10/9 Booger AMPS 153 +2 34, +3 69

Booger's Mom

Member Since 2018
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/10-8-booger-amps-164-2-259.204466/

Booger was 34 at +2 and when I checked him 15 minutes later was 91. Now he is going back down and at 69. When he was 34, I gave him some honey, a tiny bit of dry food (bc I knew he would scarf that down) and some friskies pate food. I am sure his temp high of 91 was short lived due to the honey. Just need to make sure he is going up and not back down. I am not sure how or why this happened. :(
 
Maybe use the ? prefix and put the word help in the title to get more eyes on your post?

I know my Alphatrak numbers run higher than the human meter so 69 seems pretty low.
I don't know enough to help with the rest, but sending vines of support.
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
That lime green seems out of place - maybe a dud test strip. Your dosing decisions are governed by the method you’re following, TR or SLGS. The 69 would mean a reduction if using SLGS. If the lime green was a true number you’d reduce under either TR or SLGS.
 
Just checking in before hitting the sack. Sorry I was at yoga earlier when you tagged me.

Well that was quite dramatic:eek: that 34/36 is pretty low for an AT2.


Looking at the previous cycle can you see how he was dropping steadily All cycle, in fact he was still dropping at PS, that was the heads up. Given he likes to dive if you see him drop into PS I would get a +1, to catch him earlier. I'm glad he came up for you.

Congrats on the reduction.

Can I ask why you are using freestyle strips with the AT? I get the strips are cheaper but why not just use a human meter?my back up meter is a freestyle lite.

I don't see the sense in mixing them both although both meters were made by abbot they are no longer made by the same manufacturer. So, personally I'd be a bit Leary of the accuracy of the results.
 
Here is why.
43549942_252010492127518_4087012173597900800_n.jpg


When I first got the AlphaTrak2 I was using the strips as well. They were expensive. Someone said you could use the freestyle lite strips so I tried those. I did comparisons with the AT2 strips, FS Lite, and FS Insulinx strips and while they were all pretty closely compared, the AT2 and FS Insulinx were the closest. usually only 10-20 points off from one another. I get that high is high and low is low, but looking at the picture above, to me, there is a difference in the numbers (bad vs good).
 
The freestyle lite has a reputation for reading low at high number and when i used it as a back up meter, I had to change to it suddenly when George flung my usual meter into the water, at that time he did seem to drop in range. He'd been in pinks and dropped to yellow, don't know if that's coincidence or just the meter. Anyways by the time I got a replacement for my regular meter (freestyle strips are 1€ a strip here=over 1$) he was running regularly in green and when I made the change there was only 10pt difference.

Did you have the same problem with the insulinx meter?

Here's the thing though, the AT does give you a more accurate BG (to compare to what a vet might get using lab equipment) but both dosing methods were devised using human meters, and in fact in both stickies it recommends using a human meter.

With TR after much testing a reduction point of 68 was determined with the AT using AT strips. I guess my niggle is that I don't trust mixing the two, human strips and at meter, i am wondering whether at the extremes you are getting dodgy readings.

I meant to ask how was booger at 34? Any hypo symptoms? Hungry?
I see he bounced to the Moon, hope he comes back down to earth soon, and in a calm fashion.
 
The freestyle lite has a reputation for reading low at high number and when i used it as a back up meter, I had to change to it suddenly when George flung my usual meter into the water, at that time he did seem to drop in range. He'd been in pinks and dropped to yellow, don't know if that's coincidence or just the meter. Anyways by the time I got a replacement for my regular meter (freestyle strips are 1€ a strip here=over 1$) he was running regularly in green and when I made the change there was only 10pt difference.

Did you have the same problem with the insulinx meter?

Here's the thing though, the AT does give you a more accurate BG (to compare to what a vet might get using lab equipment) but both dosing methods were devised using human meters, and in fact in both stickies it recommends using a human meter.

With TR after much testing a reduction point of 68 was determined with the AT using AT strips. I guess my niggle is that I don't trust mixing the two, human strips and at meter, i am wondering whether at the extremes you are getting dodgy readings.

I meant to ask how was booger at 34? Any hypo symptoms? Hungry?
I see he bounced to the Moon, hope he comes back down to earth soon, and in a calm fashion.


Here is another example. This is what scares me. Say I was using a human meter and it was saying he was 218 when really he could be 417 and I reduce his dose for whatever reason, I mean what good would that do?

upload_2018-10-10_2-5-49.png


upload_2018-10-10_2-6-7.png



Don't pay attention to the time on the FS meter, It has been a while since I have used it and I do not know why the time is off lol. This test was done at the same time with the same drop of blood.

