10/28 Sootie 245/am, retest 228/+.5, 216/+4 213/+11.5

Status
Not open for further replies.

HWright

Member Since 2016
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...o-passed-away-at-sunrise.167267/#post-1810918

Good morning, all.
Yesterday seemed to be day of beginning to adjust. Some cats seemed to be doing this more visibly than others since B0 began his journey along the sunrise sunbeams to :rb_icon: and cat_wings>o Wednesday morning. Tusand Tak for opening your hearts and love for Bo, his life and journey and for us. :bighug::bighug::cat::cat::bighug::bighug:

Sootie's bg Wednesday afternoon was high :nailbiting: and appetite appetite way off yesterday A few hours after she finally ate her bg was back to :cool:. Wednesday night DH gave her treats around 3 am and she ate all of the fud I brought her ca 4am.

Yesterday (Thursday) morning Sootie started off in the :D again--yay!-- but at pm was 161 :confused: and no sign that she'd eaten much if anything in between. She did eat a little, I intended to retest but my body gave out on me. I awoke ca 3:30am (est) and realized that spunky had gotten out of the downstairs bedroom. Not a good sign cuz the only cat she wasn't stressful to was Bo.
I got upstairs with a snack for Sootie, found her underneath the dresser (also not a good sign), reluctant to come out. She did come out (treats), and saw a huge clump of fur dangling from her right rear side (not good either). Watching that area hoping for no wounds or trauma there.
Her 4am bg was 272:woot: . She ate a little and returned to dh's bed. This morning she greeted me at top of stairs but was not a happy girl. Her 8am bg was o_O 246 and 245 on retest a few minutes later.

I'm going to retest in a few minutes:
My question/guidance seeking is: bc been a number of days since any insulin, if her numbers are not trending down, or still in yellow or goes to high blues, resume at a micro dose such as 0.05 or droplet?? and if seems some injury to that rear side area will bring her to vet today.
 
I'm sorry about the cat fight. I hope Sootie is okay and doesn't need to go to the vet. If her numbers don't come back down, she may need a little insulin to help her get back to blues and greens. Sending prayers.
 
Just retested (9:11am est). Is 228, o_O but it's coming down. Sootie did eat a bit more while I was writing the above.
While on the one hand I'm inclined to hold off bc her bg does drop and stabilize with fud and without pain or stress factors. On the other hand, the yellows not good or good sign for a healing pancreas.....

Ironically, yesterday morning I was thinking if/when time comes to resume insulin, what's best approach and 'tailored' with what I've learned so far so far with you and about Sootie's needs, changes in health, and in our lives here.
 
I'm sorry about the cat fight. I hope Sootie is okay and doesn't need to go to the vet. If her numbers don't come back down, she may need a little insulin to help her get back to blues and greens. Sending prayers.
Thanks Carla! Her bg's come down about 20 points to 228, and with just having eaten some fud. I'm feeling that yes agree with you time to introduce a dose but am on the fence about amt: start with droplet which may be enough to nudge pancreas to override her stresses?

Spunky's made a lot of progress and amazingly with Bo as her teacher. Alas, and to our dismay, I guess her most deep seated old patterns aren't fully in the past for her yet.
 
Healing vines for Sootie and for your heart too.:bighug::bighug:
( Var sa God..hoppas att dagen gar battre for dig :bighug::bighug:Can't find the A with a circle nor two dots over it) H.H.)
 
Healing vines for Sootie and for your heart too.:bighug::bighug:
( Var sa God..hoppas att dagen gar battre for dig :bighug::bighug:Can't find the A with a circle nor two dots over it) H.H.)
Er du Dansker? Svensker? Norje?
Kare Les og Gussie,
Mange Tak, gå med Gud og velsignelser for din dag også

(HH I can't get the umlauts on keyboard either but when I type it in google translate in the language it has an umlaut party! ED)
 
Last edited:
Sootie's bg at noon was 216, lower than the 228 earlier. She ate a little more but again not enough but I'm bringing her to vet this afternoon just in case.

