? 108 at +3!!!! Had a little scare but ok now

Status
Not open for further replies.

Misterbeesmom

Very Active Member
folks who know me know how messed up our bg has been
Just checked him for the heck of it. Twice verified 99 and 108
This explains a lot!
Had booked vet appt coming up in 45 minutes due to his recent behavior
Now i dont know what to do
And fear of hypo
Holy ****!

@Kris & Teasel
 
Last edited:
FYI - 108 is safe number-wise on both human and pet meters. (ETA - safe at the moment - you need to test again; see below.)

It's quite a drop from AMPS 348 to 108 (240 points).

How is MisterB? Anything odd? Any lethargy before you tested?

.
 
NB: TEST BG AT 15 MINUTES AFTER MEAL WAS FINISHED then please post result. (Sorry for the full caps.)

.
 
FYI - 108 is safe number-wise on both human and pet meters.

It's quite a drop from AMPS 348 to 108 (240 points).

How is MisterB? Anything odd? Any lethargy before you tested?

.

My concern is his nadir is usually further out, what if keeps dropping. This is new territory.

He has been acting odd for a few days. Now i wonder if this had been going on, looking like bouncing of too little insulin when really it was too much.

No lethargy. He has been sleepless and restless. Lots of drinking and peeing.
 
Glad I checked.

I don't really know anything about BCP PZI, Jen.

When is the typical nadir period?

.
Its like prozinc but bovine
+6 nadir so why i'm worried
Guess i'll keep vet appt though now i think its moot, but just in case hypo. Have to leave in 15 mins if keeping appt.
 
Can you test his BG straight away and post the result here, please. (Will help me to know what to suggest about safety for the vet trip.)


.
 
Still in the safe range.

How much did MisterB eat of the high carb food. Was it a gravy food? Also, the 98 was at +???.

.
 
AMPS 348 (fed)
AM+3 - 108 (fed tbsp high carb/no gravy wet food - Hill's j/d)
AM+3 hrs 10 mins - 98

Is the above correct?

.
The 98 is more like +3 1/2
All else correct

Also, tested twice at +3 when i first got 99 then 108, so the 98 doesnt look like he's going down at this point.

He's drinking so much.

Testing ....
 
Thanks, Jen.

Story so far:

AMPS 348 (fed)
AM+3.00 - 108 (fed tbsp high carb/no gravy wet food - Hill's j/d)
AM+3.50 - 98 (not fed)

Test again at +3.75, Jen. If he's still in the safe range or above don't give any more food for the time being. If he's at 50 or lower give a little drop of honey or karo (don't think he will be but just being belt 'n' braces here!)

Post the result as soon as you can.

I need to take a 'comfort break', Jen. :oops: Won't be long. I should be back by the time you've done the next test.

:bighug:

.
 
Last edited:
Thanks, Jen.

Story so far:

AMPS 348 (fed)
AM+3.00 - 108 (fed tbsp high carb/no gravy wet food - Hill's j/d)
AM+3.50 hrs 10 mins - 98 (not fed)

Test again at +3.75, Jen. If he's still in the safe range or above don't give any more food for the time being. If he's at 50 or lower give a little drop of honey or karo (don't think he will be but just being belt 'n' braces here!)

Post the result as soon as you can.

I need to take a 'comfort break', Jen. :oops: Won't be long. I should be back by the time you've done the next test.

:bighug:

.
Thank u i think we're going to be ok. Just caught me by surprise and i needed to make a decison about whether or not to keep vet appt at the same time i realized this has probably been happening but i didnt know it. I've been up since 2a so i'm jusst about wiped.

The question for tonight is what dose to give.
 
Jen, to help me keep track of when the BG tests are done could you give them to me relative to the dose time, please?

(Helps me and other readers to keep track of how far along MisterBee is in the cycle.)

Back soonest.

:bighug:
I apologize i screwed that up and fixed it.
 
I've been up since 2a so i'm jusst about wiped.
I know that feeling very well indeed. (((Jen)))

Looks like MisterBee might surf for you.

I suggest going with his nibs' regular feeding schedule and testing at 30 minute intervals for the next few tests. If numbers dip a little give some of his regular food (unless he starts heading for the 50s in which case maybe give a little more of the high carb and honey/karo if needed). Also keep an eye on his clinical signs (including whether he may show signs of feeling better in himself.)

Also, please give your boy a big fuss from me. I have a big soft spot for him. :) (((MisterBee)))

.
 
I know that feeling very well indeed. (((Jen)))

Looks like MisterBee might surf for you.

I suggest going with his nibs' regular feeding schedule and testing at 30 minute intervals for the next few tests. If numbers dip a little give some of his regular food (unless he starts heading for the 50s in which case maybe give a little more of the high carb and honey/karo if needed). Also keep an eye on his clinical signs (including whether he may show signs of feeling better in himself.)

