10/3Ravan/+6 275/+9 124/pmps83/+3 52/+4 61/+6 71/+8 120/

@Marje and Gracie
I increased to .75 yesterday amps.
He's always comes down in the pmps when I increased before. His bg +4 pm is still 449?
How long do I wait to increase to 1 unit?

He had really good bg on .5 units for quite a while.Just 2 weeks ago he went to 45 on .5 units?

For his bg to suddenly go up high like this i feel it means his diabetes is getting worse or the Kidney disease is ? The high #'s must be hurting his kidneys because he leaks urine a lot more.

I haven't seen his bg so high for so long ,since I went to Levemir?

This is very discouraging

You should wait six cycles. If his nadirs don’t drop below 300, you could increase by 0.5u at that time. It looks to me like he has some NDW right now.

Patterns change. I wish I could tell you why they change for a specific cat but it could even be something you don’t even think about like the change in the weather. It’s not unusual for a diabetic cat to produce more urine at higher numbers. You’ve said he’s been leaking urine for some time so that’s not a change....it’s just more urine and that wouldn’t surprise me.

The best advice I can give you is don’t chase the numbers. Follow the protocol. After six cycles, raise the dose. If nadirs are 100-299, raise by 0.25u. If they are 300 or above, raise by 0.5u.
 
Last edited:
could even be something you don’t even think about like the change in the weather
I noticed several people made comments that the bg was higher unexpectedly. I suggested I wonder if it's something to do with the change in the Seasons?
Thank you for the reassurance about Ravan's bg. Sometimes i just need to hear it from someone with a LOT of experience. That would be YOU! :) :bighug:
 
@Marje and Gracie

Do you think Desmopressin would help Ravan with the excessive thirst & urination? I can't find anything on the internet that refers to Kidney disease & Regular Diabetes using Desmopressin.
 
Last edited:
@Bellasmom

Thanks Jamie, I need all the positive energy I can get.
It seems a lot of people have commented that with the change of seasons the Kitties bg went up. I know your weather han't changed like here but It's just the different time of the year I guess.
Kinda Weird!
Finally Ravan's bg came down. I'm so happy to see Blue! Looks like I'll be up tonight.;)
 
@Marje and Gracie

Do you think Desmopressin would help Ravan with the excessive thirst & urination? I can't find anything on the internet that refers to Kidney disease & Regular Diabetes using Desmopressin.
Has he been diagnosed with diabetes insipidus or are you just looking for a solution to the leaking urine? I’ve not seen it used for Diabetes mellitus or CKD. I don’t know what side effects or character nitrate ndications it could have for either of these conditions.
 
Back
Top