So can you understand my concern? I mean I have heard time and time again that the lower the numbers the closer they usually are to each other and the higher the numbers the further apart they can be when comparing. But this image here scares me. I don't want to think he is 218 when he really is 417. Yes, I understand too that he could really not be 417. I did several comparisons with the AT strips and the FS Insulinx strips and they were almost always very close in range.

As far as when he was 34, there were really no symptoms. He always thinks he is going to be fed and he is always hungry so thats really the only thing I noticed and I decided I had better check him. THANK GOD I DID! I am always getting conflicting stories about the meters. Some (including vets) say you need to use the AT2 with the AT2 strips, and others say just use a human meter. I did you a human meter for a little while, but my anxiety was just through the roof wondering what he really was and not just what the human meter said he was.
 
As far as when he was 34, there were really no symptoms. He always thinks he is going to be fed and he is always hungry so thats really the only thing I noticed and I decided I had better check him.
That's good that he was asymptomatic. Did he come find you asking for food? I had a crazy drop like that, out of the blue once with George (he is also always hopeful he is going to be fed) I was making the beds and he came and just howled at me jumping on the bed and making a nuisance of himself, I checked and got a shock.
It's great that he has a good appy, George has too, and was a blessing since I knew he would always eat if I needed him too.

I get your anxiety about the numbers, it drove me crazy too. I had it from a different angle when I swapped back to my old meter (which read a little higher) George had decided to start visiting greens regularly so the if it's 60 in my old meter is he below 50 on he freestyle?? should I be worried? reduce? drove me crazy, I was beside myself, but resisted the urge to keep doing comparisons, I couldn't afford to keep using the freestyle strips on a regular basis, like you I tested a lot, so I just bit the bullet and went with it.

The Freestyle lite does have that reputation for reading low, so yeah it might make you think he was doing better than he was. That was my concern when I was forced to swap over and he went from pink to yellow. I never got a chance to compare him at high numbers because it took nearly 3 weeks for my replacement meter to arrive and by that time, he was down in green and when I swapped the difference was 10ish pts.

I know one of our most experienced members did extensive, comparisons with the AT and her human meter, she has the data, I'll try find it for you and you can look.
 
That's good that he was asymptomatic. Did he come find you asking for food? I had a crazy drop like that, out of the blue once with George (he is also always hopeful he is going to be fed) I was making the beds and he came and just howled at me jumping on the bed and making a nuisance of himself, I checked and got a shock.
It's great that he has a good appy, George has too, and was a blessing since I knew he would always eat if I needed him too.

I get your anxiety about the numbers, it drove me crazy too. I had it from a different angle when I swapped back to my old meter (which read a little higher) George had decided to start visiting greens regularly so the if it's 60 in my old meter is he below 50 on he freestyle?? should I be worried? reduce? drove me crazy, I was beside myself, but resisted the urge to keep doing comparisons, I couldn't afford to keep using the freestyle strips on a regular basis, like you I tested a lot, so I just bit the bullet and went with it.

The Freestyle lite does have that reputation for reading low, so yeah it might make you think he was doing better than he was. That was my concern when I was forced to swap over and he went from pink to yellow. I never got a chance to compare him at high numbers because it took nearly 3 weeks for my replacement meter to arrive and by that time, he was down in green and when I swapped the difference was 10ish pts.

I know one of our most experienced members did extensive, comparisons with the AT and her human meter, she has the data, I'll try find it for you and you can look.

Normally if he is "starving" he will pester his bother and sister until I feed him. He is a nut lol. I only buy the Insulinx strips when I can get them cheap. People are nuts trying to sell strips for $40+. I saw a listing on ebay that someone was asking like $200 for a box if 50 strips. I just laughed. I dont think anyone is dumb enough to buy those lol.
 
Well at least you can get some sleep tonight, since Booger is on the trampoline. Enjoy it while you can.

Comparing meters will drive you berserk. Pick one and stick with it. Most people here use a human meter, and their cats do just fine. The immediate danger comes from low numbers, and pet meters and human meters are almost the same there, so there really is no need for the concern you've expressed. Honestly, I get where you're coming from, but I do think you are stressing yourself unnecessarily. You test enough to keep him safe, no matter what.
 
I'm sorry I did not see your tag yesterday, I got home very late from work and we had no electricity for 12 hours here, which is unusual for us since all of our lines are in the ground.
I have no personal experience with the AT meter.
Congratulations on the reduction. Come on down nice and easy, Booger.
 
Does George like cheese too?
Yes. When I had to pill him earlier in the year and I couldn't get near his mouth because he was in so much pain with it he got his AB wrapped in soft cheese and he inhaled it.

He also likes potato chips, he especially goes crazy for Thai chilli flavour, he doesn't get them but he makes a nuisance of himself if we're having them.
 
Back
Top