DH gave me the lowdown about the early morning upstairs Spunky intrusion. It all happened while he was in visiting Azalea.
When he came out, nobody was in sight...a small poop on the bed and a big pee, Spunky's break-away collar by the bed (Sootie did Not lose hers!). Dh's turn to change kitty-soiled bedding when ya most ready to get some sleep. Yep, we've all been that route! Everyone else seems to be back in semi-rythyms, except Sootie not at all herself. Crossing paws for Sootie to be ok.
 
Sootie's bg at noon was 216, lower than the 228 earlier. She ate a little more but again not enough but I'm bringing her to vet this afternoon just in case.

DH gave me the lowdown about the early morning upstairs Spunky intrusion. It all happened while he was in visiting Azalea.
When he came out, nobody was in sight...a small poop on the bed and a big pee, Spunky's break-away collar by the bed (Sootie did Not lose hers!). Dh's turn to change kitty-soiled bedding when ya most ready to get some sleep. Yep, we've all been that route! Everyone else seems to be back in semi-rythyms, except Sootie not at all herself. Crossing paws for Sootie to be ok.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hugs and hope.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Sounds like Bo's crossing has really thrown your entire household into confusion. I'm so sorry, Sina. I hope everyone settles down soon and that Sootie gets back to good numbers. If insulin is needed, you know it's not the end of the world. It's best to "nip it in the bud" before things get out of control, so if the numbers don't come down, I'd suggest restarting soon.

I can't get the umlauts on keyboard
I use a feature called "Character Map" for all my special characters. It has umlats. It's part of Windows, so if you use Windows, you should be able to search and find it on your computer. I added it to my lower taskbar so it's always available. Hope this helps.

Sina, I was surprised that i was able to understand what you were saying to Leslie, and I don't speak any of those languages! Which one was it?
 
Sounds like Bo's crossing has really thrown your entire household into confusion. I'm so sorry, Sina. I hope everyone settles down soon and that Sootie gets back to good numbers. If insulin is needed, you know it's not the end of the world. It's best to "nip it in the bud" before things get out of control, so if the numbers don't come down, I'd suggest restarting soon.


I use a feature called "Character Map" for all my special characters. It has umlats. It's part of Windows, so if you use Windows, you should be able to search and find it on your computer. I added it to my lower taskbar so it's always available. Hope this helps.

Sina, I was surprised that i was able to understand what you were saying to Leslie, and I don't speak any of those languages! Which one was it?
Thanks Tricia,
Rarely use Windows these days (always seems to be getting a 'bug') but your tip is good to know. Maybe on iPhone has an international keypad option just in case...!

Yep, I wrote in Danish, Leslie's looked like Danish with the aa instead of umlauts or Norwegian but I'm not sure.
Meant to include translation but time got away from me. Nice that many Scandinavian and English words(and even some sentence structures) are associative with each other!

Thanks too about Sootie and household. Yes we are all in upheavals despite the glimmers yesterday. Mostly likely, the way it's been going, rose colored glasses on my part.

Just home from vet with Sootie. No bites, claw wounds etc. but def not herself. She went from 8.9# a week ago to 8.5#. ideally should be in 9-9.5#. Better yet 10#ish. Was almost there a few months ago. Gotta get her appy going and sustain it!!!
She vomited up the orbax for the uti (not enough fud in tummy I suspect) so vet gave her convenia inj. And a few mirtazapine (1/4 of 15mg tab) to try once every three days to see if helps with appy and stress. Says if 1st dose doesn't help within 48hrs, don't do again.
Are you or is anyone familiar with mirtazapine?
Yes I absolutely agree about resuming insulin if her glucose doesn't get back in to good blues and greens. Talked with vetty about this too. He agrees. Thinks if bg not back on track by tomorrow morning, resume Lantus at droplet or .05u. (Noting here that he still isn't a proponent of Lantus bid in Sootie's case).
Crossing paws and hugs and ❤️
Sina
 
Last edited:
Says if 1st rise doesn't help within 48hrs, don't do again.
Are you or is anyone familiar with mirtazapine?

