then I realized it wasn’t the pen :woot: and I started using them until the last drop and my girl was almost always on a tiny dose so I got a lot of time out of my pens.

If you need help changing the formatting on the SS so it’s color coded for a human meter, please PM me and I’ll fix it for you. I developed these current SSs and it’s a quick and easy fix for me to do for you.

I read some of your condos and I truly empathize. It’s been 7 years since my baby girl was diagnosed but I remember those early days like it was yesterday. It’s tough and we all understand. There is a steep learning curve, you are worried about your baby, you are tired, you are stressed. We’ve all been there so feel free to lean on us. And, as you have time (time...what is that? :joyful:), you’ll learn a lot by reading lots of other condos (and I do think I’ve seen you in some of them so that’s excellent).

Good luck with the increase!
Thank you for the welcome. I did put a note in the spreadsheet under the shot dose (the little dog ear in the corner of the cell), is it preferable to put it to the side? I can do that as well. As far as switching to the pen, I had a vial previously, it was donated, didn't know when it was opened or how it had been cared for previously and I had been rolling it the whole time. I wasn't sure if it was the vial, but I figured why not swap it out and take that wonder off the list.

I also feel a lot of pressure for this to look like it's working out, since vets don't seem to understand TR or think it's necessary. I hope I don't need the vet anytime soon, but hey, she is 21, so I probably will. I don't want her care to be compromised because they think I'm off the rails trying to regulate her, if that makes sense. And I don't want them to pressure me to to try it their way or somehow make that conditional on treating her for other things. We are new to this area, so it's just really crap timing to go vet shopping with this new diagnosis.
 
Thank you for the welcome. I did put a note in the spreadsheet under the shot dose (the little dog ear in the corner of the cell), is it preferable to put it to the side? I can do that as well. As far as switching to the pen, I had a vial previously, it was donated, didn't know when it was opened or how it had been cared for previously and I had been rolling it the whole time. I wasn't sure if it was the vial, but I figured why not swap it out and take that wonder off the list.
If you add a comment in a cell, those of us looking from a tablet can’t just scroll over the cell to see the comment. It’s best to do it as you have it now....in the remarks but you can also just put ?FS in the unit’s column directly under the dose. You can make the font smaller for that cell so it’s not so crammed. That’s the easiest way for advice givers to quickly see something. I’m not a fan of using the “comment”tool for cells. If you can’t scroll over it to see the comment, you have to go all the way to the bottom of the SS :woot::woot:

Thanks for clarifying on the vial. Usually, even if you rolled them, as long as the insulin does not have floaties and is not cloudy, it’s typically ok. We used to think it was very fragile but it’s not....a little rolling shouldn’t have hurt it but I certainly understand the issue if it was an opened vial.

For some odd reason, your SS is also not wrapping so I could fix that as well for you. It was formatted to wrap in every cell on the templates.

You are in a tough position in finding a new vet in a new town. Many are certainly not open to forums and the advice given. I have seen them tell members “my way or the highway”. We have an incredible vet who never hassled or questioned me but when I had to take Gracie to a specialist for increased liver values and he said I was testing too much, I told him I wasn’t there for managing her diabetes. He dropped it after that.

I hope you can find someone openminded. If you haven’t already done so, you can post a condo in Health asking for vet recommendations in your new area and if you are on Facebook, we have a social group from FDMB where you could also ask for recommendations.
 
You are in a tough position in finding a new vet in a new town. Many are certainly not open to forums and the advice given. I have seen them tell members “my way or the highway”. We have an incredible vet who never hassled or questioned me but when I had to take Gracie to a specialist for increased liver values and he said I was testing too much, I told him I wasn’t there for managing her diabetes. He dropped it after that.

I hope you can find someone openminded. If you haven’t already done so, you can post a condo in Health asking for vet recommendations in your new area and if you are on Facebook, we have a social group from FDMB where you could also ask for recommendations.

That is exactly the kind of thing I'm afraid of. At this point, I'm not bothered if they know TR as long as they are open minded enough to read the protocol and are okay with what I am doing. My main concern is that they are gentle, compassionate, and good with cats (seen a lot of vets that are dog focused and are uncomfortable with cats). I also need them to be as close as possible. We always had the vet that came to your house, so it's extra traumatic for her to go somewhere, but also, since she lost her hearing a few years ago, she's horrid with traveling (used to love riding in the car and went on errands and vacations with us), now she gets motion sick easily and it can kick off this whole vomiting, dehydration and not eating domino situation, which is the last thing we need. My preference is to walk her there or a quick cab ride for emergencies (in NYC, so that's not as crazy as it sounds). I will check out the FB group and solicit vet recommendations if this new one doesn't work out.
 
That is exactly the kind of thing I'm afraid of. At this point, I'm not bothered if they know TR as long as they are open minded enough to read the protocol and are okay with what I am doing. My main concern is that they are gentle, compassionate, and good with cats (seen a lot of vets that are dog focused and are uncomfortable with cats). I also need them to be as close as possible. We always had the vet that came to your house, so it's extra traumatic for her to go somewhere, but also, since she lost her hearing a few years ago, she's horrid with traveling (used to love riding in the car and went on errands and vacations with us), now she gets motion sick easily and it can kick off this whole vomiting, dehydration and not eating domino situation, which is the last thing we need. My preference is to walk her there or a quick cab ride for emergencies (in NYC, so that's not as crazy as it sounds). I will check out the FB group and solicit vet recommendations if this new one doesn't work out.
You might also ask for a prescription for Cerenia for the car sickness. It was designed for that for dogs and works really well in cats. I hope the one you are going to try works out.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top