Also, please give your boy a big fuss from me. I have a big soft spot for him. :) (((MisterBee)))

.
Will do! Thank you again. I'll give the little goober a hug from you. :bighug:
He liked that high carb food, "more of that please" he says
 
Story so far:

AMPS 348 (fed)
AM+3.00 - 108 (fed tbsp high carb/no gravy wet food - Hill's j/d)
AM+3.50 - 98 (not fed)
AM+4.00 - 99 (not fed)
AM+4.25 - 137 (not fed)

Looks like the high carb is kicking in now, Jen. I suggest testing at +5 and feeding as normal with MisterBee's regular food. If all OK do hourly tests till he's safely past nadir.

I'm sorry I can't help on the dosing side of things. I suggest posting in the Prozinc/PZI group for input.

Are you OK going forward or do you still need some company?


.
 
This is picture framer slang for small, stray lumps of adhesive! :D

.
LOL well he is a big lump and he was a stray who stuck on me so it fits! :p:smuggrin:

We're good. Thanks again for your help. I'm not worried. Posted in pz forum for dosing help. Thanks again seriously wouldve been a headcase without your presence.
 
Excellent stuff!

seriously wouldve been a headcase without your presence.
Know the feeling! :nailbiting:

I will be eternally grateful to all the members who've helped myself and Saoirse when I've been frightened out of my tiny mind. :)

Hope you get good help in PZI forum for tonight. Take good care in the meantime.

:bighug::bighug::bighug:


Mogs
.
 
I had emailed my vet all about what happened this morning, and that i think his weird behaviors were a result of him going too low/or perceived as too low, and bouncing back up. Somogyi or stored glucose dumping whatever you want to call it.

She wrote back saying 99 is a normal number and that he shouldnt be spacey.o_O

Talk about missing my point entirely! The issue isnt that 99 is a bad number, be ause indeed it isnt. The issue is that he went down so fast before nadir, potentially would have and has been going even lower than that, and has probably been doing that for a while, messing him all up.

My head hurts.:banghead:

He is finally having a good restful snooze on the chair i was using and the scarf i was wearing, the little stinker. He hasnt napped this well in days. Thankful for todays revelation!
 
Last edited:
I had emailed my vet all about what happened this morning, and that i think his weird behaviors were a result of him going too low/or perceived as too low, and bouncing back up. Somogyi or stored glucose dumping whatever you want to call it.

She wrote back saying 99 is a normal number and that he shouldnt be spacey.o_O

Talk about missing my point entirely! The issue isnt that 99 is a bad number, be ause indeed it isnt. The issue is that he went down so fast before nadir, potentially would have and has been going even lower than that, and has probably been doing that for a while, messing him all up.

My head hurts.:banghead:

He is finally having a good restful snooze on the chair i was using and the scarf i was wearing, the little stinker. He hasnt napped this well in days. Thankful for todays revelation!
I posted on your other thread, Jen. You KNOW he was spacey and that's what counts. Just the rapid drop in BG could have done that. I think he's in a dose transition phase and it can be volatile. You have to stay very systematic in your approach, not too many changes too soon, hold doses, test a lot, etc.
 
You KNOW he was spacey and that's what counts. Just the rapid drop in BG could have done that.
I agree with Kris, Jen. You know your cat. I also agree about the sort of effect a rapid drop in BG may have.

For info, Saoirse only had one symptomatic hypo. It occurred after a fast, really steep drop in BG level - and her BG was still in the normal range (4.3/77 Alphatrak - about 100mg/dL on a human meter).

He is finally having a good restful snooze on the chair [...] He hasnt napped this well in days.
:cat:

(((MisterBee)))


Mogs
.
 
Just a thought. I've been learning recently that hyperT speeds up metabolic rate. Is it possible that MisterBee metabolises his insulin very quickly? If yes, it could mean he hits nadir early in general, not just today. It might be a good idea to check him earlier in the cycle from now on.


Mogs
.
 
Just a thought. I've been learning recently that hyperT speeds up metabolic rate. Is it possible that MisterBee metabolises his insulin very quickly? If yes, it could mean he hits nadir early in general, not just today. It might be a good idea to check him earlier in the cycle from now on.


Mogs
.
There's an idea, i hadnt thought of that and hey big surprise the vet didnt either.
Will be keeping closer eye on him. Thnx!
 
FYI.... BCP PZI if I remember correctly from researching it ages ago, is more like ProZinc in that it's not as prone to rapid early drops and has longer duration than Vetsulin but it also can have a bit of a "depot" like effect into the next cycle even though it's not a depot insulin so Kris's speculation may be/likely is spot on. That could well explain what went on today!
 
I don't sleep without a before bed test. I usually take a sleeping pill, but if Callie's BG is on the low side, I skip it and set my alarm for 1am for a look see.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top