Crossing paws and hugs and ❤️
Sina[/QUOTE]
Yes, I am. I've used it to good effect. Not only does it increase the appy, but it increases the mood, due to the antidepressant properties of Mirtazapine.
Sometimes a cat on Mirtazapine gets a bit hyper - happened to one of mine, but usually they are simply more active, and definitely hungry.
I was also warned about possible neurological side effects, but in 2 years of on again off again Mirtazpine for 3 of my cats, no neurological symptoms appeared. Not ever.
+
 
Says if 1st rise doesn't help within 48hrs, don't do again.
Are you or is anyone familiar with mirtazapine?

Crossing paws and hugs and ❤️
Sina
Yes, I am. I've used it to good effect. Not only does it increase the appy, but it increases the mood, due to the antidepressant properties of Mirtazapine.
Sometimes a cat on Mirtazapine gets a bit hyper - happened to one of mine, but usually they are simply more active, and definitely hungry.
I was also warned about possible neurological side effects, but in 2 years of on again off again Mirtazpine for 3 of my cats, no neurological symptoms appeared. Not ever.
+[/QUOTE]
Kathy that's good to hear...other than possible neurological effects (such as? And adding...good to hear tho that you've had none of those complications).

Am with Sootie now, hoping she's settling in after surprise visit to vet. And am offering her something really simple: baby fud. Hoping retest brings us back in the :cool:. When done with hers and others feline suppers, will read up on mirtazipane. :bighug::bookworm:
 
Yes, I am. I've used it to good effect. Not only does it increase the appy, but it increases the mood, due to the antidepressant properties of Mirtazapine.
Sometimes a cat on Mirtazapine gets a bit hyper - happened to one of mine, but usually they are simply more active, and definitely hungry.
I was also warned about possible neurological side effects, but in 2 years of on again off again Mirtazpine for 3 of my cats, no neurological symptoms appeared. Not ever.
+
Kathy that's good to hear...other than possible neurological effects (such as? And adding...good to hear tho that you've had none of those complications).

Am with Sootie now, hoping she's settling in after surprise visit to vet. And am offering her something really simple: baby fud. Hoping retest brings us back in the :cool:. When done with hers and others feline suppers, will read up on mirtazipane. :bighug::bookworm:[/QUOTE]

Usually drowsiness, but it almost never happens. You would need your cat to be on fairly large doses for a long time to have any danger. If your cat is on another serotonin lowering medication, you might have an interaction that could produce worse symptoms, but no vet would prescribe yet another mood elevator when a cat is already on Mirtazapine.
 
Kathy that's good to hear...other than possible neurological effects (such as? And adding...good to hear tho that you've had none of those complications).

Am with Sootie now, hoping she's settling in after surprise visit to vet. And am offering her something really simple: baby fud. Hoping retest brings us back in the :cool:. When done with hers and others feline suppers, will read up on mirtazipane. :bighug::bookworm:

Usually drowsiness, but it almost never happens. You would need your cat to be on fairly large doses for a long time to have any danger. If your cat is on another serotonin lowering medication, you might have an interaction that could produce worse symptoms, but no vet would prescribe yet another mood elevator when a cat is already on Mirtazapine.[/QUOTE]

Hi Kathy, thanks again! Sootie's on no other pharmos...unless you count today's convenia antibiotic injection ...or Lantus that she's not had for quite a few days now. And until the diabetes she'd been pharmo-free except for a cystitis bout when much younger. Do I include vaccinations as pharmos? Yes, I guess so. Other than the mandatory 3-year rabies, hadn't had the other ones for years (since they all became indoor kitties several years ago) Now...thinking of it...she did have a 3-years rabies a few months ago...did her appy start to go off after that? I'll look back in her log book. Ya think maybe a factor in some things going awry in her health?)

