10/3 Sootie PMPS/95 +1/53, +1.5/55, +2/56, +3/70 +5/82

Status
Not open for further replies.

HWright

Member Since 2016
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...tonights-lantus-shoot-window-8-9pm-et.165824/

Sootie 95 in green at PMPS. She ate a bit more at supper tonight than some of the previous nights. So I feel ok about doing pm dose but welcome suggestions of you think should reduce or hold off.
This morning amps high at 152 (retest of first which was 175 (wondered last night if did a fur shot, maybe that was the case), then 72 at +5, 113 at +7 at the vet, and 95 at PMPS tonight. Think she's eating enough tonight to do 0.1u, but I won't be able to test during night (legs and back done in) should there be concerns about the dosage and the antibiotic she is on for possible UTI/cystitis. Thanks, Sina
 
Went ahead and dosed. Know I posted late re her nighttime window. She ate a bit more. Hoping for a good night for all...
 
Hi Sina!

I haven't been following Sootie's situation so don't know all the details, but wanted to respond anyway.

If a cat has an infection, it can raise their blood sugar. As the infection resolves, it's not uncommon for the blood sugar to also come down.

I know you've only given 0.1u, which is a tiny dose. However, for her safety, I would do whatever you need to to get some tests in this evening. Even a tiny dose can cause a hypo if the dose is too great. Whenever one shoots a number lower than you've shot before, the rule of thumb is to get a +1 and a +2. It's not uncommon for a cat to surf when you shoot a lower preshot, but even so, it's important to test to know what the response is.

It sounds like you might be going to bed. Can you set an alarm and check her hourly for several hours until you are confident that she won't drop below 50? If you absolutely can't, I would put out a can of high carb food and let her eat on it overnight. It's better to send her too high than to leave her unattended with the potential for her blood sugar to go too low.

Hope some of that helps!!
 
Hi Sina!

I haven't been following Sootie's situation so don't know all the details, but wanted to respond anyway.

If a cat has an infection, it can raise their blood sugar. As the infection resolves, it's not uncommon for the blood sugar to also come down.

I know you've only given 0.1u, which is a tiny dose. However, for her safety, I would do whatever you need to to get some tests in this evening. Even a tiny dose can cause a hypo if the dose is too great. Whenever one shoots a number lower than you've shot before, the rule of thumb is to get a +1 and a +2. It's not uncommon for a cat to surf when you shoot a lower preshot, but even so, it's important to test to know what the response is.

It sounds like you might be going to bed. Can you set an alarm and check her hourly for several hours until you are confident that she won't drop below 50? If you absolutely can't, I would put out a can of high carb food and let her eat on it overnight. It's better to send her too high than to leave her unattended with the potential for her blood sugar to go too low.

Hope some of that helps!!
Thanks Julie. Will do. Will do a +1 and try to stay awake for a +2 and bring some Carb wet upstairs too just in case (always have jar of honey upstairs just in case).
 
I'd also change your thread title to alert people that she's dropping..
Surf safely Sootie...slow and steady...:D you've gone close enough to the sharks ( below 50) ...back to the lagoon (50-99) please!
 
Thanks, Just ate a little fancy feast (the cod sole and shrimp), and gobbled a couple of freeze dried minnows. Will recheck in a few minutes and then again at+2 if she's starting to come up.

Per your other suggestion, just amended thread title, hope did it right.
 
Last edited:
Thanks, Just ate a little fancy feast (the cod sole and shrimp), and gobbled a couple of freeze dried minnows. Will recheck in a few minutes and then again at+2 if she's starting to come up.

Per your other suggestion, just amended thread title, hope did it right.
Hi wait about 20-30 min because that's how long it is supposed to take for the food to hit her blood stream
 
thanks HH.
Just did +1.5 (11:03pm) = 55 (+1 at 10:30 was 53). Ate more after +1.5. Will retest at +2.
My pleasure E.D.!
If you are finding he's starting to drop again you might bump up the carb content in his snacks. With Gus I mixed a little drop of honey into his LC food, it seemed to work pretty well but he is pretty carb sensitive given that he doesn't eat them at all.
Do you remember the drill from the other nite?
 
Remember too to update your thread title to include the test results. When people are scanning who needs help it enables them to see in a glance what's going on without having to read thru the thread :bighug: there may be times when that can make a big difference when it's needed most:bighug:
 
Thanks again HH. Updated thread title (I'll get the hang of it yet). Yes, good idea to add a little honey to her food. Ate a bit more after +1.5. Retesting in a few minutes.
 
