10/6 Nala AMPS 403, +2 331, +4 117, + 6 52, +8 66

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nalasmum

Member Since 2017
yesterday was my first curve day
amps 475-+2 422-+2 243-+2 338-+2 445 pmps 343 -+2 248

she was on 1unit 2 x a day sinsce last saturday,
this morning after consulting with the vet we gave 1.5 units.... maybe to much..
if she stays this low, shes due another does in 2 hours I'll give .5unit on the vets recommendation...

hmmm??
 
That +7 52 is very close to the "take action" number using a human glucometer. Did Nala start to come up on her own? Or did you feed her at that time?

This would be a good time to review what to do in case Nala goes below 50.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-treat-hypos-they-can-kill-print-this-out.15887/
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/jojo-and-bunnys-hypo-tool-box.2354/

I strongly suggest that you get a AM+11 and post for advice about what dose to give. Nala may bounce sky high. However, that +52 is very important because Lantus is based on the nadir (how low the cat goes) during the cycle.
 
That +7 52 is very close to the "take action" number using a human glucometer. Did Nala start to come up on her own? Or did you feed her at that time?

This would be a good time to review what to do in case Nala goes below 50.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-treat-hypos-they-can-kill-print-this-out.15887/
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/jojo-and-bunnys-hypo-tool-box.2354/

I strongly suggest that you get a AM+11 and post for advice about what dose to give. Nala may bounce sky high. However, that +52 is very important because Lantus is based on the nadir (how low the cat goes) during the cycle.

Hi thanks for replying
20mins after the 52 @ +6 she was at 57 then at the +8 66,

Thank you for the Hypo links!
I will keep checking every hour.

I was worried about her hitting such lows after starting the morning with a 403... But Greens are what we are after? or not so quickly? should i be waiting for the bounce?
 
We typically increase by 0.25 units at a time. That small a change can make a big difference, as you saw today. Yes, you do have to eyeball that 0.25U.

One interesting Lantus thing you observed today, if the +2 test is quite a bit lower than the preshot test, it'll be an active cycle that needs more monitoring. Nala had an even bigger drop lto +2 ast night. Many cats go lower at night.
 
her pmps in back up to 178....
Ive gone off the Lantus start low/Go Slow post and gone where it says if between 100-200 give percentage of dose.... so have eyeballed .75
how ever my vet said a study has been done on eyeballing amounts and people are 40% inaccurate. not very promising, he also said a pen maybe me more precise.

I'll check her levels in an hour
 
her pmps in back up to 178....
Ive gone off the Lantus start low/Go Slow post and gone where it says if between 100-200 give percentage of dose.... so have eyeballed .75
how ever my vet said a study has been done on eyeballing amounts and people are 40% inaccurate. not very promising, he also said a pen maybe me more precise.

I'll check her levels in an hour
If you're talking about using a pen with the needle attached, they only measure doses in full units, so you couldn't do .25 or even .5 unit dose changes. Not a good idea. .25 doesn't sound like much, but it can make a big difference in a cat. What we're found is that it is not as important that you get exactly .25 every time. What is important is that you shoot the same amount every time - be it .28 or .23 or whatever. If you haven't gotten syringes with half unit measurements on them, please try to do so. Here is a link to a site that ships to Australia, so I'm hoping you can also get them in New Zealand. We recommend a couple of tricks to help you be consistent with your dose. One is to use digital calipers. Here is a post that talks about how to use them. The other hint is to take a syringe and draw up some colored liquid to the point that you think equals the dose (.25, .75 or whatever), and then use that to compare to each time you draw up your dose.
 
Also, there was a discussion on Fiona & Ruby's condo recently about this same issue. If you go to it, look at the posts from #20-26 about using a ruler with the BD syringes that I linked in my last post here. Fiona is in Australia

I would also like to give you this link to a post that we recently put together to help new members get comfortable with this forum. Please ask lots of questions. We love to help.
 
Hi thank you for all the info!! much appreciated, I think my family think i'm a bit mad.... they haven't read anything so don't understand the specifics.

yeah I did read about pens last night, to much trouble, I have good needles, the .3u I might try make up the laminate.

Gave her 1.25 units this morning with a amps of 156, will test @ +2

I have my Hypo kit ready incase.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top