I just saw on a veterinary site that with suggests starting mirtazipane at 1/2 of the usual 3.75 mg (1/4 of 15 mg) dose every three days. I'm thinking of trying the lower dose given all the iffy's going on.

Sootie's just finished eating a couple tbs of baby fud (with my silly human company for reassurance). Going to retest bg in about 1/2 hour.
 
Are you or is anyone familiar with mirtazapine?
Yes, I am very familiar with Mirtz. We call it Meowzapine, because it made my civie, Minka, very vocal and agitated. It did help her appy some, but I didn't like the side effects, so I requested Cyproheptadine. I like that better for a couple of reasons: it's less likely to cause the hyper behavior and you can give it as often as twice a day. I found it to be very effective with all my cats. In some of them I gave it in conjunction with Ondansetron, as they also had nausea issues.

To clarify, I'm not against Mirtz - I would use it again if the situation were right. I just had better luck with Cypro. I hope that the Mirtazapine works for Sootie.
 
I just saw on a veterinary site that with suggests starting mirtazipane at 1/2 of the usual 3.75 mg (1/4 of 15 mg) dose every three days. I'm thinking of trying the lower dose given all the iffy's going on.
I started with a lower dose than prescribed, too. It worked.

I'm so glad she's eating something! All meat baby food is a great option for when they aren't feeling well.
 
Usually drowsiness, but it almost never happens. You would need your cat to be on fairly large doses for a long time to have any danger. If your cat is on another serotonin lowering medication, you might have an interaction that could produce worse symptoms, but no vet would prescribe yet another mood elevator when a cat is already on Mirtazapine.

Hi Kathy, thanks again! Sootie's on no other pharmos...unless you count today's convenia antibiotic injection ...or Lantus that she's not had for quite a few days now. And until the diabetes she'd been pharmo-free except for a cystitis bout when much younger. Do I include vaccinations as pharmos? Yes, I guess so. Other than the mandatory 3-year rabies, hadn't had the other ones for years (since they all became indoor kitties several years ago) Now...thinking of it...she did have a 3-years rabies a few months ago...did her appy start to go off after that? I'll look back in her log book. Ya think maybe a factor in some things going awry in her health?)

I just saw on a veterinary site that with suggests starting mirtazipane at 1/2 of the usual 3.75 mg (1/4 of 15 mg) dose every three days. I'm thinking of trying the lower dose given all the iffy's going on.

Sootie's just finished eating a couple tbs of baby fud (with my silly human company for reassurance). Going to retest bg in about 1/2 hour.[/QUOTE]

What's Sootie's weight?
 
Hi Kathy, thanks again! Sootie's on no other pharmos...unless you count today's convenia antibiotic injection ...or Lantus that she's not had for quite a few days now. And until the diabetes she'd been pharmo-free except for a cystitis bout when much younger. Do I include vaccinations as pharmos? Yes, I guess so. Other than the mandatory 3-year rabies, hadn't had the other ones for years (since they all became indoor kitties several years ago) Now...thinking of it...she did have a 3-years rabies a few months ago...did her appy start to go off after that? I'll look back in her log book. Ya think maybe a factor in some things going awry in her health?)

I just saw on a veterinary site that with suggests starting mirtazipane at 1/2 of the usual 3.75 mg (1/4 of 15 mg) dose every three days. I'm thinking of trying the lower dose given all the iffy's going on.

Sootie's just finished eating a couple tbs of baby fud (with my silly human company for reassurance). Going to retest bg in about 1/2 hour.

What's Sootie's weight?[/QUOTE]
As of today she is 8.5#. And, it was Tuesday this week (not last week I might have oopsied earlier reference) that she was there for recheck and weighed 8.9#.
 