Updated thread title, +2 at 11:33pm was 56. Sootie ate again after test, added a tiny bit of honey in food, dipped a freeze dried minnow in the honey mix. Liked it. Continue to feed and retest til...in the '60's? '70's? Other?
 
What I do know is you would like to get her at least up into the 60s and holding. then you want to see if she can hold that for two hours after the last food. Reason being the HC bump wears off fairly quickly and a drop could happen, the two hours ensures that's not happening.
If she drops in that process the two hour clock starts again..
 
Here's the info from the how to manage list numbers sticky

If your cat is testing in low numbers and you are not getting a quick response to your post, there are several things you need to do. (Low numbers are under 50mg/dL or 2.8 mmol/L.)
  • Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of food with high carb (HC) gravy or HC food only. (If you have a cat with GI issues, using syrup plus LC food is an alternative.)
  • Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
  • Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
  • Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
  • Test in an hour and follow the same steps.
DO NOT become complacent. If number have risen after one or two tests, it’s important to continue testing. Numbers may bobble up and down as the HC food and/or Karo wear off. DO NOT get one test where your cat has risen from low numbers into the 50s and go to sleep or leave the house. You are putting your cat in a risky situation. When in doubt, leave HC food out.
 
Hi :)
I see you are using a human meter so you are not in a danger zone right now but I would continue to test......
with a 20% variance the numbers are basically the same which is good.
Like @Gussie's mom said if the numbers begin to drop I would bump up the carbs a bit (10-15%)-either with a drop of honey or a medium carb food-
the MC food will not wear off as fast as the honey-but I would still test at least an hour after to be sure she is safe.
Julie is very experienced ... and gave great advice above... as long as you can bring her up you should be fine, we always like to be sure before going to bed for the night ad many drop low in the night-if your unsure I would leave some food out.
Do you have another test yet?
 
Not asleep.....did doze off, darn it....now been looking for her. Found her...in dh's closer. Retest just now (1:23am) = 70. That'd be +3 at 70.... And after test, did eat a bit more and two minnows.

1:30am : is now up on bed with dh...
 
Last edited:
You want to stop feeding now and get a couple if tests without food, so you know she's holding without the support of the carbs
Sorry you are going to be up late! Unless you want to as Julie said leave some food out for her to eat...
Nicely steered btw
 
Nice! Now you can relax, she's holding up in safe numbers!
Has it been an hour since that honey now?
Been since ca 11:30pm when added the tiny bit of honey to food dish. Haven't added more, she did eat from that dish just after this test and the one previous. Whew at least for the moment!!!

Per rest, holding off on food now and retest a couple more times (1-2 hrs) but have food ready if she dips again right?
 
She's looking good! You were able to slow and catch that drop before she went too low. Then you helped steer her using the food. One of the analogies I learned here was really helpful,for me to get what the objective is..
It was described as putting the brakes on slowly to bring the car to a stop as opposed to slamming on the brakes hard..
 
Thank you HH (gussies mom), Julie and Jayla. Glad you all are night owls! Sootie resting with night owl dh. I'll recheck her in a few minutes though she's definitely giving me the look....
 
Thank you gussies mom and all. Sootie wants a a break from ear pricks and my screaming back and legs could use a little horizontal time, too. Plan to recheck in a couple hours unless any indications to retest sooner. Glad we all made it through the night. Hugs and heart and thank you all. :bighug:
 
Thank you gussies mom and all. Sootie wants a a break from ear pricks and my screaming back and legs could use a little horizontal time, too. Plan to recheck in a couple hours unless any indications to restest sooner. Glad we all made it through the night. Hugs and heart and thank you all. :bighug:
Looks like a plan! Surf safely Sootie and sending healing vines for your ailments!:bighug::bighug:
 
Yes indeed thank you @Gussie's mom, @jayla-n-Drevon, @julie & punkin (ga)

Here is link to this morning's new condo seeking dosing advice.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-140-and-136-after-night-in-low-green.166087/

At time I wrote this morning, Sootie's amps was 140, retest was 136. She again not eating eating enough. Ca 7:40 /8am, ate a few tsps of new food choice (fromm's salmon with winter quash and oat bran added to it). Held off on insulin dose to see if would eat more and if any fdmb suggestions. At +2 (at 9:27am) she was 118, ate a few freeze dried treats, so seems to be managing ...at the moment...without am shot. Her usual am shot window is around 8am - 9am. Holding off on orbax dose til later. Suggestions?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top