Hi Kathy, thanks again! Sootie's on no other pharmos...unless you count today's convenia antibiotic injection ...or Lantus that she's not had for quite a few days now. And until the diabetes she'd been pharmo-free except for a cystitis bout when much younger. Do I include vaccinations as pharmos? Yes, I guess so. Other than the mandatory 3-year rabies, hadn't had the other ones for years (since they all became indoor kitties several years ago) Now...thinking of it...she did have a 3-years rabies a few months ago...did her appy start to go off after that? I'll look back in her log book. Ya think maybe a factor in some things going awry in her health?)

I just saw on a veterinary site that with suggests starting mirtazipane at 1/2 of the usual 3.75 mg (1/4 of 15 mg) dose every three days. I'm thinking of trying the lower dose given all the iffy's going on.

Sootie's just finished eating a couple tbs of baby fud (with my silly human company for reassurance). Going to retest bg in about 1/2 hour.

What's Sootie's weight?[/QUOTE]

Actually no medicines other than anti depressants, anti psychotics, and pills containing ephedrine or dexedrine or any other such drug could interact with mirtazapine.
 
What's Sootie's weight?
As of today she is 8.5#. And, it was Tuesday this week (not last week I might have oopsied earlier reference) that she was there for recheck and weighed 8.9#.[/QUOTE]

You might want to go with your doctor's prescription. My Colette weighed only 7lbs, had CDK, High blood pressure, was 15 years old, and frail. Never the less, she did fine on the same amount that your vet prescribed. If you don't get a positive effect from the reduced dosage, basically within a few hours, you might want to add the rest of the mirtazapine.
 
As of today she is 8.5#. And, it was Tuesday this week (not last week I might have oopsied earlier reference) that she was there for recheck and weighed 8.9#.

You might want to go with your doctor's prescription. My Colette weighed only 7lbs, had CDK, High blood pressure, was 15 years old, and frail. Never the less, she did fine on the same amount that your vet prescribed. If you don't get a positive effect from the reduced dosage, basically within a few hours, you might want to add the rest of the mirtazapine.[/QUOTE]

Thanks, ok. Just came back downstairs (and where I'd left my mobile). Her bg 206 (ca+14) around 10pm, ate a bit more, then I dozed off with her. Worth a try. Foggy headed at moment, but thinking to first try lower dose, split a 1/4 tab, bring new dish of fud.
 
Ca midnight, offered Sootie new fud with 1/4 tab mirtazipine crushed in it (had bear of a time splitting it to 1/8!).
After a trepidatious start, and a bit of pacing, wall staring and giving me 'that look': "now what have you done???" after she ate some ....wow...she hopped right to it and renewed her membership in the clean plate club. Bella seems to have gotten a one night free pass bc she had to chime in to resume their beloved routine of sharing fud. Sootie perked right up, didn't mind Bella's presence or the occasional nibble. But Sootie ate almost 1/3 can of wellness (softened with water) plus some FD turkey treats for the "salad course" (Chef Stu'a idea?). When I came back upstairs with seconds (not much...didn't want her to overdo all at once)...she came halfway down the stairs to hurry me up with more fud! I'll recheck her bg in awhile, allowing her digestion to kick in and maybe me a little nap. And recheck to be sure she's ok. Paws crossed.

Thank you all. Sweet dreams and here's to a new tomorrow (oops it is yesterday's tomorrow already)...tomorrows with smooth sailing surfing and gentle times for all. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Thanks Tricia,
Rarely use Windows these days (always seems to be getting a 'bug') but your tip is good to know. Maybe on iPhone has an international keypad option just in case...!

Yep, I wrote in Danish, Leslie's looked like Danish with the aa instead of umlauts or Norwegian but I'm not sure.
Meant to include translation but time got away from me. Nice that many Scandinavian and English words(and even some sentence structures) are associative with each other!

Thanks too about Sootie and household. Yes we are all in upheavals despite the glimmers yesterday. Mostly likely, the way it's been going, rose colored glasses on my part.

Just home from vet with Sootie. No bites, claw wounds etc. but def not herself. She went from 8.9# a week ago to 8.5#. ideally should be in 9-9.5#. Better yet 10#ish. Was almost there a few months ago. Gotta get her appy going and sustain it!!!
She vomited up the orbax for the uti (not enough fud in tummy I suspect) so vet gave her convenia inj. And a few mirtazapine (1/4 of 15mg tab) to try once every three days to see if helps with appy and stress. Says if 1st dose doesn't help within 48hrs, don't do again.
Are you or is anyone familiar with mirtazapine?
Yes I absolutely agree about resuming insulin if her glucose doesn't get back in to good blues and greens. Talked with vetty about this too. He agrees. Thinks if bg not back on track by tomorrow morning, resume Lantus at droplet or .05u. (Noting here that he still isn't a proponent of Lantus bid in Sootie's case).
Crossing paws and hugs and ❤️
Sina
Close! Swedish!:bighug:
 
Hi Kathy, thanks again! Sootie's on no other pharmos...unless you count today's convenia antibiotic injection ...or Lantus that she's not had for quite a few days now. And until the diabetes she'd been pharmo-free except for a cystitis bout when much younger. Do I include vaccinations as pharmos? Yes, I guess so. Other than the mandatory 3-year rabies, hadn't had the other ones for years (since they all became indoor kitties several years ago) Now...thinking of it...she did have a 3-years rabies a few months ago...did her appy start to go off after that? I'll look back in her log book. Ya think maybe a factor in some things going awry in her health?)

I just saw on a veterinary site that with suggests starting mirtazipane at 1/2 of the usual 3.75 mg (1/4 of 15 mg) dose every three days. I'm thinking of trying the lower dose given all the iffy's going on.

Sootie's just finished eating a couple tbs of baby fud (with my silly human company for reassurance). Going to retest bg in about 1/2 hour.

What's Sootie's weight?[/QUOTE]
I hope our ancestors didn't battle each other over who gets Malmö!!!!!
Hahahahaha! Great post! ( guessing they might have! :bighug::);))
So happy to hear Sootie is eating...BIG WHEW!!!!!!:bighug::bighug:
Hope you are able to get some rest too..you've been thru a lot this past week:bighug::bighug:
 
Here we are 1:40 am ish Est...Sootie on the mirtazapine roll...feed me! Feed me! Feed me! More! More! More! No meowzies...just moresies please! I don't want her to glut her gut!

And now 2am. And still Bueno appetito! Bella and Dancer just as avid. I feel like I'm in a Roman bacchinalia for cats! Sootie swooped up her standard process treats and just devoured a big minnow. Offered her two small ones....nope only a big one will do!
 
Last edited:
What's Sootie's weight?

Hahahahaha! Great post! ( guessing they might have! :bighug::);))
So happy to hear Sootie is eating...BIG WHEW!!!!!!:bighug::bighug:
Hope you are able to get some rest too..you've been thru a lot this past week:bighug::bighug:[/QUOTE]

Les, haha! Jeg griner! Tak.

Sootie, Bella and Dancer are in a food fest tonight (Bella snarfed some of Sootie's laced fud and seems, by dancer's behaviors, she either dabbled in it too or loves to join in). So happy to see Sootie with appetite. On one hand would love to let her eat the night away but then she might do what the Romans did to gorge through the night, And at some point gotta check her bg, allowing for time for her body to do its magic I hope getting her bg back in range! And this bean's gotta get some sleep!

Yes it's been quite a week. But I feel that Bo is feeling glorious and in the best of welcoming GA company, adding to the chorus you so wonderfully shared. We still miss him and always will.

Btw: total thumbs up on Gussie's official/unofficial otj trial anti jinx ! Wa hoo, Gus and Les. Hoping you'll be able to catch some REM's more often than once in a blue moon! :bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top